We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Functional”
Review of Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace Hotel
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had no bookings in Brunei when I got here but after a not very comfortable taxi ride from Miri, the taxi driver recommended the Terrace Hotel and it looked decent enough from outside. Must say the staff were very polite and helpful and even gave me a small discount.The rate was good...breakfast included. So I cannot complain as I stayed here for just one night. The room was large and comfortable....the A/C worked, running hot water in the taps.... what more could I want.But the hotel is weary and does need an uplift.The breakfast is basic but wont leave you hungry...the pool was delightfully cool and flowers and plants everywhere.Its within walking distance of attractions. Walk to the beautiful mosque..the river with its boat people is almost next door to the mosque..the Royal Musuem....the shopping Mall ...all close to each other.
A one night halt is just about right for this delightful city.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from...besides its usually a one night stay...so just ask for the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We paid extra for deluxe double room. More like a 2 star. Bed very lumpy, old linen, very small room. Traffic noise. Breakfast very basic. Western meals in restaurant not good. Pool OK. Staff very friendly eager to help. Walking distance to attractions. We ate at the hotel as we found no where else close by. We have been away 4 weeks and stay in 3 or 4 star hotels. This was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Cheapest decent hotel in BSB. Had a pleasant one night stay in a delux room, which was clean and tidy. Comfy bed, spotless bathroom and good AC. Staff were friendly and helpful the whole time and the poil was lovely. The only downside is there is no wifi in the room which is a shame. It's reasonably well located with about 50 different places to eat just over the road, and all the other sights in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheese_monkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel was a bit high for our budget, but we're happy to have stayed there anyway. It is comfortable, clean and the staff is very friendly and helped us out on a number of complex issues.
The pool is nice, the rooms are clean and all you can ask for and it's the cheapest in its range. The breakfast is not included and the breakfast on offer was a bit disappointing. But in general highly recommended if it fits your budget and might be worth the splurge if it doesn't.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe room, which was very nice, but costs 10B$ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We like to think of ourselves as budget travelers--not backpackers really. We like to stay in the cheapest private rooms with bathrooms available. Researching budget options in Bandar Seri Begawan was not that easy: There didn't seem to be that much info available online and the only hotels I could find a way to book and could find reviews for seemed super pricey. The $65 Brunei dollars/$50USD (for a standard double room, no breakfast) we paid at the Terrace Hotel is the most we've paid in SE Asia, but it seemed like a good deal compared to some others. (A couple other cheaper options mentioned in Wikitravel and guidebooks either had wrong email addresses listed online or never got back to me when I contacted them.)

While the Terrace Hotel isn't much to look at from the outside--if a Holiday Inn Express and a minimum security prison had a baby, it would look like this hotel--the rooms were comfortable with nice bathrooms and towels.  It was the first room with carpet we had in SE Asia, so the place had the feel of a mid-range U.S. hotel that's a little past its prime, but still very nice. The location of the hotel was great--less than a 10-minute walk to the waterfront. (However, there were no convenience stores immediately nearby to buy things like water, so we made sure to stock up while we were out.) The pool area was nice--wi-fi signal was weak outside--just FYI.

We did not eat at the restaurant. Breakfast ($7BND/person) was not included in our room, so we went across the street to the food stalls and found breakfast for much cheaper at stall #9&10. For two plates of fried rice, coffee, and tea it was $6BND total for both of us. (These food stalls are primarily open for dinner which is nice, but #9&10 down at the end is open at breakfast and lunch--Their mango fish is delicious--a generous plate of it, rice, and vegetables is only $1BND! We had two helpings each and were stuffed!)

Overall, we would recommend the Terrace Hotel. They also do airport pick-up ($15BND total for two people) which I believe is cheaper than a taxi. A word of advice--visit the BSB city sites on your own if possible--the tour we went on was not worth the $55BND/each price tag.

Room Tip: If you want a good wi-fi signal, just let them know and they should put you in an appropriate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had a one night stay at the Terrace Hotel, pick up on time and quickly got us to the hotel which is on the edge of the town centre. A really good price and well worth it as there was only a few taxi's about and people where waiting quiet some time it would seem.
Easy Check in and up to room 114, a Delux room on the first floor facing the back of the hotel.
Small but clean room and bathroom, would not liked to have stayed in a standard room though. As we only paid $75Brunei for the room so basicly we got what we paid for.
Pool area was fine and the pool was clean and quiet warm.
The downside to all this was that there was no food or drinks on offer as they food area was closed for refurbishment but they did not bother to tell us!
Close to the town centre, mossque's and the water village, $1 bus into town, but they stop running at 7pm.
Food market oposite was above expectations, clean, cheap and very good good from several of the stalls we tried, I would say a much visit if you stayed at this hotel.
The whole hotel could do with a really good spring clean, new windows, a lick of paint and get the restaurant up and running, to have no drinks at all is not great.
All in all if you looking to save a little or are on a one night stop over I would say then this is OK for the money. If you stay any longer then or like us are getting on a little and do not want to walk to far then I would surgest looking to go a little further closer to the centre and spend a few more $$'s

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

shame only there for 1 night. nice rooms and close to main street. cool pool. but charge to use gym. dinner in restaurant was average. but overall good experience.

Room Tip: pool side facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.5 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,156 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Address: Jalan Tasek Lama, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8211, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $61 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty air-conditioned guest room. Each with private bathroom, colour TV, hairdryer, electronic safe, kettle, IDD telephone and refrigerator and access free wireless. We are close to the centre of Bandar Seri Begawan. Walking distance to SOAS Mosque, HM Yayasan Complex and Royal Regalia Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing