We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, centrally located”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel has clearly been recently refurbished from top to bottom. Service impecaable. Complimentary breakfast was great, omelette made for me on the spot. Close to the markets and the river if you fancy catching a boat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielwaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 375 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions whilst working in Brunei this year I have to say it was exceptionally clean with the bedrooms bright and spacious with well above average bathroom facilities. Free wifi is always welcome for travellers especially as you cant sit in a bar and sip an ice cold beer !! overall i would reccomend this hotel, not as good as the Radisson up the road but nothing like the price ..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cov54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is a very convenient hotel in the downtown. A lot of places could be reached by feet (5~10 minutes) or by the water-motor if you like. :-). If you want to go farther, the bus station is just one block away. Then if you want to see more locals, it is the center for your stop.

For the room, which is clean but small, esp. the toilet with bath. But for a traveler, it is pretty enough for the night and re-cover yourself. Meanwhile, by Saturday night, it usually will be a music party (10B$/person). Local youth plays music, actually, they are pretty good. But if you just want to sleep, which will be too noise for you if your room is in 1st or 2nd floor. 3rd floor will be much quieter.

I shall show my sincere appreciation to the staff of hotel.
We applied the72 hours transit visa which really time cost for all 17 persons. The flight was delayed and landed close to 21:00. Visa cost us ~1.5 hours. I once asked air-port pick-up from hotel. The staff who can not see us from outside patiently waited outside. As well, the customs staff also kindly help to inform him about our progress. Anyway, the guy waited a long time, and no any excuse, who also helped the ladies to carry the luggage.

Only for this pick-up, we'd rather mark the hotel with highest score. We experienced it, we want to say "THANKS!" despite there are already a lot words to appraise the staffs from other comments.

Again, the staffs make more on the hotel.

Room Tip: wifi is only availabe in the ground floor, some room in the 1st floor close to lobby has un-stable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddiemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is excellently located as it is a stone throw away to anything in BSB like the Jalan Cator bus station, Yayasan Mall, Kampong Ayer, Royal Regalia Museum, restaurants etc.
I love their newly renovated rooms and a number of their staff are Filipinos so I had a good time chatting with them and we were treated like VIPs. Room rates come with complimentary breakfast and it is like any other 3-star hotels I've been to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kegler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Choose this hotel as it was centrally located .Hotel didnt disappoint and is modern and clean.Its near the mosque , shopping centre and local market. I booked a delux room but apart from a few cans of complimentry soft drinks in the fridge it didnt seem delux.But there again the hotel doesnt advertise itself as a 5 star hotel and I personally think the hotel offers good value for money.Hotel staff where friendly . hotel has wifi which was a must for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights as a stopover on the way to Malaysia. The hotel is affordable and located centrally to shops, restaurants etc. The hotel is nice enough (definately not a 5 star but it doesnt claim to be) and the staff are friendly. Our room was very small and smelled a little mouldy but we managed and it was comfortable enough. There are probably nicer hotels to stay in but for the price of this one and its location I would return again if I ever had to go back to Bandar Seri Begawan :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AskMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The reception staff were helpfull and were able to do an early check inn. I booked the de-luxe room and the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable and I had plenty of pillows. The room was very quiet. News paper was develired to the door every morning. The hotel was centrally located and the bus station is around the corner if you are interested visiting the Empire Hotel. Coffee Bean and Pizza Hut is around the corner as well. I have to give applause for the reception staff as they were so helpfull and knowledgable.

The only problem was the restaurant. I do recoment not ot eat there. The service was terrible plus the food quality not up to scratch (even the presentaino is nice.) The staff is not interested serving you and more interested having a laugh among themselves. Everytime I ordered the food the order was different what I ordered and arrived cold, I got mild stomach bug after few mouthfulls. I noticed that other people were sending their food back as well. Also at the breakfast one morning I got pushed out by one of the workers whilst he was picking up his breakfast, an nother morning I had to wait to get my eggs done as there were few workers waiting theirs to be done. You would think that the staff would have had their breakfast at home before arriving at work or would have the breakfast at their breaktime instead of busy breakfast time and taking priority of paying customers.

Room Tip: I would receommed de-luxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing