We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pretty much what you would expect for a modern hotel. Great service from the staff, very good breakfast and great location. Modern and refurbished. Great location. Would stay hear again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for The Brunei Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 370 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good location, middle of tourist attraction, near to food place, beautiful interior

Room Tip: Ask for riverside view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PakNgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

this hotel is located in town, a walking distance from restaurants, money exchange, yayasan mall, and grocery/pharmacy (similar to watsons). this is very important because taxis in brunei are very few and expensive.

the room is very clean, simple and modern. though the beds are a bit hard. the free buffet breakfast is okay. there is free wi-fi in the lobby. their ala carte food is already cheap for hotel standards.

service is great. i booked through email and they were also able to provide me with airport transfers with additional charge.

i think their price is already worth it, compared to the other hotels that brunei has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Brunei Hotel for 3 nights during our Borneo vacation. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has a lovely lobby and clean, modern and tasteful rooms with all amenties like safe, fridge, in-room wifi etc. It feels like an intimate boutique hotel. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful - they provided us with restaurant recommendations, help booking a day trip to Ulu Temburong and other advice. The location is great - right by the waterfront so it's 1 min walk to the water taxis for a Kampong Ayer trip and the morning market is right outside.The buffet breakfast was really great. If we come back to Brunei we would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I commend the hospitality showed by Filipinos staff that made our stay comfortable. The hotel is located at the city center. The rooms are quite small and basic but comfortable enough to give you a good night rest. Breakfast was free, not so many choices but good enough to give you energy for a full day of tour and fun. Its a walking distance to yayasan mall, The royal regalia building, and other tourist sites. Check out the mosques at night, one is just a walking distance and the view is splendid. Brunei is not a place for shopping or night life, but surprisingly it is a country with diverse tourist attractions and overwhelming wealth. We hired a Filipino tour guide to bring us around, public transportation is quite scarce because all citizens own cars. I think its a must to hire a van or a car to tour you around. Lucky for us our guide was very personal and brought us around almost all tourist attraction including the billion barrel monument which was almost 1.5hr fast drive from the city.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the city, and request late check out if your flight is late at night...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fed89reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had the indulgent pleasure of a long weekend in Brunei (it was cheaper than going to Byron Bay in Australia). With three nights away - and the middle night spoken for by a rainforest eco-village trip, we looked for a comfortable medium priced place to stay - within walking distance of local attractions.
The Brunei Hotel has been renovated recently. To the point where it looks like a vaguely trendy mid-range inner suburban Melbourne hotel. If you know Melbourne, it could be at home in Carlton. Which is not a bad thing in itself.
However, the rooms are small (I did not mind that but she did - a thing about space) and the first room we has was missing soap (shower gel provided) a kettle (cordless kettle base provided) and a second glass in the bathroom. The second room had the first two but not the third - do they expect guests to share toothbrushing glasses?
After our first night we asked if they could store our luggage for 36 hours as we did the rainforest thing, to return for another night. Sure they said and we left it with them in the foyer. To find it still there when we returned! Our requests to place it in the storeroom had been ignored. Luckily all ended well.
The breakfasts were good and the restaurant menu - including specials looked above average for the area, although we didn't get to eat there, apart from breakfast. Generally Brunei food was pretty ordinary.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The bottom line? Good value for Brunei and central - important in a place where taxis are few and buses sparse.

Room Tip: Apparently avoid the upper floors on Friday and Saturday nights - noisy
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Due to my usual hotel being full.

I was booked in Brunei Hotrl.

Used to be one of the oldest hotel in Brunei but just about a year back renovated and refurbished to be extremely modern and comfortable.

Located In the heart of BSB town, Conveient to market by the river and other tourist destination
Ike the sultans mosque and water village.

Free Internet via cable, wifi available in the lobby.

Good effort to the staff who send me toothbrush as I forgotten to bring mine at around midnight.

Room Tip: Low floor might get wifi from the lobby for your smart phone.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $75 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing