We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best location, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything is walking distance, including the bus station, so from airport we just took a bus and walked for 2-3 blocks to the hotel. We arranged for a boat ride and we just have to cross the street. The receptionist is friendly and gave us tips where to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wAnderfOol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    179
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
98
66
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great service. Very friendly. Asked to change room and this was no problem. Asked for iron and this was no problem. Front desk also helped with local tips for eating etc.

Location. Central, near waterfront, near money changers, near market, near shops. Great. Restaurants nearby too.

Breakfast. OK - clean, not busy but a slightly limited range. Still, it was fine. International travelers might find it a little limited but is acceptable for a business trip.

Wifi nearly everywhere and free - signal strong enough for me to contact with family back home etc.

There was a function on 4th floor on until late Saturday night - kids from the function rang my door bell and ran away (but the staff quickly stopped them) and the music was v loud which made it difficult to sleep. If this is common, I suggest checking with the management and not choosing a third floor room. It's a business trip and I had to work on The following day....

Overall feel is boutique, friendly, modern, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 210 was gloomy, dark and felt claustrophobic. Room 319 twin was bright and had a good view. Wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a charming hotel located just a few blocks from the main mosque on one side, and the river on the other. The staff was friendly and helpful, and made my stay very enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, and equipped with all the usual amenities, including free WiFi. There's a rooftop lounge, from where you can get good views of the surrounding area, including the local outdoor market just across the street. I was hoping there might be a gym, but since it's a fairly small hotel, they didn't have one. The included breakfast is good, and has a decent variety of western and local food. Since it's located in the heart of the city, it can be a bit noisy at night, but I didn't find this to be disturbing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booking here for 4 nights because of it location.But after 2 days it seem to be same breakfast and not too many choice.I had traveling around Brunei by AVIS car rental and keep key with reception who promise to take car our car.But in the morning he did not move the car to hotel parking area ,that make me paid for parking ticket (not much - 1 Brunei dollar /but make me fell un happy for promise) Room on first floor is very small and house keeping forgotten to close window after ckean the room - Came back at night, it make me frighten from lost my gear and mosquito come in side.
Staff are friendly but need to be more active especially night shift.

Room Tip: They have ground floor for reception.And then first floor that very narrow room and not good for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charoonsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Great service from staff - excellent breakfast. Rooms large and clean. Across the road from Tamu Kianggeh market. City centre is quiet with not a lot to do but we recommend a boat trip to the water village and monkey island.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyandsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Chose this hotel based on a friend's recommendation. Wasn't disappointed. Stayed Dec26-29 2012. It's located in the heart of town. The museums and mosques almost everything's a walking distance away. The staff is great and helpful. Like the whole city the hotel is quiet and peaceful. Just enjoy life at its simplest.

Room Tip: You may stay want to stay on the lower floors especially if there's an event upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Brunei hotel is centrally located near the mosque and the water village and hence an ideal base to explore BSB.
This is an important aspect of the hotel as in BSB public transport is not widely available and The Brunei hotel is within walking distance of both the Mosque, the Water Village taxi boat docks and a local shopping centre.
The hotel itself has been renovated smartly in a modern decor. The check in went smoothly and the staff were helpful with queries we had about the local area. We were accommodated on a high floor as requested and the rooms although slightly smaller were decorated nicely with modern accents and outfitted with a mini fridge, air conditioning and a TV.
The bathroom was again modern and stylish and housekeeping had done a good job with keeping everything clean. Our view was overlooking the adjacent street and the local markets (which are an interesting walk in the morning)
Breakfast was included each morning and was served downstairs in the hotel's restaurant. There was a wide variety of foods on offer, and they catered for both western and asian tastes. Quality of the food was acceptable without being outstanding, and during peak breakfast times it can be a little difficult to secure seating.
If you have a rental vehicle the hotel has 4 parking spaces at the front of the hote and these are allocated on a first come first served basis. There is street parking available in the same street but depending on the time of the day it can be difficult to find a free space.
There are convenience stores within walking distance however please note that this is Brunei and everything closes by early evening. A japanese restaurant within walking distance near the water village docks is a recommended option if one is looking for some sustenance after a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Property: The Brunei Hotel
Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing