We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double booked”
Review of Me Mates Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Me Mates Place
Ranked #100 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Double booked”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

So we turned up without booking hoping they had a spare bed which luckily they did, however the price was triple what it was online. Anyway, we walked up the 85/90 steps to the top room which was a dorm which we were fine with however the beds they were giving us had dirty sheets on them still. We went out for dinner came back to find my bed had been double booked and I didn't have a bed, the hotel staff weren't bothered they weren't sympathic or sorry they huffed when we asked for new sheets (luckily I was found an empty bed) decent size lockers thr fit a massive backpack in, their tuk tuk drivers are quite cheap depending on where you are going.
Probably wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    95
    60
    38
    27
See reviews for
4
105
62
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a very average place to stay. The property is very clean and the rooms are a decent size with a small bathroom and balcony, although it was not memorable at all except for the oreo milkshake that they serve in the bar.

It was a walk away to the city centre and most attractions, although there are tuk-tuk drivers that hound you just outside the hostel anyway. A walk to the river where all of the restaurants were was about 20 minutes or so...

Beware of these reviews - this hostel will offer you a free drink if you write a positive review for them. I don't care about this sort of thing as I think that the location is shoddy and there are nicer places to stay by the river!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here in a 6 bed dorm which actually only hade 4 and a cot was sometimes rolled in. The rooms and bathroom were clean with nice big lockable lockers, which as a backpacker is a huge bonus! It's a little walk to the food and bar streets but its nice to come back to a quite place to sleep after a long, hot Cambodian day. Breakfast was also delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good place to stay in Phnom Penh. Clean, well located, have monkeys on their balcony to wake you up in the morning (if you’re lucky). Bathroom has hot water, the room have working AC, a fridge, a fan, wifi and tv. You will have to ask for towels. You’ll find cheaper (and better) options for food and trips in the restaurant and shops nearby the hotel.

Tips:
1. The hostel can provide free pick up depending on where you arrive in Phnom Penh. You’ll have to arrange it by contacting them.
2. If you need to book a boat or bus trip, look for Family Hometown Travel and Tours located in front of Wat Phnom - 2 min from the hotel. They sell their tickets to tourists at a normal price (aka they don't overcharge you if you're not a local)! Plus, they're super nice.
3. Roza restaurant, next door to Me Mates Place, is a good address (and it’s cheap compared to other restaurants).
4. Be appropriately dress if you plan to visit the Royal palace.
5. For obtaining a visa to Vietnam, Battambang is a better place than Phnom Penh. Nowadays, it costs $60 to get it done in Cambodia.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LawaaiYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's quite affordable for budget travelers like me. The staff are helpful and friendly, spacious rooms with large locker with locks to store your luggage. Free WiFi (at ground floor only) and delicious mango juice. Just beware with the monkeys, there is warning given for not opening the window as the monkeys will enter the room and take your belongings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChernnieIyvonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights,15 mins from 51st street,so quiet at night ,$2 in a tuk tuk,to the bars,rooms kept clean (no window in our room) ac worked fine,food was ok,staff helpful and friendly,used tuk tuk driver from outside here to go and see the sights,reasonable price,,would stay here again,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEMOON95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap, we booked online and everything went according to plan. No hidden costs, there's a coach service at reception. Free WiFi (although only really on the ground floor). Good food for $2 next door and right next to Wat Phnom. A bit quiet but at least you'll get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlysaynoonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rithy168, General Manager at Me Mates Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Me Mates Place for your recent stay in Phnom Penh city. We have read your comments about our guesthouse and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again at Me Mates Place

Best regards and warmest greetings,

Ratha Sok (Mr.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.9 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#72 of 327 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Stop Hostel
One Stop Hostel
#9 of 243 in Phnom Penh
223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 243 in Phnom Penh
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 243 in Phnom Penh
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 243 in Phnom Penh
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lucky Ro Hotel
Lucky Ro Hotel
#134 of 327 in Phnom Penh
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Me Mates Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Me Mates Place

Property: Me Mates Place
Address: St 90 Sangkat Wat Phnom | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Me Mates Place 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Me Mates Place is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. Only 0.5 km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. For those of you who want to venture out, Wat Saravan, National Museum, Cambodian Cooking Class are just some of the attractions available to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Me Mates Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Mates Place Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing