We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boat tour around the Water Village and mangroves”

Borneo Guide - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are currently the only location in the town centre providing comprehensive tourist information services - free unbiased travel advice, maps, info booklets, brochures, and more. Where desired, we also cater for tours and travel services. We specialise in rainforest tours based from our very own Sumbiling Eco Village in the Temburong District, as well as numerous other culture, history and general interest tours in and around Brunei. We are also appointed distributors of bus tickets for Kota Kinabalu and Miri in East Malaysia. We also handle full arrangements for those who prefer the peace of mind, including hotel bookings, transfers and activities.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great boat tour around the Water Village and mangroves”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having stopped over in Brunei for two nights on my way down to Australia, I chose these guys to see the famous Kampong Ayer water village with, as well as taking a boat into the mangroves in search of the elusive proboscis monkey. Our local guide, Nazri, was very friendly and knowledgeable and really did take excellent care of us. The water village is fantastic and we even got to see a proboscis monkey up close! All in all, a great way to spend an afternoon and I have no hesitation recommending these guys to others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Canopy closed”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked the trip by BorneoGuides.com (Sumbiling Eco Village) in April and made an appointment on 18 june 2012 at there office in BSB. At the office the office was closed because a national holiday. Half past 10 in the evening they called our hotel to tell us they will pick us up the next morning at 7:15.
The next morning (15 minutes before department of the jetty) BorneoGuides told us the canopy was closed and there was no waterfall because of the dry weather. They offered the Rainforest Discovery tour instead for the same price of 80 euro per person. Too late to arrange something else we did accept. The tour, 2 times 45 minute's walk in low forest, 30 minutes in a little higher forest and a nice lunch, was boring. A waste of money.
BorneoGuides could not say why they did not mail me about the closed canopy. The canopy was closed more than one month ago and will be closed the rest of June. If the canopy is open again you can find out minutes before departure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Short on time? Leave it to them.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had four days - less flying time from Melbourne - and wanted to max our Brunei experience.
We connected with Borneo Guide online and quickly worked out an itinerary that suited both our time and budget. I might add that we are not usually guide people, preferring to find our own way about, but with little time, we decided to go with the locals. They were excellent.
Borneo Guide's organisation was spot on - every step of the way we were met by someone who did what they had to do - no stress for us - for example they greeted us at the jetty and organised tickets to board the boat to Temburong, ditto on the return.
The Sumbiling eco-village (to be precise, more of a locally-sustainable-village than eco, in the strict sense of the term) was a memorable experience. Our Iban guide Adelah and her village family gave us a memorable experience we shall never forget.
It was an amazing insight into how people can literally live off the land - and how they use the indigenous plants and animals.
Back in BSB, the river tours saw us checking out proboscis monkeys, cat faced snakes, crocodiles and monitors - often in the dark.
If you go to Brunei, don't expect the chaos and bargains you'll find in the rest of Asia (think more like Singapore without alcohol), but we'd advise you to talk to Borneo Guide if you have a short time and wan to make the most of it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Borneo Guide - Bander Seri Begawan City and Mangrove Tour”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My daughter and myself had a day in BSB before a connecting flight. I'm not inclined to go on tours but thought I'd try one rather than haphazardly finding my way round BSB for the day.

Our flight was delayed, however the Dudu and Nona (apologies if I've mis-remembered) were there to pick us up from the airport. We immediately headed out into a comfortable air-con vehicle for a tour of the mosques and palaces. Both guides were genuinely friendly, warm and enthusiastic. We felt very comfortable in their company. Nona was very informative about all things Brunei, Dudu took over with her expertise on the Mangrove part of the tour. Half the day was spent round the city before we had a break, by ourselves for lunch. We were then re-collected to go on the Mangrove tour. We enjoyed both excursions and felt we gained an extra day of our holiday that was originally going to be spent twiddling thumbs. I'd happily use them again if I returned to Brunei.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked our hotel in Brunei with this company, they had the best prices in town. The Borneo also has some tours and customized tours available for your consideration. The staff can speak English very well and very friendly and fun to talk with.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SusanPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borneo Guide - Day Tours also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Borneo Guide - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing