We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly and Polite staff”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room was clean, firm comfortable bed with basic finishes that reminded me of ikea furniture not the best but practically and functionally. The room had free wifi, in room safe and some pay TV channels. It has been finished in typically asia style, with things just requiring a little more attention to detail to add the cherry in top factor.
There is a roof deck, karaoke room and lounge/bar area upstairs which would be perfect outside of a fully halal, dry country. 

"Choices" restaurant, has a good variety on the menu, but again has the typically asian service, with plates not cleared when walking pass, drinks ordered but not arriving, waiting an excessive time for a simple request for chilli or advising you that your meal will not be quite how it is described. The food however for lunch and dinner had taste and loads of it and was reasonable priced.They need to ensure the service provided matches the meals produced.

I booked both the room and airport transfer via email with very little trouble. We then later added a return airport transfer which when time came to depart the van was not on site. After not so much information from the staff we ended up can getting a refund and going by taxi just as the van pulled up.
They do offer a free shuttle service down to The Mall twice a day (which is great as I only saw three taxis in 4 days) they were very flexible with where we wanted to be dropped off along the way.
All staff throughout the hotel were super friendly and polite and not in a fake way.
Hotel in great location for the Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque, Kg Kianggeh Open Air Market and Kampong Ayer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 377 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not a lot of great choices in Bandar Seri Begawan, and this one is likely as good as it gets. The location is phenomenal, and the hotel is very stylishly appointed. Breakfast is first-rate. The rooms are small and nothing but functional, but clean and just fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Will never stay again to this hotel. Very expensive and very noisy at night. You can hear people outside and even videoke. I can only see that this hotel is good in terms of accessibility around the area. Been there only one night and never want to come back again. Upon check out they tried to charge me additional BND 90 for an extra bed i didnt even know and requested. I should have pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ashcherry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is a nothing fancy about the Hotel and you would expect a gym, however that said it's great value, well presented and very clean. Service is friendly and professional - recommended for a fuss free experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAKETHEL0NGWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Recently stayed for one night at the Brunei Hotel, primarily because the Empire was fully booked. Rooms are very clean and set out in a modern style. Bathrooms are OK but very small. Staff quite friendly and helpful. For the price we paid I would say it was good value with the only drawback being the noise which hits you from 3 angles: 1) quite thin walls where you can hear your neighbours; 2) road noise from cars and motorbikes; and 3) on the night I was there a thumping disco that didn't eventually stop till 3am. Maybe I was unlucky on the third point but, as I was travelling on business, it really wasn't conducive to getting a good night's sleep and so next time I will probably be heading back to the Empire (even though its more expensive and has its own issues) for some peace and quiet.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank RDH1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated near the centre of the city, where you can find stunningly beautiful buildings. It is a modern, boutique hotel, which is clean, comfortable and efficiently run. The wifi in my room worked wonderfully on both devices. The people at Reception were extremely helpful and very enthusiastic about their city and country. Having visited the city, the fascinating Water Village and the incredibly beautiful rainforest in the Ulu Temburong National Park, I can see why. My 2 days in Brunei will stay with me as a fulfilling, exciting and rewarding experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you have to stay in BSB then this is probably the best option. The walls are not that thick so we could hear our neighbours quite clearly. The bathrooms are small and the bed was not comfortable. We didn't have an option to move however because the hotel was busy and the first room they had given us was not up to par. The staff are hit and miss. Sometimes we were given the wrong information or the wrong pricing but other times they were quite helpful. The recent renovations are good, the location is convenient (albeit there is nothing to do in BSB) and the breakfast is tasty and substantial.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
301 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $73 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing