We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, roof deck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #85 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brookline
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, roof deck”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is great, it is on the waterfront and the roof deck has a restaurant with a great view. We booked the cheaper room that was located in the back of the hotel not facing the waterfront. I do not recommend that, we saved money on the room but windows did not open. The room itself was clean and air conditioned but not being able to open the window was annoying.

The roof deck is the best thing that hotel has to offer and even when were staying at another hotel later in the trip, we came back to the restaurant at night to have drinks and dinner on the roof.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlyleveraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    130
    51
    38
    16
See reviews for
48
188
52
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Having been on the road for over a month, our little group decided to splash out on a nice hotel. We ended up staying at the Quay for nearly one week. Lounging in the over sized jacuzzi sipping homemade Sangria was heaven.

We stayed in both the suites and the back rooms. For the price both were well worth it. Pick up all the latest DVDs for cents on the riverside and just hang in the rooms watching on the giant LED TV's with room service was great too.

Always ask the hotel for special rates as they were very flexible here as we kept extending our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We recently stayed at The Quay and were happy with the accommodation, staff and services.

But ... We paid around US$13 per person to the cashier for four tickets on the Mekong Express air conditioned luxury bus for a five hour trip from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. When our pickup arrived, we were taken to another bus line and found it was a much poorer quality bus with no air conditioning and many stops, resulting in an uncomfortable trip of around eight hours.

More worryingly, we also found that the tickets on this bus were less than US$6 each, which leads us to question why the staff member charged the higher price and what happened to the remaining money???

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location on the riverfront, the rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The cheaper rooms don't get any natural light, but the hotel discloses this on the website so we knew what to expect.
We stayed during the low season and got reduced rates, so for what we paid I think it was value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay here was lousy. Our first impressions were disappointing: our room had no windows and ineffective air conditioning. However we figured that we would not be in town long, so after a brief complaint to the front desk we got on with seeing the city. The worst was yet to come, however. When we returned to the hotel on the second day after spending several hours touring the city, we made a very disappointing discovery. Someone had removed half the cash ($80) from a wallet I had left in the room, ironically to keep it safe from pickpockets. The thief had clearly gone for the strategy of only taking half our cash and hoping we would not notice. Fortunately he or she was either so greedy, so stupid or both that he or she elected to take a large amount and left the wallet open so it was completely obvious.

I immediately raised this with the shift manager who's initial response was not to investigate, apologise or otherwise react with any concern or sympathy but to question why the wallet had not been in the safety deposit box that day. Thankfully that had been filled with a laptop and passports but the implication was clear to me - anything not in there that subsequently went missing was fair game. Call me old fashioned but I expect my valuables in a locked hotel room to be safe regardless of whether they are in a small safe.

After two hours of general disinterest and inactivity from the staff matched by frequent complaining at the front desk on our part, they told us they had checked the cameras and the only person who had been in the room that day was the cleaner. Amazingly after a quick call to the cleaner, who assured them he had not stolen anything, they decided the matter was closed. I honestly couldn't believe it...

We complained further and eventually managed to speak on the phone to the off duty manager. She was full of hot air and empty promises along the lines of further investigation and an email. That was 3 weeks ago and we are yet to hear anything from her.

In summary if your idea of a good hotel experience is a room that resembles an air tight cave, staff who demonstrably could not care less about helping you and a fast and loose approach to your valuables and security then you will love this place. For everyone else do yourselves a favour and stay somewhere decent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sheets had holes in them. Rooms had a musty smell all the time. Air con noisy. Bathroom dark. On a good note all staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location along riverside. Almost forgot fridge wasn't working on arrival so they replaced it but still didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

the loaction is great along the river and close to many restaurants and bars
rooms are very comfortable, but note the standard rooms have no window looking out, they have small windoes that let some light in - but not oo bad anyway
the front rooms have a balcony with views of the river.
the roof terrace is very nice - the 'swimming pool' is tiny, more like a jacuzzi
but nice views of the river also from the top of the building
food is good, breakfast also, nice service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#101 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
463 reviews
0.0 mi away
FCC Phnom Penh
FCC Phnom Penh
#89 of 267 in Phnom Penh
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Property: The Quay Boutique Hotel
Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#45 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing