We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great solid choice in BSB”
Review of Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace Hotel
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great solid choice in BSB”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is an older hotel and a bit shabby. However, my room was clean and fine, nicely furnished, quiet. It was on the small side, but sufficient. Good for the price. Location is great, everything in downtown is an easy walk away and there is a night hawker market across the road which is great if you are arriving after dark. Nice pool area

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    40
    39
    9
    15
See reviews for
12
36
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stuff were rather not friendly nor helpful. They lied to us about the proces of car going to Miri and cheated us (the car was 15 and they,ve charged us 30).
Food was a bit disappointing.. Breakfast is a choice of 4 sets (two European two Asian).
Rooms very very small but clean.

Hotel is located near most of Bandar Seri begawan attractions.
Baby cot was free.
Wifi in lobby only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varsovie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
340 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I had a decent enough room, with plenty of space and good facilities - fridge, iron, safe. But of the 7 hotels I stayed in on my trip around the Malaysia region it was the smallest room with the least comfortable bed. Slightly shabby - there was a hole in the bedspread. But overall perfectly acceptable. The aircon worked well and was very quiet.

It was also the only hotel where breakfast was from a menu, rather than a buffet, so was much more limited, though very nice.

Staff were very friendly and the pool area - where breakfast was served - was pleasant.

There were no shops nearby or in the hotel. The city centre is very close but roads were difficult to cross. If you can get there there is a very cheap food court just across the road. Dinner cost just 2 Brunei dollars.

Room Tip: There is a busy road at the front, but as I had a room at the back i don't know whether this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

stayed here by a suggestion in the airport after deciding to come to brunei for 3 days .
this hotel is basic .....like " motel 6 " in the usa .
the room was clean but old decor .....
the best part of this hotel was the " breakfast " i felt.
they offer an american breakfast as well as an asian one.
eggs, toast , coffee and fruit ....not bad , since you sit outside around there pool for the guests .
i would stay here again but i think going to brunei once in your life is enough.
its a nice clean country but after three days its time to move on .
its a very peaceful country but do not think in the evening you will find lots to do.
the only thing is hanging out at the " coffee and bean " place thats like starbucks.
i'm happy i came because the people are wonderful and you feel so safe , since there is no crime.
the hotel is a great location and walking distance to all the major sights. i enjoyed the walk every night , since its a peaceful one and felt safe at all times.
the staff here are real nice and will help in any way .
i would suggest to stay here. basic and clean .

Room Tip: all the rooms are basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidejagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is probably not the best and most beautiful one I have ever stayed, but it definitely is a good value for money. Our room was quite spacey and definitely very clean and regularly properly cleaned every morning. As we arrived in Brunei after a week trip around Malaysia we had a few dirty clothes to get washed. We really appreciated the laundry service in this hotel which did not hit our budget. There is also a swimming pool outside. The staff was always very nice and helpful and the location is really great, walking distance to the most important places in BSB. The only not so good think was that the aircon was a bit noisy so we preferred to switch it off in the night and there was also some constant noise from outside. Anyway, this will be definitely my accommodation choice in my next visit to BSB.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajomnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is an old hotel first of all. But if comparing to other hotel around, this is one that is near to bus station and at affordable price. It was only 65 Brunei dollar per night. It is near to some tourist attractions and also bus stop that can catch the local bus to tour around. Staff is helpful enough to give the rough direction to different places. It's near to the famous mosque and shopping mall, Yayasan complex.
A good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennychai89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Background/ Duration of stay: Came alone on a work/short vacation trip and stayed for 3 nights in early January 2014.

Room Overview: My room was on the second floor and facing the main road. Has a nice view but be prepared for noise from the road between 7 - 9am. There was, I could only imagine to be refurbishment work on the second floor but it's not a major inconvenience.

Details/ Issues
A (Rooms)
(1) The room has a good size/layout and is overall clean. Bathroom/ Toilet was clean and generally met expectation. However the management may need to look into fixing the taps which was running and the sink which doesn't seem well-attached to the wall.

(2) Kettle didn't look too clean and had more limescale than it should.

(3) The duvet has a strong odour. May be an isolated incident but best to check in all the rooms.

(4) TV comes with CCTV News Channel/ HBO.

(5) Wifi coverage is fine on the second floor but can't be sure of the floors above.

(6) Standard room service and change of towels.

(B) FACILITY
(1) Printing costs about $3 p.p so if possible please do all your printing/ copying before you travel.

(2) Lounge and the adjacent cafe is quiet, clean and nice. Note that on Fridays, the restaurant closes from 12 - 2pm, as with the other eateries outside.

(C) CUSTOMER SERVICE
The reception staff and the ladies at the cafe were very pleasant.

LOCATION/ GETTING AROUND
(1) It's well within walking distance to some of the attractions. My walk (normal pace) to the Jalan Pemancha which was in the central took about 10 - 15 minutes. From there you can walk to Yayasan which is a shopping centre or take a boat ride around the capital. Those who need their daily cuppa will find a Coffee Bean (the local equivalent of Starbucks) opposite the HSBC Building.

(2) There is a food court opposite the hotel, just across the road.

(3) The bus frequency is generally low. I have seen a pair of tourists waiting very long for a bus so if it is urgent, I'd suggest you hire a cab. Not cheap but it will get you to your place quickly.

FINAL REMARK
Generally this hotel met and may even surpassed my personal expectation. I'd come again if I travel to Brunei again.

Room Tip: A room facing the road for a nice view (but take note of the traffic noise in the morning). Preferab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinSKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.7 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#5 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Property: Terrace Hotel
Address: Jalan Tasek Lama, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8211, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty air-conditioned guest room. Each with private bathroom, colour TV, hairdryer, electronic safe, kettle, IDD telephone and refrigerator and access free wireless. We are close to the centre of Bandar Seri Begawan. Walking distance to SOAS Mosque, HM Yayasan Complex and Royal Regalia Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing