We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Jubilee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jubilee Hotel
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Jubilee Hotel is a typical budget hotel. It appears to be a little old, but the rooms are comfortable enough and I had a good nights sleep. The hotel is in need of some renovations, and I hope they get around to doing that soon. The room price (BND 85) includes breakfast and a 45 minute tour of the city. 45 minutes may not sound much, but there is very little to see in Brunei, so that's all it takes to visit most of the main sights.

The main thing that struck me about the hotel was the staff. Everybody went out of their way to be extremely friendly and helpful. Even though I arrived at 2am in the morning the person on the front desk was bright and cheerful and dealt with everything very efficiently. The next morning I needed to do some shopping and the girl at reception gave me a map with the direction I needed to go marked on it. I misread the map and turned the wrong way after leaving the hotel. The staff must have seen my mistake and the concierge came running up the road after me before I went too far in the wrong direction.

I checked out of the hotel later that morning as I was going to Labuan for a couple of days. As I was passing through Brunei on my return the staff at the Jubilee Hotel were kind enough to let me store my bags for a few hours while I waited for my flight out of the country, and they even let me use the hotel airport pick-up service to take me to the airport.

In 35 years of travelling I have never experienced a hotel where the staff have been so helpful. It's it worth staying at the Jubilee for this alone and I would highly recommend them. Thanks to everyone there, especially Nomi on the front desk.

There's a 24-hour cafe about 10 minutes walk from the hotel called De Royalle Café. Its a little expensive but useful when you need a late night snack and everything else is closed. You can sit at tables outside, or inside in the air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_in_Makati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Jubilee Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is convenient for walking around the city center and visiting a marketplace, floating villages, and some other interesting sights. It's reasonably priced for the city; other places I considered were farther away from the city center, including the bus stand for buses to Miri, Malaysia. The room price includes breakfast and a free 45-minute introductory city tour by van.
The room was clean and comfortable and I ended up staying more than a week, but the wi fi was erratic.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They can arrange taxis to the distant main shopping plaza (which is next to a good night food market), but taxis are costly, because there are so few of them. I used local buses as well, but they aren't as frequent or convenient, especially at night.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Located in the city center of BSB, the museum, the mosque, and bus station are all within walking distance. Not a lot of people walk around though, as everyone seem to have their own cars.

Hotel has that old, charming feel to it. Staff at the reception and the restaurant were nice and friendly. Room was spacious, cable TV was limited - only one English channel. The free breakfast served at the restaurant barely had taste. Best feature has to be the free shuttle to the airport.

Considering the high prices of staying in a city like BSB, this hotel does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel does not offer fancy stuff, the rooms are not very large and the view from the window is not great. But you don’t have to pay for that either.

What this hotel does offer instead:
-A very high level of service
-A supermarket attached, open till late
-Free pick-up from the airport
-Free drop-off to the airport
-Wifi
-Early check-in without extra cost
-A location on (a short) walking distance from the center the city
-Quite and clean rooms
-Good working air-conditioning

Because we left the early in the morning for a tour we did get our breakfast as a packet. This breakfast was better than the one we did get the next day, the only minus of this hotel.

The price for the room was B$85 (53euro) en-suite a night. We did make a reservation by mail without down payment . GPS: 4.891324 / 114.94534

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you're looking for good, impeccably clean, and reasonably priced accommodation in BSB, then look no further than Jubilee hotel.

Okay, the hotel rooms haven't been renovated for some years and the furnishings may have seen better days, but for the price ($85 Brunei) it's the best value in the city. The staff are amazingly friendly, they really cannot do enough to help, a good sized breakfast is included in the rate, as are free airport transfers and a welcome city tour which was brilliant. There is a small restaurant in the hotel along with a handy convenience shop.

Ignore the reviews that suggest the Jubilee is on an industrial estate outside of the centre. BSB is pocket sized and it's only a 5 minute stroll to the Brunei river and floating villages or the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin mosque.

We can highly recommend taking a boat out for an hour ($30), but ask to split the time between the floating villages and taking a trip down river to see the proboscis monkeys, truly amazing to see an endangered species in the wild. Good value food can be found at the eateries on the water front ( turn left out the hotel, after 100m at the main road turn left, carry on to the river), where you can watch the sun set over the river and fill your belly for just a few Brunei dollars.

Although the Jubilee isn't the most luxurious of hotels, the staff bend over backwards to make you feel special and that is worth much more than a lick of paint. A very worthwhile visit for a couple of nights whilst in Borneo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

As others have said, this place is in need of an update. Furniture is beat up and comforter has cigarette holes. The location is great; you can walk to many sights easily (if you can handle the heat). Staff was incredibly helpful. There was a promotion during our stay for free airport transport, free city tour, and check out at 1pm. Free breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you're a backpacker on a budget and you can get a really good deal, go for it. Otherwise, stay away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieinAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.4 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
181 reviews
3.5 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#11 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jubilee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Hotel

Address: Jubilee Plaza | Jalan Kampung Kianggeh, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8111, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $36 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jubilee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jubilee Hotel is a budget commercial hotel located in the city centre and central business district. It is also walking distance away to some of the most exhilarating tourist attraction in Brunei. We are offering the cheapest rates in the heart of the city, Bandar Seri Begawan. All our room rates are inclusive of complimentary breakfast, airport-hotel-airport transfer, early check-in time at 6am and extended check-out time till 4pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jubilee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jubilee Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing