We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more than Tarantula's and ants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romdeng

Romdeng
Ranked #17 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open Monday to Sunday from 11am to 11pm (kitchen closes 10pm) Romdeng is set in a beautiful colonial building whose wooden carvings, tables, chairs and unique lights were all hand made in Cambodia. The silk goods and cushions adorning Romdeng were made by our students in sewing training at Mith Samlanh and its walls are hung with beautiful paintings produced by young people from the art classes there. All of this plus a pool, free WIFI, a family area and a gift shop mean a visit to Romdeng is a must.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“more than Tarantula's and ants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had the mostly vegetarian options, while my friends ventured over to the wild side. Making for great fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    676
    189
    50
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“are really doing an excellent effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

By far the best mix of Cambodian and Western food in town. Watch them bring in a live tarantula, not for the faint hearted. Great stuff !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank glenn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went with friends and had a mixture of dishes to share. Fish Amok was my favourite. No negatives at all!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spiders anyone?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere at Romdeng. They seated us in a beautiful table on the balcony even though our reservations got lost somewhere in cyberspace. The students who are learning the restaurant trade provided excellent service. I enjoyed the food . . . and even one of their specialties . . . spiders so I can cross that off of my bucket list. All in all it was delightful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Four of us ate at this restaurant and all meals were excellent. I was disappointed they had 'run-out' of the tarantula appetizer though. Service was good and the prices were reasonable. This place provides waiter / waitress training for street folks so you are help out with a good cause as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mdindio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romdeng also viewed

 

Been to Romdeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing