We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional bean burger and milkshake”

Friends the Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 1,405 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: European, Asian, Soups, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located near the National Museum, you'll discover Friends the Restaurant a vibrant and colourful vocational training restaurant. Serving up share plates of creative cuisine with influences from across the globe, refreshing cocktails and fresh juices, you can see why Friends is one of Cambodia's longest running and best-loved restaurants. 100% of profits are reinvested into the education of students in training and Mith Samlanh's social programs. Check out Friends 'n' Stuff for products that changes lives and Friends Nail Bar next door!
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional bean burger and milkshake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a marvellous restaurant, situated a stone's throw from the excellent National Museum in Phnom Penh.

I had a spicy bean burger, which must rank as one of the best veggie-burgers of my life. The nut infused milkshake was terrific too.

Additionally, everything is in a good cause. The restaurant helps marginalised children and youths to help build their lives. There are dozens of service students and cooking students employed by the restaurant.

This place cheered me up after a morning visit to the Killing Fields. Nice decor - high ceilings, dark wooden tables and chairs and big ceiling fans.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampsteadStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,390
    1,061
    324
    90
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Franconia, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

There was good food & service was excellent they said Ngo based restaurant they help the people ,
Nice if you around there good option

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This restaurant is for a good cause but the food was distinctly average - we went for the stir friend red ants with beef, Sandan's grilled fish fillet with green mango and crispy shrimp wontons with sweet chilli.
The crispy shrimp wonton was the best dish out of the 3 but was not nearly as crispy as it should be and it should have been served piping hot but wasnt.

The beef dish was overpowered by the taste of ginger and the fish dish was kind of bland.

I am sure there are better restaurants out there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic drinks and cause, poor food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The title says it all!

I ordered a passionfruit and mango lassi that was amazing, as was my friends' raspberry and lime daiquiri, and 'mangorita'. Most of our tapas arrived around 25 minutes after we ordered, but one of my friends was not served until an hour later. Tapas were rather hit or miss: my Burmese chicken curry was mediocre but my sweet potato chips were excellent. Perhaps this is due to the unique dishes they offer on the menu. Was also rather frustrated by the fact that the drinks arrived after the food.

Service was poor as the food took too long to come, but this was the fault of the kitchen and not the waiters. However, waiters were not particularly friendly either. I would definitely recommend booking a place before hand, as they are often packed with large numbers of tourists. Very easy getting here as tuk tuk drivers are familiar with this place.

Recommend: reservations, drinks, outdoor seating
Would not recommend: coming here for a filling meal

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limwenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

One of the NGO based restaurant people help to people alot people training from there and get next nice job as people said there food was good ,

I give then 5 star because there NGO help a lot people same time food also nice

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darnelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends the Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Friends the Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing