We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and fantastic staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Welcome Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welcome Inn
Ranked #100 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Welcome Inn is in a great location in Phnom Penh and is a great hub for entertainment and cultural activities. As other reviewers have noted, 104 street is known for it's gogo bar style establishments but there is not a seedy of uncomfortable atmosphere within the location.

The food is good and and has a varied menu to suit different tastes. The rooms in the hotel are clean and spacious and WiFi is provided also.

All in all, i'd recommend the Welcome Inn to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in a good laction.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
34
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed here 5 times now and find some of the other reviews humorous. I have not once smelled anything bad inside any of the rooms (out in the streets of Phnom Penh is another matter altogether!) never noticed anything wet or old about the sheets or towels, and have nothing but nice things to say about the owner or the staff. All very pleasant. Granted, if you are easily offended by the local night life, this may not be the place for you. Although on my recent trip there were two older women staying that i chatted with many times and didn't seem to mind it at all, in fact they found it interesting to watch the "goings on" on street 104. For men, great place, for couples it is fine also, only category person I would advise NOT staying here are those who ARE offended by the night action (although nobody is asking you to partake anyway). Otherwise, one of the best places in the world to stay for $20 - $40 per night :-)

Room Tip: there is no elevator, so if you don't like walking up stairs mcuh ,ask for a room on the 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great Location, Clean Rooms, Fast Internet, Friendly Staff - Perfect

My girl friend and I were recommended by our friends and stayed at this friendly inn for 2 weeks December 2012. Our rooms was very clean and comfortable you could not have expected better for the cost. The chef makes great food and the staffs are very pleasant and could not do enough to make your stay pleasant.

It is a great place to stay. Close to the bus stations, boat to Siem Reap, night market, bars, everything. The staff were one of the friendliest we have seen while travelling. Great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

104 street has a name for girlie's bar and the establishment has taken some of those 'features' which can be a surprise for the casual guest. The rooms were kept clean and nice except the weird habit not replacing dirty towels but folding them again and put them back on the bed. Excellent cook, nice food and the noise is minimal in the room. The whole bar is a nice rest point for the other 'activities' ongoing. It has everything, Wifi, TV, aircon but again a point of critics is that the aircon controller did not work, neither did the remote control of the tv work good.
I can say had good time but and that is a management thing, its not the bar/inn it pretends to be. I am most sorry for the persons working there, that guests are not given the right idea.

Room Tip: Have different rooms with different price, just check and look
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ger08061959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights the first days of November. The staff where very attentive ans welcoming, despite the fact that I arrived 4 hours too early for check inn. The double room was big, clean and had huge cabinets and a balcony against the street. I was concerned about the noise level from the nearby bars, but I had no problem at all to fall asleep at 11 PM. The owner and manager was also very helpful with arrange tickets for my bus trip to Sihanoukville and was in general very helpful with answering all my questions I may have about Phnom Penh. The meals I had there was also very good and not too pricy either.
I know I will stay at this guesthouse when I return to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svein Arne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Despite the name, the staff on check-in were very uninterested and it seemed to be an inconvenience for them that we had arrived.

The room was clean and basic, but did not have a window. There are better alternatives in the vicinity for the same amount we had paid.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolajane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The owner was friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The rooms smell like sewer, which they place a cut up lime over the drain in the shower but it still reeked and never went away.

Do your research before you book here. It is not even one block from the Red Light District in Phnom Penh. The basic rooms are an ok price, but they are very small. The guests of the restaurant and guesthouse seemed to be creepy old men due to the location, as well as the many seedy bars in the area made me feel uncomfortable walking around at night.

We were put on a high floor and the internet went out often.

If you do stay here I would spend a few more dollars to stay in their larger rooms with balconies.

Room Tip: Spend more money to stay in their larger rooms with a balcony, you can air out the sewer smell when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#150 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#201 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Art Hotel
De Art Hotel
#21 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pillar Hotel
The Pillar Hotel
#118 of 217 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucky Ro Hotel
Lucky Ro Hotel
#99 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn

Property: Welcome Inn
Address: No. 23, Seng Thoung #104, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Velkommen Inn)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velkommen Inn is an established and popular 5 rooms Guesthouse with an English and Norwegian speaking management team. You will feel at home while enjoying great service and food.Our perfect location near the riverside in the touristic area makes it easy to unwind and discover Phnom Penh’s many attractions and lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Velkommen Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing