We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace Hotel
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

booked the terrace hotel 6 months ahead requested a transfer from the airport they were waiting and no charge friendly staff decent size room the hotel a little worn around the edges but clean this hotel is good value for the price breakfast thrown in which you can take by the pool ten minute walk to the centre dont expect 5 star but an ok place to stay for a couple of nights quiet hotel you can sleep soundly after a long flight

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    40
    39
    9
    14
See reviews for
12
36
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed at Terrace Hotel for five nights in mid December. I had specifically requested a quiet room. The first night was O.K., but the second night I was kept awake until the early morning hours by what appeared to be hookers operating out of the room across the hall from mine. The door on that room would open and close at close intervals, approximately every 5-15 minutes with a good deal of traffic coming and going. There were occasional loud voices and shouts in the hallway. I finally got out of bed and knocked on the door to complain but was rebuffed by the occupants. I went downstairs to the desk and complained to the staff there, suggesting to them that there was illegal activity involved in the room. They apparently phoned to the room, for I eventually was allowed to sleep. The next day I was given a different room on a different floor and had no more difficulties, but I am certain that the Terrace Hotel is involved in some dodgy practices to say the least. Breakfast was toast, butter and jam with one cup of coffee or tea, no refil.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scappoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

Stayed here twice en route to and from Malaysia. The first time, we stayed in a standard room; upon a return six weeks later we were upgraded to a larger room.

Yes, the hotel may appear dated and you will be sorely disappointed if you come expecting 6-star opulence. However, staff were always friendly, the rooms clean and well-maintained and the location is good. It is just a short walk to downtown Bandar Seri Begawan, mosques and Kampong Ayer.

On our first night we ate in the hotel restaurant, and it is here that I was introduced to what has become one of my favourite southeast Asian delights-- popiah (like fresh spring rolls). Great food! As another reviewer has noted, this is the kind of hotel where fellow guests will chat to each other, and one of the gentlemen from our flight indicated that he was served alcohol (in dry Brunei!), although served in a coffee mug for decency's sake. We also had breakfast outside by the pool (fresh and tasty), and once again enjoyed the company of fellow travellers.

When leaving for the airport, we used the hotel's transport service. Inexpensive, safe and reliable.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The rates were very reasonable for the quality offered.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

We only stayed for two nights (and thank god). The room we stayed in was terrible, it smelled like mold all the time, the water had no pressure and the floor of the bathroom was allways wet. The service was almost nonexistent and they hardly gives us any indication. All that for 65 Brunei Dollars a night. Not cheap and we only didn't leave because we've booked online and payed almost half.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Huguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

This hotel is rather dated but reasonably clean with friendly staff. For a discount hotel it is quite good value for money. The plus point is free internet access which is only available in the first floor rooms. A down point is the lack of soap. As I like to bathe with a cake of soap using 'bath gel' as a soap equivalent did not make me feel clean after the bath.

It's situated right at the edge of the 'old' town so it is far from Jerudong Park or the new developments such as Garong. But in Bandar Seri Bagawan, no place is very far away anyway in a taxi or private car.

If you come to the hotel expecting to be pampered in luxurious surroundings you will be disappointed. If you expect an average short stay hotel with enough facilities to get by, for the price you have paid, you will find this hotel very reasonable.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — rather dated look
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I escaped here from KHSoon Guesthouse. It was a nice relief. It was still a budget hotel, but clean. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and eating dinner outside poolside was a nice relief from our busy days of touring. I would recommend it for people on a budget.

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Internet was expensive and slow.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank calaislilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I checked out this hotel when I was staying next door at the Sheraton, the previous month. They showed me around and said they had upgraded my booking to a deluxe room. I returned in May and my first happy surprise was when the transport supervisor at the airport (my booked taxi did not show) rang The Terrace to request their shuttle bus. The hotel manager and the bus appeared in 20 minutes. This was only B$15 (taxis $25) and brought me back 2 days later for $10. This was a friendly hotel where the guests talked to each other and the staff remembered what you ate yesterday. Small but interesting local menu, if you want more sophistication, the Sheraton is just next door. Same convenient location for half the price. My room was smaller than at the Sheraton but still with ensuite and the best shower I had anywhere. The towels and wall coverings were a bit worn but very clean. Breakfast by the sunny pool was delightful but was not included in the tariff.
Just be aware that emails from Brunei do not always get through. I had troubles getting confirmation emails from both this hotel and the Sheraton so I rang up using a phone card. It was well worth the peace of mind as my travel agent a) thought the Sheraton must be booked out and b) did not have The Terrace available from her wholesaler. Try the hotel websites.

  • Liked — Comfortable and relaxing for short stopover
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelgrannySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.5 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Property: Terrace Hotel
Address: Jalan Tasek Lama, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8211, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty air-conditioned guest room. Each with private bathroom, colour TV, hairdryer, electronic safe, kettle, IDD telephone and refrigerator and access free wireless. We are close to the centre of Bandar Seri Begawan. Walking distance to SOAS Mosque, HM Yayasan Complex and Royal Regalia Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing