We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excapade Sushi, Gadong”
Review of Excapade Sushi

Excapade Sushi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excapade Sushi, Gadong”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Best sushi place in town, in fact I'd say its world class and not very expensive. A bit busy though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Subhrajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    72
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Japanase Restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Kuala Belait, in Brunei, is a good place to go for japanese food (especially sushi), and this restaurant is one of the famous. I haven't tried other restaurants in Kuala Belait, but this one's a value for money. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food good price”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for japanese food. Go have a meal, you will enjoy the food especially sushi and sashimi. A place i would go back for another meal anytime

Helpful?
Thank ChanML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place is very popular among the locals. All their restaurants has it's own design with nice ambiance. The staff are very friendly and the service is fast. In all my experience of having my meals there, I only had one slow service. My usual pick when I am there are; unagi with any of it's combinations, asparagus with beef, and udon with seafood. Somehow I have not got the hang of eating the sushi. And I wash it down with green tea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brunei's Take on Japanese Sushi.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

First of, let's be clear Excapade Sushi is certainly no authentic Japanese cuisine.

It's been altered, modified and to a certain extent much more fattier - mostly because of that injection of Philadelphia cheese.

However this does not mean it ain't good. I actually love that explosive powerful combination of salmon, seaweed, sushi rice, avocado and Philly cheese together then dipped into a wasabi-fied bowl of soy sauce with a slice of pink ginger on top.

I rarely order the set menus or meals, just the individual small plates and my recommendations:

1. Unagi Sandwich.
2. Layer Sushi - similar to Unagi but different shape and healthier cause it ain't fried.
3. Seaweed - can eat 9 of these.
4. Soft shell crab ebiko.
5. California Maki normal and special.

Yet they've got more options for you especially the desserts and tempura. One special order you can ask which I'm not sure if its in the menu is like a tempura or filo pastry filled with Philly cheese! Though you should at least have done some cardio or exercise prior to it, otherwise you'd be filled with guilt for the rest of your day.

In terms of location, the Gadong branch is good for family gathering especially birthdays since you get those rooms.

But if you hate those dark spots, I believe all the other branches are light-friendly. I personally love the one in Kiulap. Easier to find parking compared to Times Square and Bunut.

I give Expacade Sushi a 5/5 simply cause it has the right balance of being delicious and affordable - at least for my meager student budget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CitizenJournalAzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excapade Sushi also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Excapade Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing