We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creeeepy”
Review of Le Grand Mekong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Mekong
Ranked #101 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creeeepy”
Reviewed March 3, 2010

The website said it's "...your sweet home away from home...".

It only makes sense if you call the Overlook Hotel 'home' as well.

The Double room we had was big and sparse and seemingly clean with leaking toilet sound serving as muzak, making the whole room very creepy. The boyfriend spent a sustainable amount of time in the bathroom trying to fix the leaking toilet.
Left a half-eaten mango on the desk while waiting for the fridge to get ready (You have to plug in the fridge yourself), within a few minutes, it was attacked by ants.
The corridor was dark and dingy. The room next to ours was left unlocked and slight ajar. Kinda like Room 237 in The Shining
The hotel seems to be very popular with middle-age single white guys who can be seen sitting in the nearby bars late at night, surrounded by groups of young local girls.

The room got so eerie at night with all the lights switched off that I asked the boyfriend to keep the muted TV on.

We booked a tuk-tuk from the reception to take us to the airport to catch our early morning flight. After a 15mins wait, a taxi arrived instead of a tuk-tuk. The lady at the reception kept insisting that we ordered a taxi instead of a tuk-tuk and was visibly irritated with us when we too insisted we told her that we wanted a tuk-tuk.

Definitely one of the worst place I have ever paid to stay in so far.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratandpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    94
    58
    19
    20
See reviews for
18
80
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked this hotel in Siam Reap with a travel agent, we were told this hotel was new and clean with a wonderful view of the river, he chaged us $25, he also arranged a pick up for us from the bus station to the hotel. Upon arriving there was no one to pick us up so we took a tuk tuk to get there, admittently it was not very far from the bus station. We were given a room without window, which we disputed, after half an hour of debating and telephone conversation with the agency we booked with they gave us a room with window. The room was average and not very clean. But what disturbed us the most nearly every other guest at the hotal was a middle guy with cambodian women in tow.

I would not stay at this hotal again nor will i recommend it anyone

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubnagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Basic rooms $18 per night, double, wet room shower/wc, no window or breakfast. OK for short stays eg 2 nights. Has seen better days fittings tired. Aircon, satalite TV with approx 10 English speaking chanels. 10mins walk from museum & central market & Mekong Express Bus drop off (for trips from Siem Reap & Sahauna Ville. Right in the midst of cafes/bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylocks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The room was fine and it was definitely clean but had no windows which was kinda creepy. The bathroom was sprayed with air freshener on arrival but stunk after a few hours. The TV was way too far away from the bed or seats to be seen and the tube was blown so the colour was crap. The bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable.

Prompt housekeeping, free water and pretty good compared to some of the dumps we looked at but no internet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Pleasant enough staff. Plenty of rooms with no windows and some with barred windows. Health and safety not a great selling point. Good views of the river from public balconies. Rooms at front noisy as hotel is right on the road. Room clean enough. Well placed fro restaurants, onward travel etc

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spurs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Got this hotel when we arrived on the bus from Siem Reap. The smell in the place was pretty awful, drains, I guess. Bed was comfy but we had no hot water. Reported and told it would be fixed the next morning but when we arrived back from sight-seeing still no hot water. They offered us another room but that had no hot water too. Lucky it wasn't too cold for a cool shower. Had a good elevator and was in a good location, nice big room with a half pineapple on the floor as a odour eater.... (Necessary)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamkaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

2:00 in morning, half asleep, feel my cat jump on the bed and walk across my pillow...........wait a minute, i`m on vacation , i don`t have a cat in phnom penh !
switch on light, foot long rat staring at me corner of bed 6 inches from my foot!.
i screamed,rat ran under bed.
went to manager, he was very angry i woke him up, instead of apoligising and giving me a better room,(hotel half empty) he switched me to a room with no air,shower broken,no fridge,filthy. next morning checking out ( had been there 3 weeks) i asked your not going to charge me for the night i was almost bitten by a rat are you? if you stay longer no, but if you leave yes!!!!!!!!!why do you have rats in room? oh we run out of rat medicine 1 month ago!!!!! buyer beware.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padmaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#148 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#85 of 267 in Phnom Penh
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#124 of 267 in Phnom Penh
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#67 of 267 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Mekong

Property: Le Grand Mekong
Address: No. 253-255, Sisowath Quay S/K | Phsar Kandal1, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia (Formerly Mekong Palace Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Mekong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a lush tropical setting right in the heart of Phnom Penh City Center, Le Grand Mekong Hotel is just 20 minutes away from the Phnom Penh International Airport and 5 minutes walk to the Museum, Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and 10 Toul Sleng. All our rooms in this hotel are unique and beautifully – furnished with all the modern amenities and in traditional Cambodian style with river view. Amenities offered are in-room safe, hair dryer, bathrobe, cable TV, coffee and tea maker and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Mekong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing