We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massage in Phnom Penh”
Review of Amara Spa

Amara Spa
Attraction details
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Massage in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had tried three massage/spa outlets in Phnom Penh over the 5 days I stayed there. The first two charged the same money as Amara Spa but were completely useless.

I finally went to Amara for reflexology and for muscle relaxation massage. This was over two and a half hours with the total cost being only USD 28. The masseuse was very good and very friendly.

Warm welcome on arrival with fresh cool wash cloth and some refreshing tea.

Thourghly enjoyed the time I spent there. The facilities are modern and well kept. Well worth the money. Trained and professional staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Over priced and aimed at Europeans”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice facilities. Great tea. But generally nothing special and for the standard massage and treatments way over priced. I think the Europeans love it and think its cheap compared to home..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Manager needs service training”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I used to frequent this spa- as it's convenient, being on the riverside, with wi-fi and a juice after a massage.
The quality of the massage varies, depending on which masseuse you get. Most times, they are ok and given the overall ambience of the room and the nice clean showers, it's a comforting spa experience. The rooms are nicely set up, even though you have to climb up long flights of very dark steps. So you work out a little before you get to relax.

Manicure & pedicure: alright, not exceptionally good as they are not very thorough with scrubbing and tidying of cuticle. Uncomfortable seats squished in a corner.

The biggest down side: an unpleasant experience of having to deal with the manager. She was unwilling to honor a promotion they printed in a magazine, either that or she didn't know about it. Although she eventually had to give the discount when I pointed out it was spotted in a magazine found in their spa. Throughout, instead of addressing me directly, I had to speak with the receptionist (who was very nice) as the manager stood behind her with a very black face. At the end, they refused to accept my hundred dollar bill because it was "too old". Again, instead of the manager coming over, it was the receptionist who was extremely apologetic.

Obviously, I am no longer a regular.
But if I have to recommend a spa at the riverside, I'll still mention Amara, with disclaimers... Otherwise, I think Nata Spa is way better for the consistently good service, overall ambience and quality of massage.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank ArissaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean spa”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

it is near the water front and had a very easy going approach. The staff was helpful with discount vouchers for the next visit. The masseur was proficient and the place was clean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArunRaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Perfect but expensive”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have to admit this spa was perfect.
The price is high for Cambodia.
I beleive there is very good spa ib phnom penh that would have cost less. It was still a very relaxing experience

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colombine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amara Spa also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Amara Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing