We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchid Garden Hotel
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Reasonable Business Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with high expectations, as many heads of stated made this hotel there pit stop during high level conferences. The hotel is functionally ok but I struggled with power supply, adapters and internet service which, in today's day and age, is unforgivable for a top business hotel. The business center was there fortunately to help - staff is general were helpful. This place good use an upgrade, especially the beds are form the last generation and are not as comfortable as what you would expect for that price. Overall I would rate this average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
22
30
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at the hotel. The bellboy picked us up from the airport and they were easy to spot with their uniform. At check-in, the girls were lovely and pleasant, even when its already past midnight. The room was clean and spacious. However, there can be more lighting in the room.

After our buffet breakfast, we managed to book the free shuttle to head to town. The shuttle does not run that often and you have to pre-book to ensure you get a seat on the bus and you have to plan your day in advance, which seemed quite troublesome because we wanted to go to the other mall, but only decided at the last minute. So we didnt end up going. If you want to do day tours, you have to book at least the day before too, which was not suitable for us as we only arrived after midnight. I think this is because they use a third-party company to organise such tours.

Breakfast was excellent. There was a wide range of variety available, which included local and western dishes.

Check-out was easy and quick. We would definitely stay here again the next time we're in Brunei.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikeSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Orchid Garden Hotel looks pretty decent from the outside. However, once you are inside, you will understand what I mean. The room was dim, toilet looked old, lift was small. The only good thing is the wifi - it is available everywhere from lobby to the room.

The food was below standard I thought. We ordered a nasi lemak and a lamb chop. The nasi lemak was dry and cold. The lamb chop was too hard even though we asked for medium rare. Service was ok but could almost feel the service staff dragging their feet!

After having said all that, though, I was thankful for them being able to find me a room for that one night stay (because of some mistake in reservation) otherwise I might have panicked and not know where to go for that first night in Brunei! Staff at the reception was hospitable and as accommodating as they could!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contented13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Friends of ours and my wife had an unforced layover in Brunei due to Royal Brunei Airlines re-scheduling without enough advanced warning so they allowed us an 11 hour stopover in BSB and they put us up at the Orchid Gardens.

When we arrived there eventually after the pre-organised transport from the hotel was late-late that put us behind even further as we had originally planned to play golf at the Empire Country Club had to be cancelled as the hotel informed us we could only have the rooms till 4pm which meant to tight a schedule so golf was cancelled then they informed us we could have the rooms till 5-30pm which I said to late we have cancelled golf and inconvenienced us to which they then altered our checkout till 6pm?????? So all in all not good at organisational skills.

On the hotel and room side of it well umm! the room totally stank of very stale smoke and needed to be aired for a year. Plus the hotel in general needs a huge makeover to bring it into the 21st century. The only thing that made it worth staying there was the bar that opened at 4pm for ex-pats and genuine tourists... a drinking haven in a tired hotel........

All in all would only stay there again if the Empire Club was totally booked out.....would seriously look at the Raddison next trip.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room is don't book one there....try the Empire
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is quite spacious, clean and staff are friendly.
It is very close to the airport but about a 20 minute drive to Bandar Seri Begawan. The hotel offers a free shuttle into town and from there you can see the highlights.
Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant serves excellent food for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjklions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good modern hotel, grand entrance good comfortable rooms with TV and Wi Fi. Pleasant helpful staff, reasonable food. Small first floor pool with 4 sun chairs!
Beware of;
The state of the art room controls... switching on lights and aircon has never been so difficult!
The hotel and country is dry so bring in some duty free if you like a tipple!
Hotel needs re-carpeting which appears to have been started.
Other than that.. a great stopover to crash after an exhausting week and a 20 hour flight to come.
5 minutes to the airport and complimentary bus to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our transit hotel. The entrance is grand but the hotel is slightly dated and in serious need of revamp. Room was clean and spacious. It has a confusing control panel to control all their electrics including a magic button that will kill power to the room. Suggest you do not fiddle with it as my bf discovered.

There are 2 restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast is good with selection of both western and asian with a good variety of sweet pastry. Polite and friendly staff ever willing to help out.

The hotel is not centrally located. It’s close to the airport (good if you are transiting), but if you want to explore the city then need some sort of transport. We had to take a taxi to town for B$15. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from hotel. It wasn’t easy getting back from town, as it was rather difficult getting a taxi. The taxi driver told us later that there are only 45 taxis in Brunei. Suggest taking the driver’s card if you are taking a taxi.

Won’t stay here again mainly due to the distance away from city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am_gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
3.0 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Times Hotel
Times Hotel
#15 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Hotel

Property: Orchid Garden Hotel
Address: Simpang 9 Kg Anggerek Desa Lot 31954 | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB3713, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 147 business class hotel, strategically located between the Brunei International Airport, the International Convention Centre and the Government Offices. Being closest hotel to the RBA Golf Club, it is also an ideal place to stay for a short golf vacation. With the full fledge Amanha Spa, guests can relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orchid Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing