We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great river city of Brunei”

Kampong Ayer - Venice of East
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Technically part of the Bruneian capital of Bandar Seri Begawan, Kampong Ayer has more than enough uniqueness and history about it to be considered separately. Meaning “water village”, Kampong Ayer is built on stilts above the Brunei river. More than 30,000 people inhabit Kampong Ayer, the largest water settlement in Southeast Asia, and travel about by boat or the extensive network of wooden walkways, footbridges, and boardwalks. Kampong Ayer’s 4,200 structures include homes, mosques, restaurants, shops, schools, and a even a hospital. People have been living here for more than 1,300 year. Many of the traditional lifestyles of its inhabitants; fishermen, traders, and artisans; have remained unchanged. Visitors can experience this heritage by taking one of the many water taxis in front of the Yayasan Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah in Bandar Seri Begawan.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great river city of Brunei”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A really interesting look at how some Bruneians live. It is a village built on stilts in the water and is virtually run as a small city in its own right housing some 20,000 residents. Definitely worth a visit. This was included in our half day tour and we were taken into a local house which was interesting. You can take a water taxi on your own around the village also. Definitely recommend seeing this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank greyhound804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    254
    98
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VENICE OF THE WORLD!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

long before it just lame Venice for me.. sorry but this year, the new housing look so cool!!! even have a lot of activity started 6th January!!! thanks god i visit it for 2 weeks! gonna enjoy my Soto and Nasi Katok!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HyungJun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A nice experience visiting the capital of Brunei”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A boat trip around the Water Village in Brunei's capital is a very nice experience. We hired a boat (after some bargaining - 30-40 Brunei dollars seem to be a fair price) for an hour or so. Boat had shade and they offered life saving west as well (after we asked!). First we went up the Brunei river and had a nice look towards a mosque and the big castle of the Sultan, which was hiding between the trees. The guide took us further up the river to show us some wild animals. We were very lucky and saw a crocodile as well as a snake!!!
Then we went back and came after 10-15 min. to the Water village, which is home to some 30-40.000 people (15% of the city's population and almost 10% of the countries population!). The friendly guide told us enthusiastic of the village, where he grow up himself. The buildings are constructed on stilts above the Brunei River and have dozen of schools. The trip gave a good impression of what it would mean living there. A must do visiting the capital I would say!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“It's big for a water village”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Plenty of houses on stilts but your river taxi guide (who probably lives in the village) can show you old and new buildings, schools, fire and police stations, mosques and restaurants. It's also good to see the modern capital from the water. For value for money get it included with a trip up the river to see the proboscis monkeys (around $50 for the two tours and about 2 hours).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsb
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must-go place if you're in Brunei”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Biggest water village in the world.. need I say more? Its easy to get a boat for a relaxing river cruise, a visit to a local residence and maybe if you are lucky, you may even see the proboscis monkey up close! The experience is truly unique and can only be experienced in brunei.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vtshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampong Ayer - Venice of East also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Kampong Ayer - Venice of East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing