We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely disgraceful..couldn't wait to leave!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K.H. Soon Resthouse
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgraceful..couldn't wait to leave!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

First, if you are thinking of staying here.. DON'T. Stay at the Brunei Hotel which is right across the street. It's only $10 more and it's not a disgusting hole.

This was the worst place I have ever stayed at. The rooms were disgusting. We stayed in a twin share private room with attached bathroom The beds were covered in hair..the white walls had dirty foot prints and things on them. The bathroom was a joke. The toilet didn't have a seat and the shower was above the toilet, so you had to stand over the toilet to use the shower. The toilet smelled disgusting as well. The bathroom was basically a tin shack inside the room that had a piece of wood as the roof.

The positives of this place (if there are any..) the staff was friendly enouogh and the air conditioning was functioning. It's location is central as well, but BSB is so small it would be kind of impossible for it to not be central.

Do yourself a favour and do not stay here. Go to the Brunei Hotel across the street.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abeilleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    28
    27
    15
See reviews for
1
28
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

Why?
- Rooms are depressing
- Beds dirty (hairs etc)
- Noisy from the street
- Leakage from toilet
- Prostitutes around the entrance and our friend saw prostitutes with costumers using the hotel...

Find another place, or pay some extra dollars to get a proper hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

It looks like a "love motel" that was converted to a hostel by the owner. The bathroom was weird because it looked like it was added in the room and has it's own ceiling. To our disappointment, we learned that the hotel opposite the building just charges 3 or 5 dollars more. too late

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Bathroom like a box inside the room. Windows are broken. And looks like it hasnt been cleaned properly. Close to a lot of places worth seeing in Bandar. Near Bus station.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the K.H. Soon Resthouse in August of 2008 for three nights. Let me start be saying that the staff and the owner are fantastic. They were very helpful and the owner even gave us bottles of cold water on two occasions.

The room was large and had a strange setup for the bathroom. It was kind of like a box inside the room. The shower was typical asian meaning that the bathroom is the shower. No mirror in our bathroom. Unfortunately, the rooms are not serviced daily.
The room was reasonably clean and no foul odors or pests were discovered. The aircon worked resonably well.

It has a great location within walking distance of the few attractions that the city has to offer.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank southbound1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I went to this guesthouse after seeing the decent reviews online and wanting to save some money. I have been to hostels before and this one was awful. I reserved a double room. It was big, but there were ants everywhere. The atmosphere was depressing. The bathroom was a metal box built into the room. There was no separate shower, the hose was over the sink and would have gotten water everywhere. The shared bathrooms were squat toilets and dirty looking. I paid $40 BND for the double. It was so bad, I left the same day to the Terrace Hotel, where we paid $65BND for a double through a travel agent. The extra money was well worth it for a MUCH better atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It wasn't clean.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank calaislilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

I went there based on the reviews on tripadvisor, but didn't like it at all. It wasn't clean at all, the toilet worked the other way around (!?), walls and floors, it was all dirty! People were friendly, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celinejansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.6 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#13 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.7 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#16 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K.H. Soon Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K.H. Soon Resthouse

Property: K.H. Soon Resthouse
Address: Kiau Lian Building | 140 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
k.h. Soon Resthouse Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing