We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Friends the Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 1,414 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: European, Asian, Soups, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located near the National Museum, you'll discover Friends the Restaurant a vibrant and colorful vocational training restaurant. Serving up share plates of creative cuisine with influences from across the globe, refreshing cocktails and fresh juices, you can see why Friends is one of Cambodia's longest running and best-loved restaurants. All profits are reinvested into the education of students in training and Mith Samlanh's social programs. Check out Friends 'n' Stuff for products that changes lives and Friends Nail Bar next door!
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The menu was great, the prices reasonable....but its very popular...it may be hard to get a table...but try anyway. Its great to see so many tourists giving patronage to the cafe and supporting this very worthy cause/organisation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank robbiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,405
    1,069
    324
    90
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The atmosphere at Friends is laid back and pleasant as is the food, but the best part about the place is the charity work it does. Maybe best to book as gets very busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We waited for a table for lunch as it was very busy. We chose 4 dishes from the tapas menu. They were very tasty, particularly the chicken curry. Whilst you can certainly eat a lot cheaper elsewhere, it is worth paying the extra which is actually a fraction of what a similar meal would cost back in Australia. This is a great cause and one well worth supporting.

Helpful?
Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food and good cause”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The way they do food here is really good and its a worthy cause as they help out street kids. Nice setting and service, you can also check out the adjoining shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomwatson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food, kind staff”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There was a wait outside Friends but since we were only in Phnom Penh for only 2 days and on Mondays they are closed we decided we had to wait. The wait wasn't too bad and we were seated in about 15 minutes with 4 groups in front of us. We ordered 4 dishes for 2 people. It was plenty of food and probably didn't need to order that much but we were very very hungry when we first sat down since we hadn't eaten all day. We ordered the Sundried hummus wontons, zucchini cheese fritters, the pork and beef meatballs, and the seafood loklak.

We loved them all but favorite was the meatball. Our least favorite was the loklak. It might have been because we were soooo full. The portions are generous for it being tapas style. I'd definitely recommend coming here. They have a good cause and purpose and the quality of food has been one of the best in Cambodia so far.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sstellar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends the Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Friends the Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing