We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved staying here”
Review of Blue Lime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Lime
Ranked #22 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved staying here”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We loved staying at the Blue Lime Hotel. We had a wonderful hotel room overlooking the pool. The pool and garden were a perfect place in a busy city. The only thing that we didn't like was the breakfast. It wasn't tastefull at all. Other than that: I would recommend staying here if you like a small, boutique hotel with a trendy look & feel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmsterdamDutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    616
    160
    54
    13
See reviews for
110
844
174
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Blue Lime was a great hotel, in a good, safe location just behind the national museum. Whilst the alley is off a main/busy road, the hotel was very quiet which was great. As a single female traveling, I was totally comfortable here. The rooms were minimalist, however were clean and had everything you needed - the deluxe rooms have plenty of room with a small outside balcony as well. The pool area, was lovely for a relax at the end of a day sightseeing and the breakfast in the morning was great. Getting around was easy enough with tuk tuks right out the front of the hotel. The only thing was there was little information in the hotel re sightseeing hints & tips, however suggest if you have a lonely planet, you're more than fine there. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

we booked this hotel based on the good review online to be our first stay in Cambodia. through email i told the staff clearly that we would arrive 21:30 by airplane to Phnom Penh and will arrive the hotel quite late in the night, and request them to keep the room. the confirmation has been circled via email for couple of rounds.
our flight was delayed for a hour that day and we arrived the hotel around 23:30 with the excitement of this new destination. then, the story rolls out..... the door keeper told us there was no room at all and he tried to reach the hotel staff. after half hour a lady came to tell us that she mistook our arrival as 2pm, so she sold the room to others in the afternoon already. so we had no way but only being redirected to another plain guesthouse at 1am!!! and charged $70 (even higher then if we booked online). be noted... the hotel will charge you 100% if a no show, but when there comes "no-room" upon firm confirmation, they only give a "sorry". when we complained this to the hotel owner, he only replied " That's right, dinner's on me next time you are in Phnom Penh." Gosh, that was after we returned home country. i would never want to see this hotel any more!
it's a mess as an simple booking process, and not responsible attitude for their guests at all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moffea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at Blue Lime, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
At the time this incident happened, I was in Bangkok. The staff, which has the instruction to call me at any time of the day or night, did not manage to get hold of me at midnight. I later understood that the room had been given to a walk-in guest in the morning that they had mixed-up with the one that had booked. I indeed proposed a diner for two, roughly representing the value of the room as a compensation - I guess that was not enough....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

A hidden gem in the middle of city center. you will not expect such a lovely place as you walk into the neighborhood. I got to know this hotel from internet searching and of course convinced by the reviews in the website. To the owner of the hotel, you should raise the pay of your staff members especially to the three lovely ladies that replied my emails within 10 mins each time i wrote to them.
The booking system is rather usual because they never get any details from the guest. Only by emails and hence the confirmation is made. If the guest didn't turn out as expected i wonder how they will get penalized as no details were given at all.
I didn't find it noisy, the pool area is fantastic except you might ended up with some mosquito bites. The pool bar is cool and very nice place to chill out. Overall this hotel is very comfortable yet stylist and the cheerful staffs will definitely make you call this place a home rather than hotel after your tiring day out in Phnom Penh.
As value for money.. no doubt.. Blue Lime is the best choice. you will never find another place with such rate.. and yes i never felt so satisfied with the place i ve stayed in all other countries that i ve visited before.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irmavep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We can only add to the positive reviews of the Blue Lime. We stayed here for four days at the end of April and enjoyed the peace and tranquility very much. The plus's as everyone has noted are the location, the fantastic pool area and the value for money. Staff were also very helpful and didn't hestitate to help arranging our onward travel for us.

The slight niggle for us were the booking system involving emails and reconfirmation emails. After making our initial enquiry we were offered a room, but after replying immediately, were then told that this room was now taken (just minutes later) and offered a higher price room. We then had to change rooms part way through our stay. We were also required to email back saying we agreed with the terms and conditons and then again to reconfirm within 7 days of arrival.

We also got woken by the neighbouring dogs, but there is little the hotel could do about this. Overall we were impressed with the space, design and cleanliness of the rooms, but we did feel like the floors felt a bit dirty. We appreciate it is very hard to keep them clean during the rainy season when dirt is being brought in on guests feet.

We love the pool and food served from the snack menu. Remember it is not trying to be a restaurant. The breakfast was great. Those complaining may not have realised that you only needed to ask the staff to cook you eggs to go with the fresh fruit and pastry items which they bring you. The fresh passionfruit juice was delicious.

Don't hesitate to stay here, it is very very good value for money. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

As has been mentioned before, this is a great place to stay especially for the pool. There are signs placed on the cabanas "reserved for staying guest" but I never had a problem finding a vacant one - perhaps the time of year? The south side rooms deal with the dog barking which I suppose won't be resolved given the frequency of dogs in Cambodia. I was in room 7 which was very good but might have prefered the north side (room 8) due to the noise. It wasn't available so I opted for 7 given the pool views which I'd also suggest.

A bit pricey but the security, location, pool, and staff make it a decent value. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at Blue Lime, responded to this review, May 1, 2009
We just bought an ultra sound machine from the US that is supposed to limit the barking... It still needs to be shipped to us from France. Any-one going through Paris center the next few days? .... Before I get to it and eat those dogs myself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Good points: lovely oasis of calm in the middle of Phnom Penh. Great location near the National Museum and other attractions. Staff generally helpful. Interesting design - concrete furniture really works! Best of all, the pool surrounded by lots of greenery with cabanas and concrete sunbeds. Excellent value for money, especially when compared to much more expensive (and overrated) places like the Quay.
Bad points: pool is used by non guests as well so sometimes not able to have either a cabana or a sunbed. Cabanas supposed to be reserved for hotel guests but this was not always followed through. While we were there, I overheard other guests on 2 separate occasions complaining about this. Have since discovered from other reviews that hotel guests can reserve a cabana at reception - unfortunately no-one told us that while we were there! There was a distinct lack of information about what was available - granted if you asked the staff at reception, they were helpful but it might be helpful to have some general information available for guests. Other niggle was being told they didn't have any white wine (only red or rose), as well as a couple of other drinks listed on the bar menu and the chap looking after the bar didn't seem inclined to say whether they would be getting any in. Some nice dishes on menu but could have been a lot more varied and include more Cambodian dishes.
However, overall, a really nice place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at Blue Lime, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Non-staying guests will be paying entrance fee starting from May 1st. That same day, we open the new "elsewhere" a bar with two pools aiming both expats and tourists, on the popular street 278. I hope that this will help to reduce the number of people around the pool.

White wine, surprising we ran out of essential things like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.7 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lime

Property: Blue Lime
Address: No. 42, Street 19z ( off to Street 19), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#29 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lime 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Lime is a 23-room urban accommodation, with a lush exotic garden and a swimming pool. It is located right in the historical center of Phnom Penh, between the National Museum and the Royal Palace. The rooms, garden and pool are modern minimalist, with concrete furniture, all covered by a free 5Mb/s wi-fi. Four of the rooms have each their own private plunge pools. The bar/restaurant serves food in the garden lounge and one can enjoy its cocktails directly in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Lime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lime Phnom Penh
Blue Lime Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing