We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Jars of Clay...”
Review of Jars of Clay

Jars of Clay
Ranked #74 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Jars of Clay is owned and run by young Cambodian women who support themselves as well as their families. THE HEART BEHIND THE COFFEE SHOP is to help women and girls from the various backgrounds who have experience hardship in their lives. Our mission is to help the know Jesus' love, care and grace. Providing jobs and skills including cleaning, cooking, serving customer and working together.Helping to build confidence and trust. Working together as a team, expressing love and grace to once another.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love Jars of Clay...”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

There is growing competition now with the flourishing of great places like JOMA, etc., but Jars of Clay is the Phnom Penh original. Major hangout for the church set and faith-based (not only) NGO workers. My family ate breakfast there nearly every Saturday for the better part of 8 years we lived in Phnom Penh. The food is fresh, tasty and top quality, mostly Western with a selection of good Khmer also, great pies and backed goods, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. I worry a bit about the future with so much competition for this niche of the market - I hope JoC continues to adapt, survive and thrive...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WClimenhaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    93
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Awesome restaurant with an awesome cause. The menu was extensive and the food delicious. The restaurant was clean and service was excellent. We were pressed for time so we were able to call in our orders ahead of time and the food was ready when we arrived!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n2m2s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Friendly, excellent service with clean good and wholesome food. We had fish & chips, pan fried fish and lasagne. Good size portions and very pleased in supporting such a wonderful, worthwhile cause. Would definitely recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar_oz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“wonderful cake!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a lovely cafe. has a relaxed air-conditioned area with free wifi. The cakes are delicious.very helpful staff

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“food to go”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were off to Kep from Phnom Penh by bus and not knowing if there would be suitable food stops along the way decided to take a sandwich. We were spending a last couple of hours around the Russian market and got talking to an English couple who were working in PP they recommended Jars of Clay and we were delighted with two freshly made filled baguettes presented to us in polystyrene containers, ideal for our trip. Full marks to the staff there the sandwiches were great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jars of Clay also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Jars of Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing