We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the regal concept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rizqun International Hotel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the regal concept”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I didn't used much of the services there - for example, room service or the gym. Judging from the services I received upon arriving at the lobby, the staffs were attentive and polite. It took some time for them to process my reservations but once done, they quickly carry our bags and show us to our rooms. They also welcomed us with a cookie and chocolates at mid-afternoon.

I love their room concept. They have little royal and regal touches around the place that slightly resembles the classic royal statures of Brunei (with the Sultan being the richest in the world). I stayed in a Deluxe Room with two queen sized bed and one bathroom (bath tub). They have two wide dressing tables, LCD TV, hi-fi and other amenities like hairdryers, fridge, safe deposit box, ironing board, coffee/teas etc.

Rizqun is located at one of the busiest places in Brunei (Gadong). Although the location was deemed as 'the most happening place in town', it is actually pretty quiet by my standards. Don't expect it to be as busy as the streets of Vietnam because everything about Brunei is relax and calm. Rizqun is conveniently attached to The Mall (one of the biggest malls in Brunei). So, you can pretty much do a little shopping there as there are lots of shops and restaurants there.

What I love about Rizqun is the staffs and room that I've got. It's clean and neat - a main priority when one enters their hotel rooms. The restaurant at the lobby opens at 6am for breakfast and on my first morning, they didn't open on time. It is a little fortunate because the company has to leave for an urgent meeting that morning. So, we were late because we have to wait up for our breakfast.

Rizqun is recognized as a 5 star hotel in Brunei. Maybe it deserves a 4 star. Very good service but still not up to its 5 star standards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chengs146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    82
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
21
23
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was my 5th time at the Rizqun over the last 18 months. The hotel is fine, and the catering is acceptable. Its location, attached to the Mall shopping centre in Gadong, is good unless you want to be in the centre of Bandar.

There are several good restaurants close to the hotel.

The price is competitive. You don't really have much choice though for international class hotels. There is the Radisson in the centre of town, and the spectacular Empire way out of town.

My tip is to

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay on the 7th floor. There is a complimentary 'afternoon tea' between 5 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOHFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here for a night before heading to Sabah, so there isn't much to say but the room was very spacious with good facilities and amenities. The bed was very comfortable !! I'll forever remember this hotel as the one where you have to walk through long hall ways (like schools) for around 5 minutes to find your hotel room! It's pretty funny and interesting. It also feels like you are in a palace because the decor outside the elevators and around the inside of the hotel are significantly grand.

Rizqun International is right near the night market which is a few minutes walk out of the entrance. Great for people who don't sleep early , love midnight munchies and if you like to try authentic desserts and food. It is also part of a huge shopping mall - but the mall isn't that great. I didn't buy anything at all.

Staff here are always smiling and happy. The breakfast was not that great - normal food, nothing special.

It is a good hotel to stay over night but I would not come here for more than 2 nights as there is nothing much to do around there! If you love to watch cars, Brunei is the best place to see them - the people here are filthy rich!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed overnight in Brunei on our way back from a holiday in London. This was because we flew with Royal Brunei Airlines. Brunei is a very ordinary uninteresting place but a great little sample of a different culture. Our taxi driver informed us (in perfect English) on our way from the airport, that the Rizqun International Hotel where we were staying, was known by everyone to be their FIVE STAR Motel. It was a bargain to an Aussie. The foyers were huge and empty and the rooms were very isolated. The room was way better than the apartment in Notting Hill we had just spent the previous week in with relatives. But we were in Brunei now....not London. We were very lucky to have a major tourist attraction right across the road from us. it was the night food market which we visited and sampled. But the absolute highlight of our brief stay in Brunei was this. After the market visit we went to our beautiful room and ordered some room service. Just as we finished it sleepy Brunei was disrupted by the sound of sirens. This is a most unusual occurrence because apparently there is little crime in Brunei due to the alcohol prohibition law. Being a sticky beak I poked my head out of our window that overlooked the main street of Bandar Seri Begawan and saw eight police motorcyclists escorting a shiny new silver Lamborgini. I had read about the beloved King of Brunei's son having a penchant for fast cars and driving them around the sleepy capital of Brunei. Of course i had to go downstairs to see for myself. Unfortunately I didn't see anyone who resembled a prince but a very official looking person in uniform was waiting in our foyer along with a few of the motorcycle policemen. I'd like to think that the Prince of Brunei may have been dining in the Rizqin Restaurant (or perhaps doing a bit of shopping in the Shopping Centre attached to it) but whatever the case, it sure made our little stopover a whole lot more eventful and exciting. We should've dined out in the Restaurant and rubbed shoulders with royalty! So in conclusion I believe that the Rizqun International Hotel in Brunei..... is fit for a Prince!

Room Tip: Book in advance in your country of origin through a Travel Agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gozziestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is in a good location with a shopping mall attached and plenty of food places within walking distance. Breakfast was nice and room very spacious. Internet does not come with the room and was chargeable per hour or 40 Brunei dollar per day (Crazy price).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A really nice hotel, well located with shopping, a wet market and a night market nearby. Hotel facilities were excellent with the pool providing welcome relief at the end of the day. The only downside was poor transport connection with the inner city and pricey transfer cost to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Rizqun is a huge complex in a wonderful location. We stayed there one week.

Its staff are very warm, friendly and helpful - everyone spoke to me as I moved about the hotel.

Its a huge hotel with spacious rooms....its just that the rooms seem a little odd to us as Americans because the art on the walls looks like "starving artist" pieces and the pieces are not hung over each bed but are way off center. There is lots of pecan (oak?) colored wood in the room and the carpet throughout the hallways and our room is a little stained and shows a heavy traffic pattern in the hallway. Our bedroom had 2 queen beds, a love seat and coffee table, a half bath AND a large full bath with both tub and big walk-in shower. We had a beautiful view of the exotic looking swimming pool.

Room service is available and quick. And there is a large, busy restaurant with a Malaysian buffet in the first floor restaurant.

Internet service in our room is expensive and unreliable.

Rizqun has direct access to a 3 story mall with about 100 shops from a tailor to fabric sellers, from shoe stores to a sort of Apple store, scores of clothing stores, jewelry stores (costume to diamonds and 18k gold). I purchased a beautiful blue topaz and diamond pendant set in 18k white gold from Natalie at Diamonds and Platinum jewelry store for about $150 less than it would have cost in the states. And I purchased absolutely gorgeous Italian silk fabric for a dress from the Namzi fabric shop also in the mall. All the clothing stores sell clothes that were too small for my size 14 American frame, even though they were marked "Free Style" (the Brunei term for "one size fits all") or even XXXL.

I bought souvenirs in the 2 story department/housewares store also in the mall adjacent to Rizqun.

An 8 screen cinema and a huge food court are on the top floor of the mall.

Rizqun is at the edge of a shopping district with scores of little shops that sell everything from hardware and housewares to wigs and clothing. There are bunches of restaurants, even a Dairy Queen, a McDonalds and a couple of KFCs. Also, there is a "night market" with huge cauldrons of boiling oil and delicious smells of all kinds of local foods. The night market is right across the street from Rizqun.

This hotel is on a bus line that takes you by several museums and major, beautiful mosques on its way downtown - but know that the buses stop running at 6pm except one last bus back to Rizqun from the downtown terminal at about 6:15pm at the latest.

Rizqun guests are allowed free access to the gym in the sister hotel down the street.

I took lots of pics of our room and will upload them as soon as I update my iPhone.

Be sure to try the tom yum soup and the green curry anything (i.e. chicken or prawns) at the Cheese Box next to the Rizqun. And for a real treat take a 15 minute walk to the tandoor.com restaurant (also on the busline going toward downtown). Wonderfully delicious!

The Rizqun is in a little city of its own. Plenty to see and eat for a week (although no alcohol is available in this country). And on weekends, weddings! Sit in the lobby and watch the beautiful spectacle of families parading through the lobby in matching tailor-made outfits. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highpocketsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
6.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Centrepoint Hotel
The Centrepoint Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizqun International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizqun International Hotel

Property: Rizqun International Hotel
Address: Abdul Razak Complex | Gadong, Bandar Seri Begawan BE3519, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rizqun International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rizqun International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing