We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designer gone wild”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #90 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
286 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Designer gone wild”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Where do I begin? First of all I have worked with designers for 30 years and on occasion I have had to remind them that the product they were designing was for public comsumption, not a museum piece. This place obviously let some lunatic fringe designer loose and never did a reality check on his/her work. This hotel is completely disfunctional from start to finish, top to bottom.
We had the misfortune to stay in a standard room, balcony rooms were full. There is nothing about these rooms that cater to customer comfort and or convenience. The closet is a joke except for wee people. I would guess that even a pair of trousers hung over a hanger, not straight down would still bunch up at the bottom of the "closet" it is so short.
There is no electrical outlet for the coffee maker in the closet that also serves as a mini bar, etc. so it has to go elsewhere.
The outlet in the bathroom is black on black, sheer stroke of genius there designer. You wouldn't want anyone finding that sucker anytime soon would ya?
The "nightstands" are a joke. They pretty much sit on the floor and one side is pretty much taken up by a nicely placed tissue holder that is enourmous.
The amenitites in the bath are all placed in oversized containers that leave prescious little room for anything else. There is a jet black carpet running from the door to the end of the room which creates a very painful situation with the bathroom. To get into the bathroom you have to step up about 4 inches. Since there is no depth perception with the black carpet stubbing the toes is common as is hyper extending the knee on the step out, again because of lack of depth clues.
The towel rack is "conveniently" placed in the comode area. Nice touch.
The lights are insufficient to illuminate the room because of the use of little teeny cans that look oh so cool and deliver oh so little light.
Add to all of this a broken elevator which makes things really entertaining on the extremely narrow staircase with luggage. A disgustingly gross stained pillow on the bed. No window, and a staff that hasn't a clue and you get the idea.
On the plus side...
The location is fantastic
Breakfast included is wonderful
Bed is very comfortable
AC works very well
The one blade fan is a design touch that actually does work properly
My wife and I have lived and traveled all over the world and we both thought the same, this place is the absolute worst we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a "standard" room unless you are totally desperate for someplace to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainereale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    130
    48
    38
    16
See reviews for
47
181
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Quay was a surprise, a really great surprise. Although the hotel was completely full during our stay the staff provided fantastic service. From their service on the rooftop bar to the housekeepers they really take care of you.

The hotel offers two types of rooms - standard rooms and panorama suites. You must stay in a panorama suite. They are much larger and offer great views of the river and the busy riverfront. Our room was large - standard rooms looked pretty small, but both room types are nicely appointed. Note, our balcony was great, but there was a high wall that made it impossible to see the river if you are sitting on the chairs provided. You had to stand to see the river. The suites on the top floor had a glass wall for the balcony so you could see without standing...but the room had gables so the room looked smaller. I was very happy with our room on the second to highest floor.

If your room comes with breakfast you can have it delivered to your room. Delicious and hearty breakfast - and the waiter set it up for us on our balcony. Great way to start the day.

I was worried about the noise from the busy riverfront area...glad to report street noise was not a problem in our room. Maybe we were high enough up? I think the hotel is built really well since we couldn't hear any noise from the room next door either.

If you want a hotel with grounds and large pool areas, you should stay at the Raffles. If you want an independent style hotel in a great location at a great price this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Stay in a Panorama suite on a high floor for the best experience - and get the breakfast delivered t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at the Quay in January 2012 for four nights.

Firstly, the location of the hotel was great -- in the tourist area close to hotels and restaurants and safe. The room that we stayed in was well maintained. There is a good selection for breakfast and the Western breakfasts in particular, were good in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at. We tried the Asian breakfasts, but these were not to our liking. (This is surprising as we are Asian). The doormen were also very helpful and always helped with our baby stroller and bags when we got on and off the tuk tuks.

We could hear the noise from the hotel lobby as the hotel is very small. Also the pool on the rooftop is really a jacuzzi (misleading) Overall, no issues. I would check on the price of the other hotels in this area before choosing to stay at the Quay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padparadscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We, family with 2 boys 10/11, stayed there in December. Perfect location. Nicely decorated, well maintained, stylish bathrooms. Breakfast very good, the excellent capuccino made we want to get out of bed even more than the jetlag :-)
Rooftop bar/pool is very nice, had a good breeze during the day, at night even "cool", which is nice
We booked late so larger rooms in front were not available anymore, we had 2 rooms in the back. Those rooms do have daylight but now view outside. Never bothered us, but might bother other people. Then again we were out all day or sometimes just spnd an hour or so reading on the rooftop.
Only if you really want a large pool I would select another property but that was not the purpose of our stay

Room Tip: We booked late so larger rooms in front were not available anymore, we had 2 rooms in the back. Thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a room with balcony facing river. Both room and view stunning. Location brilliant. Not for the very noise-sensitive, however - average of around 75 dB on balcony and 50 dB in room with balcony door closed.
Breakfast very good. View from bar on top floor even better than from room.
Hotel needs to address maintenance issues. Drawer tracks in cupboards broken and carpets and furniture (white leather!) slightly stained.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is a stylish hotel with no lobby as such, entry through their restaurant (The Chow)
We had a standard room which wasn't very big but done up very tastefully and stylishly. Quiet and peaceful not facing the waterfront.

The location is fantastic on the waterfront which is the prime touristy area at Phnom penh, in the very center of the line up of bars and restaurants. The rooftop bar is quite good with great views, nothing exceptional on the food bit (expensive though as compared to the other bars on the waterfront)
The breakfast is not the standard buffet affair, you can choose from the a-la-carte breakfast menu. Personally, I didn't quite like the breakfast, could have been much better.
Staff could be more friendly and smiling, they are not rude, just a bit aloof.
They seem to be a bit pricey compared to the other hotels around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

From check in to departure the service and stay was great. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the rooms spacious and clean, an oil burner infusing the sent of lemon grass through out the room on arrival was a particularly nice touch. The resturant does a great breakfast and Chow the restaurant served some really innovative food, the Illy coffee is an added bonus for an avowed caffine addict. However the stand out is the rooftop bar overlooking the river, an excellent place to watch the sun go down and sip a refreshing Gin and Tonic ot two. Will be staying there again!

Room Tip: The River front or Delux rooms are the pick in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#99 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#61 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Property: The Quay Boutique Hotel
Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#47 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing