We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location. Modern Hotel”
Review of The Brunei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Brunei Hotel
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We came to Brunei via the ferry from Kota Kinabalu and Labuan Island. We had no idea where we were going to stay but I saw this hotel from the bus. It was near to the bus station and because we were tired we didn't bother to look around. The price was a bit more than we would normally have paid but it was worth it. The rooms were very modern, large and clean. Not far to walk to the Mosque and other attractions. It is across from the canal so it is easy to pick up a water taxi (gondola) to travel up to the water village. Definitely worth looking at. There are night markets nearby with fantastic local food. Unfortunately we were there during Ramadan so the palace was not open. I wouldn't stay for much more than 2 or 3 days because there is not much to do in this city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 372 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Clean but small rooms, friendly and helpfull staff and a good restaurant. Good place for a few days in town, you don't want to stay longer anyway, because Bandar Seri Begawan is quite boring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I was extremely pleased with the hotel. The place was modern and clean. The service was also very good, all the staff were very polite and the main reception staff remembered your name, my only comment would be that it was hard getting recommendations on places to go. I was lucky I did a bit of research before I went so I had a slight idea but it would have been nice to be provided with some suggestions. Although the staff tried their best to help.

It terms of location all the tourist attractions are within walking distance or short drive away. The main city area of brunie is not very large. But I would choose this hotel again because of the convenience and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAfemaletravellerAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Definitely worth to be chosen in Bandar. Standard of the hotel is quite simple- let’s say Scandinavian if you know what I mean. But anyway it is spotlessly clean- rooms are very well equipped and the staff helpful - what is not really standard in Bandar. Breakfast buffet is quite limited in choice but you can find your favorite cornflakes, miso soup, toasts, fruits and fried eggs. You have for sure offered the best location in Bandar- close to the kampong Ayer , the Shopping Mall and all the Brunei attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Flying Royal Brunei from Melbourne to London, we were faced with a 12 hour wait at the airport for connections, so decided to take a three day stopover in Brunei. Airport to hotel about $25 AUS by taxi - hotel picked us up for same price.

We found the hotel to be clean, well located and very reasonably priced.
Staff were very polite and friendly. Wifi worked! Room very comfortable and certainly value for money, especially as it included a reasonable breakfast.

Only issue was that we had booked an early arrival in the room and we had to sit in the lobby for almost three hours before room was available. AS this was prebooked and were quite tired, it was a little annoying. To balance it, I suppose, at the end of the stay we asked if ok to keep the room longer and this was easy to arrange.

Exchange rate at the hotel was very good - certainly better than Melbourne Airport :-)

Location is just metres from the market - grab a boat there for a tour around the village. Look for the boat with PADI on the side - great value, great bloke. We were invited to his home, etc. really made the trip for us!!!

Lots of places to eat nearby - quality restaurant on the river front, plenty of cafes and shopping nearby. Hotel has free bus to the large Mall (not that great by Australian standards but somewhere to visit)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manchesterbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Had an 11 hour stopover enroute from London to Melbourne. Travelling With our 20 month boy this was a welcome stop. The hotel was included in the airfare with Royal Brunei airlines. We were picked up from the airport and were in our room within 20 minutes. The hotel is located across the road from a large market and a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants. The rooms are large enough, clean and very comfortable. Most importantly for us, the black out blinds were great and enabled us to get much needed sleep.
A great hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLUGGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip for 5 nights. There is wireless in the lobby and free internet in rooms with a cable. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Main shopping area very close.

The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff on reception and in lobby were very friendly.

I ate there on my first night thinking I would go out for the othere nights but ended up eating there most nights, the food was excellent and varied, served as you would expect in a 5 star hotel, I would certainly reccommend the restaurant to non hotel users as well. Very good prices too. Only minor niggle was it was cold in the restaurant, air con too fierce.

I would certainly stay there again.

Only negative is the area is a little run down around hotel. But a short walk takes you away from that area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourth_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
191 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
1,050 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunei Hotel

Address: 95 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $78 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunei Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, The Brunei Hotel provides easy access to the business district of commercial houses, banks, airline offices and the scenic waterfront and other imposing landmarks are only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brunei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunei Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing