We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #216 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This is simply an excellent hotel in which to stay when travelling with the $ in this chaotic city. The location is as good as it gets, the service and food very good. The design and comfort of the rooms make it a place to stay with your partner. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flagstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 427 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at The Quay for two nights after getting the bus down from Siem Reap. The hotel is in a great location and is just a short walk from the Mekong Express drop-off point. Although we counted up the numbers when walking, we still could not see the hotel as it is poorly signposted and is 'hidden' behind the Chow Restaurant. On arrival, the staff were friendly but there was a problem with the keycard system and we had to be taken up individually and we had to wait 15 minutes for the people who arrived after us to be shown to their rooms first. After a 6hr bus journey this was the last thing we wanted!

We had a standard suite, and on first glances we were very impressed with it. Although there are no windows in the standard suites, there is plenty of light and the rooms do not feel claustrophobic. However, after being in the room for a while we noticed that there was virtually no hanging space or storage space, and although very-well designed, it was not being maintained to a good enough standard for the price. The floor of the shower appeared mouldy, the blinds did not fit the 'windows' properly and the doors to the one cupboard did not close properly, meaning the internal light was on all night. I would not want to spend more than a couple of nights in a standard suite because it is small and the lack of storage space became an issue with two of us. The walls also seemed to be made of paper and we were disturbed by the noise from the next room.

The public areas are showing similar signs of wear and tear, with the carpet being frayed in areas and marks on the walls. However, the rooftop bar is an absolute gem with fantastic views over the river and probably could not be beaten for views. We had cocktails here both evenings and they bought some free nibbles over for us. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, the food looked very nice. The pool is a plunge pool, but if you are not afraid of a few cocktail-toting guests seeing you in your swimsuit then it would be a lovely place to sit after a hot day in the city.

All in all, the hotel is a wonderful modern design and they have made good use of the space and injected some much-needed style into the hotel scene, but it is not being maintained properly. With a thorough clean and fixing some niggles it would be an outstanding hotel. I'm not sure it is worth the money in its current state.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picketty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We only stayed here one night as we were traveling from Siem Reap to Kep. For our purposes it was excellent, very modern and clean, with good wifi, and a lovely breakfast, and a great location right on the river and close to the palace. We paid $140 for a river view which seems a bit expensive for Cambodia, but i don't think prices have declined as much as the lack of tourists would suggest. Our taxi driver from the airport had a little difficulty finding the hotel because it is not marked very clearly so make sure you take the exact address with you. The rooms are very nice, although quite small, with a lot of modern equipment. The rooftop was very nice with a small but very refreshing plunge pool. We eat at the FCC which we found a bit of a dump (very different to the FCC in Siem Reap) and wished we had eaten somewhere else. The breakfast in the hotel was lovely and we also had a small lunch which was very nice. We thought Phnom Penh was a bit of a dump and very sketchy at night so were quite happy we didn't stay more than one night. If you are looking at more of a colonial style experience the raffles is most likely a better bet but then it is also a lot more expensive. If you could get this hotel for around the$100 mark I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Quay is an urbane, relaxed haven from the noise and bustle of Phnom Penh, so much so that you need to walk out of the front door to remind yourself where you are. We stayed for one night after having the Quay recommended as an alternative to the FCC - it's the same business, and the Quay is only five minutes’ walk up the river front in Phnom Penh from the FCC.

After being picked up in a car and shuttled a ludicrously short distance from the Mekong Express bus stop, my girlfriend and I were quickly and efficiently checked in and taken to our room by the very friendly, easy-going staff. The reception of the Quay sits behind a cool air-conditioned bar area, which doubles as the Chow restaurant.

We stayed in one of the Panoramic Suites, at the front of the hotel with a private balcony offering great views out across the Tonle Bassac and Mekong rivers. I've never stayed in a more stylish and comfortable hotel in Cambodia. The room was beautifully decorated, with reclining chairs, a huge flat screen TV with DVD player (and a free DVD library at reception), a great bed, and a groovy little desk behind the bed, positioned facing the window. The bathroom was excellent - with bath, rain shower and bowl sink screened off with frosted glass.

The food at the Quay was very good indeed – filling, fresh and tasty Cambodian, Malaysian, Vietnamese and Western dishes. The prawn and coconut laksa was fantastic. As part of a short-term deal, $30 of the price of our room was deducted from the food bill, effectively allowing us to eat for free (and get a few drinks in) during our stay.

The Quay claims to be a completely carbon neutral hotel, through monitoring emissions and offsetting 100% of them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We found The Quay a refreshing oasis in Phnom Penh. The rooms were clean, very attractive, modern and comfortable. We trusted the food we ordered in the lobby restaurant and found the staff to be very accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali4gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I LOVE this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, the design is great. The staff are SO friendly, helpful, and lovely. The rooftop bar is espeically nice and the specialty drinks are GREAT, the small infinity pool on the rooftop is the *perfect* place to cool off after after a scorching summer day. Plus their happy hour can't be beat. The food is good...this place is a gem. Get the lychee martini. This hotel's very expensive by Cambodian standards but not by U.S. ones. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bette1stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was a nice and quiet hotel on the busy riverside esplanade. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, organising taxis for us at a reasonable price. Breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend the hotcakes with apple, icecream and roasted peanuts! The croissant with lemon curd was fabulous as well! This hotel was great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone. My only complaints where that upon arrival our bed cover had white stains on it...very disgusting, however the staff cleaned our bed straight away upn request. Also the room seemed dusty still, it may have been the airconditioner hadn't been cleaned in a while as the room seemed clean enough. The lift smells a bit funny, but other than that this was a great place to stay with a convenient location! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#39 of 278 in Phnom Penh
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#18 of 278 in Phnom Penh
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#34 of 278 in Phnom Penh
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
284 reviews
0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#58 of 278 in Phnom Penh
507 reviews
0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#96 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#71 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $63 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing