We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 night and we liked it. It is a no nonsense hotel. It is recently renovated, the room was clean, big and nice. The breakfast was acceptable. It was not a huge choice but enough for us. There is a Cook cooking omelette which is my wife's favourite. The location is great, walking distance to all the important sites and our favourite Japanese Kaizen Sushi restaurant. If you are looking or 5 stars, this hotel is not for you but if you are looking for great value and good location, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    183
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
99
68
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Modern and new rooms with good service and location. We stayed only one night but saw everything in the city and also visited the Ulu Temurong national park. In BSB there is not much to see so the city can easily be walked around in just a few hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoonasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed two nights in this hotel in December'12. Arrived at the airport and asked for a hotel pick-up, which cost me 30 BND billed directly to the room (on the way back to the airport, hotel called me a taxi, which cost 25 BND). They have complimentary sodas (Pepsi and 7Up), some crackers and bottle of water daily, which is very nice. They also have a good internet connection, enough to use Skype to call home. Breakfast is good and included in the price. You can walk to many of the attractions and shopping malls. My only complain is also regarding the water temperature in the shower, which oscillated from scalding to cold without reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fribourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is by far better than the other hotels in Brunei. It's a small city, so the hotel's location works quite well. You could see a lot of local officials coming and having business meetings here, so I think the hotel has a strong reputation.
The rooms "look" modern, I was a bit disappointed with the service though. They gave us a twin room instead of a double, since the hotel was fully booked. The decor is sober and quite dark to give it a modern look. Flat TV and free water. The staff helped us with some tips and advise. The breakfast was delicious, lots of variety to choose from, certainly worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sre_jbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In Brunei, you basically have 3 options: The Imperial, if you are looking for the top place, the Radisson, which is good benefit/cost ratio and the Brunei hotel in case the other 2 are fully booked :P
I arrived and the internet was not working. I called the reception and asked them to fix it. We went to dinner and when I we returned there were many people complaining about the internet and the lady at the reception said there was nothing to do but wait until the morning. I find this totally unacceptable.
The rooms are as basic as the next Formula1, below Ibis and Mercure.
They say minibar consumption in free but there are 2 cokes and 2 single serve packs of crackers inside...
My advice is: just stay in this hotel as a last resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Brunei Hotel underwent an extensive makeover last year and transformed into a boutique hotel.

Being a landmark, and out of curiosity, we decided to check-in for a staycation and experience the new Brunei Hotel.

Upon arrival, one feels the spaciousness and modern decor of the lobby and reception area. Check-in was a breeze, and concierge took care of the car parking right in front of the hotel.

The room feels fresh and clean, no carpets, instead laminated flooring. Toilets spotless. Mini fridge stocked with complimentary welcome snacks and soft drinks. New mattresses and furnishings!

Dining area has been relocated along the river, giving a view of goings-on without the street noise and smells. Service staff friendly, and wide choice of local and international menu at reasonable prices.

Room rates has been increased, but this is justified by the transformation to a boutique hotel and fresh look and feel.

Definitely recommend Brunei Hotel to visiting family and friends, and those on business visits due central location and reasonable rates.

A special feature of Brunei Hotel is Room 101 which is reserved for customers with special needs. Room is located next to lift, and has wider door and more space for easier movement for those using wheelchairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zainin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had a pleasant stay at the Brunei hotel, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is entirely black and I found it lacked light, not to my taste but ok to use. I was nicely surprised with the quality of the food. Good location too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#5 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Property: The Brunei Hotel
Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing