We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #185 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The hotel is easy to find and fairly close to everything, particularly Sisowath Quay (which is where you want to be). Having said that, walking even a few blocks can be a trial in Phnom Penh due to the traffic and lack of pavement.

The rooms are simple, slightly aged, but fine. Make sure you complain immediately if your hot water and/or aircon mysteriously turn off during your stay.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, though they are not afraid to tell white lies to make things sound better than they are, or to mark prices up ridiculously. All prices are still reasonable considering they are Cambodian prices, but relative to what you pay elsewhere in town, hiring a driver for a day or an order for bus tickets find a hefty markup attached to make a nice commission for the hotel. Breakfast is also overpriced, though laundry is reasonable.

It's certainly nothing flash - the Paragon and other nearby hotels looked pretty good from the outside when we walked past them (for a similar pricerange), but you could certainly do worse.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 98 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2008

This was not a backpackers hotel that it was advertised to be. I was one of the only young backpackers on budget. There were other Cambodians seemingly living at the hotel and older foreign men who brought young Cambodians home with them. There was a strange stench that would not leave and my sheets smelled like mold. It was a bit expensive for what I got and I constantly felt like I was being cheated out of my money because all the staff assumed I was a wealthy vacationer. But all the hotel workers were extremely friendly and tried their best to help. I really appreciated that. The food at the restaurant is good and the staff there is quite friendly as well. The neighborhood is kind of strange and I needed a moto for everything. I'd recommend some place else if you want to be comfortable for that much money but the people are so nice!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patheticfallacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Our two day trip to Phnom Penh was made extra special by staying at the Dara Reang Say. Even though I couldn't find much info about the place, we went ahead and booked it. They were prompt in their e-mail replies and very professional. They picked us up at the airport for a small fee. The hotel itself was clean, with a fridge, TV and A/C in each room. Some rooms had small balconies. Reminded me a lot of backpacker hotels/guesthouses in Europe. It's in a great location...about 3 blocks from the river. It's easy to walk to the river, but was nice not staying in the center of the action (that street can be noisy at night). The staff were very friendly and helpful - booking bus tickets for us. The restaurant downstairs was great - a good sized dinner only cost about $3. There are internet cafes nearby. The best part - they did all of our laundry for about $5 (for 5 people)!!! I would definitely stay there again if I needed a budget accomodation in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NMtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I booked this hotel on the phone a day before we arrived in Phnom Penh and they came to pick us up at the bus station. We got a twin room on the first floor (US second) in their new building which is across the old one. The rate was 20 USD (no breakfast). The room was quite large and decoration was simple. Fridge, TV, aircon and fan worked well. Sheets were clean and towels, though threadbare, were also clean. Electric shower worked but don’t expect much from the bathroom. It is clean but there is no tub or shower cubicle. Water goes directly on the floor and the toilet.

I quite liked the food at the restaurant and ate there often. Staff were very friendly (Cambodians in general are kind and friendly people). There are two computers with internet in the restaurant but you have to pay to use them. Location is within walking distance of the river and if you don’t mind walking in the heat, Royal Palace is about 20 minutes from the hotel. Or you can always take a tuktuk. There are grocery shops and pharmacies conveniently located around the hotel.

Overall, DRS is a nice backpacker hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank citywok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Calling 2-3 days in advance to book this place is a good idea although they are pretty prompt with their email response. The building is located some 100meters away from Tonle Sap and the river restaurant area where you can enjoy both local and western dining.

The room is accessible, the main hotel door will be shut by 10.30pm with the receptionist relaxing or sleeping by the doorway on his portable mattress, a common practice for a backpacker's accommodation like this. The room is spacious that comes with a tiny 14 inch highly attached tv and super single sized and comfy beds. Forget the tv, there is no remote and you can barely see details at such a distance! Laundry service is prompt . Clean toilet, the water heater takes a while to heat up and may not even work at times so if that isn't your main priority, DARA Reang is a NO FRILL, affordable cheap place to stay. Their service is straightforward, receptionist seems untrained but polite enough. There is also an in-house local guide service available. Nice Tuk Tuk drivers are always available at the front door until late so you don't have to get too far on the super busy street to find one.

The building also housed a nice local restaurant underneath the hotel, so be prepared for lingering scents of delicious Khmer curries, delicacies and in the morning, coffee!

Be aware that the alleys leading there gets dark and quietens by 9pm. To walk at that hour is strictly not recommended as there seem to be a few sleazy tiny bars and karaoke joints nearby. Despite the above, I can almost guarantee a restful sleep at this humble hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suryothai_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Arranged everything from UK via email, picked up from bus station after bus from Siem Reap. Large hotel split over two sites.Slight concern when we headed for the new annex. No worries as it was a very clean a/c room. Good location, just away from the quayside.
No problems and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank 46erling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phnom Penh
0.3 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#143 of 278 in Phnom Penh
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 278 in Phnom Penh
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#57 of 278 in Phnom Penh
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
VY CHHE Hotel
VY CHHE Hotel
#16 of 26 in Battambang
58 reviews
3 mi away
Good Luck Day Hotel
Good Luck Day Hotel
#223 of 278 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
River-Star Hotel
River-Star Hotel
#175 of 278 in Phnom Penh
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Corner St 13 & 118 Phsar Chas, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $24 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing