We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cause dining, amazing food”

Friends the Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 1,413 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: European, Asian, Soups, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located near the National Museum, you'll discover Friends the Restaurant a vibrant and colorful vocational training restaurant. Serving up share plates of creative cuisine with influences from across the globe, refreshing cocktails and fresh juices, you can see why Friends is one of Cambodia's longest running and best-loved restaurants. All profits are reinvested into the education of students in training and Mith Samlanh's social programs. Check out Friends 'n' Stuff for products that changes lives and Friends Nail Bar next door!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good cause dining, amazing food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I travelled alone to Phnom Penh in October 2012 and found myself at Friends restaurant. I had read about it in the guide book and was keen to see it and the shop next door.

It was a gorgeous evening out, the staff were wonderful. The teachers were calm and patient and very encouraging to their students who were clearly sometimes shy and in need of a little direction here and there.

The menu was varied and although a little pricier than some of the other options that are available locally I thought it was all very good value.

I had a delicious two course dinner and was well looked after by the team.

Definitely worth a visit - and make sure to go into the shop next door to pick up some home made/ recycled Cambodian gifts too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonKateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,403
    1,069
    324
    90
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing idea.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the food was amazing, the staff was great and well what a great idea to get kids off the street. More restaurants should do this! I have my friends ranting about this place as well. I think it deserves good business for doing such a great job!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited the gift shop and cafe. Enjoyed both areas of this business. The staff in both areas were really friendly and helpful. The cafe staff were very helpful when we were unable to finish our fruit smoothie and they gladly transferred them into takeaway containers which they packed in ice for us to take home. There are unique products in the gift shop which make taking presents home for family and friends a delight instead of a chore.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was delicious. If pumpkin soup is on the menu then ORDER IT. There wasn't one item we ordered (and we ordered alot) that was dissappointing. The only disappointing thing is that I can't eat there every week! Highly reccomended. A MUST DO.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food and experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and me landed in Phnom Penh today and first evening we decided to try friends restaurant
Right from taking the or to service to food everything was super
We ordered some tapas portions of peered beef with mushroom , chicken curry with nuts and mangos , fish fillet and greens in red wine with steam rice
These were superb in presentation and taste
Will try an turn again before we leave this city
Highly recommended
Shiva Bebarta
Mumbai India
2nd nov 2012

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shivabebarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends the Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Friends the Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing