We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel as it should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jubilee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jubilee Hotel
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A hotel as it should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel does not offer fancy stuff, the rooms are not very large and the view from the window is not great. But you don’t have to pay for that either.

What this hotel does offer instead:
-A very high level of service
-A supermarket attached, open till late
-Free pick-up from the airport
-Free drop-off to the airport
-Wifi
-Early check-in without extra cost
-A location on (a short) walking distance from the center the city
-Quite and clean rooms
-Good working air-conditioning

Because we left the early in the morning for a tour we did get our breakfast as a packet. This breakfast was better than the one we did get the next day, the only minus of this hotel.

The price for the room was B$85 (53euro) en-suite a night. We did make a reservation by mail without down payment . GPS: 4.891324 / 114.94534

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    88
    69
    13
    9
See reviews for
24
54
68
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you're looking for good, impeccably clean, and reasonably priced accommodation in BSB, then look no further than Jubilee hotel.

Okay, the hotel rooms haven't been renovated for some years and the furnishings may have seen better days, but for the price ($85 Brunei) it's the best value in the city. The staff are amazingly friendly, they really cannot do enough to help, a good sized breakfast is included in the rate, as are free airport transfers and a welcome city tour which was brilliant. There is a small restaurant in the hotel along with a handy convenience shop.

Ignore the reviews that suggest the Jubilee is on an industrial estate outside of the centre. BSB is pocket sized and it's only a 5 minute stroll to the Brunei river and floating villages or the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin mosque.

We can highly recommend taking a boat out for an hour ($30), but ask to split the time between the floating villages and taking a trip down river to see the proboscis monkeys, truly amazing to see an endangered species in the wild. Good value food can be found at the eateries on the water front ( turn left out the hotel, after 100m at the main road turn left, carry on to the river), where you can watch the sun set over the river and fill your belly for just a few Brunei dollars.

Although the Jubilee isn't the most luxurious of hotels, the staff bend over backwards to make you feel special and that is worth much more than a lick of paint. A very worthwhile visit for a couple of nights whilst in Borneo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

As others have said, this place is in need of an update. Furniture is beat up and comforter has cigarette holes. The location is great; you can walk to many sights easily (if you can handle the heat). Staff was incredibly helpful. There was a promotion during our stay for free airport transport, free city tour, and check out at 1pm. Free breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you're a backpacker on a budget and you can get a really good deal, go for it. Otherwise, stay away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is quite small and a little old. The room was very clean and the bathroom was also very clean, however, everything is quite old-looking. I think this is a good place for someone who really wants to experience a real south-east asian hotel, rather than stay in somewhere more western. Our room had a view of a field and a small forest. We could see local houses (with corrugated iron roofs and lots of coconut and banana trees). In the morning, we were woken up by the roosters calling in the morning - which is just beautiful. The service here is also great and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast was also quite delicious. This hotel has free shuttle bus service to the airport which was extremely useful. One thing here, though: you're not allowed to cook in their rooms, so there's not even a kettle in there to boil water. But there's a little convenient store in the hotel which sells bottled water, and the hotel staff are happy to boil some water for you if you need to make some instant noodles!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Budget mid-range option for BSB, which has notoriously high lodging prices (in comparison to the rest of Borneo). Weighed staying here and a newer place farther out from the city center, and I'm glad I chose the Jubilee. First off, the hotel's style could best be described as "dated": tired, homely furnishings and appliances that are not chic or even modern (the old, square TV didn't even have a remote).

However, everything works (despite their looks), often better than brand new "boutique" hotels that cost many times the price: the aircon stays on when you leave the room without needing a card, the shower is hot with good pressure, and the refrigerator actually kept ice from melting in the main compartment. Additionally, the place may be a bit of an eyesore, but it is spotlessly clean. Add in the fact that it is located in as central a location as you can get in BSB (not a walking-friendly town) - the Morning Market, Kampong Ayer, and Saifuddien Mosque - and you have a good choice in budget/mid-range accommodation. There is a mini-market on the premises, as well as a Thai restaurant.

Also, the hotel offers free airport transfers (or transfers to whatever mode of transport you are using - bus station, etc.), as well as a free city tour. Finally, the service from the front desk was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again on business or traveling. Good value for money: paid USD $67 all-in on Agoda.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I got an on-time, good English speaking driver pick me up from the airport. This is very good since the taxi fare in Brunei is a bit expensive. When I arrived in the hotel, I get to check-in right away. The hallways and the room looks a bit creepy and old (probably because of the lights and fixtures). The room is not that big but comfortable enough for an overnight stay. It has TV with few and repating channels, good airconditioning and clean bathroom.

The staff helped me get cheaper city tour by getting a local to tour me around the city. I was travelling alone and there's not a lot of tour operators around that's why this is very helpful.

The location of the hotel is near to city landmarks and main bus station. They packed my breakfest for me since I will be leaving early in my last day. Overall, I'm satisfied with service I got from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.4 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#10 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jubilee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Hotel

Property: Jubilee Hotel
Address: Jubilee Plaza | Jalan Kampung Kianggeh, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8111, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jubilee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jubilee Hotel is a budget commercial hotel located in the city centre and central business district. It is also walking distance away to some of the most exhilarating tourist attraction in Brunei. We are offering the cheapest rates in the heart of the city, Bandar Seri Begawan. All our room rates are inclusive of complimentary breakfast, airport-hotel-airport transfer, early check-in time at 6am and extended check-out time till 4pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Jubilee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jubilee Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing