We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful setting - skip the private pool.”
Review of Blue Lime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Lime
Ranked #23 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Blue Lime is a very beautiful hotel - well cared for, with a resort-like feel, with palm trees, cabanas and a lovely pool.

The hotel has walking access to the national museum, and is a 5min tuk-tuk drive away from the central market.

We opted for a room with a private pool, which turned out to be unnecessary. It gets no sun during the day, and as it's in a sheltered, high-walled area, it's quite cold. The room itself was fantastic though - spacious, with a high ceiling, including a fan an air con. So go for a superior room, but wave the extra cost of a private pool.

Two bottles of drinking water were supplied daily, and the bathroom included individual soap, shampoo and conditioner. Breakfast was fantastic, with a number of western choices (though the asian choices were slightly limited). The passionfruit juice was incredible.

We ate off the hotel's menu one night, and were very happily surprised - while I can't vouch of the western menu items, the cambodian items were very tasty and well-prepared. Better (and slightly cheaper) than many of the surrounding restaurants. Cocktails and drinks were competitively priced, and it was lovely to sit in the cabanas by the pool in the evening.

Wifi signal was strong and consistent.

The only slight complaint I have about the hotel was the attitude of the staff - obviously we lucked out, considering other reviewers found them to be helpful and pleasant. When we arrived, exhausted from a long leg of bus travel, we were greeted by a manager, who promised to tell us about the location of the hotel/what it was close to/etc in the morning - as we were just keen to go to bed. However, over the three nights we stayed, we never saw her again.
It didn't really matter, as we could find our own way pretty well.
However, when we booked a bus to Siam Reap from the front desk, we found the staff to be a bit cold and unfriendly, like they couldn't be bothered. We got the same attitude on our one other encounter with the front desk staff, when we asked how to walk to a nearby restaurant.

So that was a bit of a let down - possibly because we're a young couple, but we felt like we were treated a bit like a bad smell.

Taking other reviews into account though, it does seem like we did just luck out. And it would be worth going back, just for their passion fruit juice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a beautiful pool/garden area that was a welcome respite to relax in. I stayed a week, but could have stayed a month!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

On the plus side this hotel was in a brilliant location, walking distance to the Royal palace and the waterfront. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and quite large. The only main disadvantage was that there is some building work going on next door so if you're looking to lie in, think again... work starts very early, however if you need to get up early to explore then great, you won't need any other alarm clock!

Overall this place is great value for money and comfortable for a short stay. Breakfast was 'ok' nothing amazing and if you love coffee you may be a bit disappointed.. it was a bit odd!? Nice basic swimming pool and pool beds if you're looking to relax after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popey42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at Blue Lime, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest, sorry there was noise during your stay. I guess it is the last weeks of construction... Thank God! Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We opted for a room with a private pool. The pool was clean and a nice luxury but didn't get much sun on it throughout the day which was a shame. The main pool was just as lovely and didn't seem to get too overcrowded through the day. The poolside cabanas are a nice touch and comfortable to relax in after a day of sight-seeing.

The room was beautifully furnished, large, clean, great shower. Staff were friendly. Location was convenient. I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with private pools are slightly overrated as the high rise building next door blocks the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelouiseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We found this through the Lonely Planet and loved it. We were welcomed with open arms and smiling faces. Rooms are beautifully done. Extremely comfortable settings and brilliantly located for food, the river, the museum and for just walking around interesting places. We stayed an extra day to PP just to be there and chill. I was sad to leave and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 173Adriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent five nights there, very pleasant stay. Room was basic, exactly what I was looking for. Had no issues with the construction next door , breakfast was quite good, and eating aside the pool was lovely. My room had a nice little balcony which was a great place to have the morning coffee( a plus was a hot water pot with coffee stuff in the room). Staff was very pleasant and responsive when needed. The only down side was that I had a 5th floor room..... But I ate so much while in Phnom Penh it was probably good for me to hike up the stairs.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank fcs659pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Having stayed at the Kabiki and the Pavillion in the same group of hotels we decided to stopover in PP at the Blue Lime before our flight home. We were quite disappointed when we arrived, the hotel is situated down a side street and is now overshadowed by an enormous newly built hotel. check in was friendly and efficient and the welcome drink and confectionery very welcome after our bus journey from Kep. We had tried to book a superior room but there was no availability so we opted for the standard room. The room was very nice, a reasonable size with a functional shower room. it had however no outlook from the window and had been finished in concrete in various areas, shelves etc. It may be my personal preference but I never find that concrete can be finished to a satisfactory standard for internal decoration and can generally look quite scruffy.
The corridors of the hotel look tired and could do with freshen up with a coat of paint.
In all honesty I think that we were comparing the Lime with The Pavillion which is probably unfair as it is considerably cheaper than it's sister hotel.
I needed to use the pc in the foyer to check in and found the lighting to be so dim I had trouble seeing the letters on the keyboard, the staff however were more than helpful printing off my check in documents.
All in all the Blue Lime did leave me a little underwhelmed, maybe I would have had a different reaction if we had booked a more upmarket room.
The hotel was fine, it was clean, with friendly staff and a decent breakfast at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try not to opt for the standard room I think that was my mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at Blue Lime, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest, I am sorry we disappointed you with the facilities of the Blue Lime. But the recommendations in refreshing paint and keyboards are well noted and we will get this done asap. Cheers, Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 274 in Phnom Penh
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lime

Address: No. 42, Street 19z, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#28 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $39 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lime 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Lime is a 23-room urban accommodation, with a lush exotic garden and a swimming pool. It is located right in the historical center of Phnom Penh, between the National Museum and the Royal Palace. The rooms, garden and pool are modern minimalist, with concrete furniture, all covered by a free 5Mb/s wi-fi. Four of the rooms have each their own private plunge pools. The bar/restaurant serves food in the garden lounge and one can enjoy its cocktails directly in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Lime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lime Phnom Penh
Blue Lime Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing