We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““You get what you pay for in life - good value for the price””
Review of Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Times Hotel
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I had originally planned to spend the night at Brunei airport, after a later connection but a caring stewardess must have felt sorry for me and contacted a duty service manager who suggested that as the day room was currently being renovated, that it would be better to spend the night in a hotel across the road (literally) from the airport.

I arrived at the Times Hotel at around 1.25am, to be honest I have always been sceptical of Airport hotels, but the Times is a new built hotel located on top of a shopping mall with ATM, plus there is a Multiplex cinema on top of that. (The Empire does not have an ATM)
The first thing you will notice is the Japanese influence from the Nissan that collected me at the airport to the Toto bathroom sanitary ware. Plus there is the touch sensitive lift and controls in your room. Hotel Rooms are a good size and being so close to an airport I was initially concerned about the noise, that said Brunei airport is not exactly a busy regional hub. But from my room I had an uninterrupted sleep, about the only noise, I believe I heard was from (I think) the movie theatre above or it was next door’s room with the TV blasting, but this was certainly not an issue. In fact the only real concern was trying to set the AC onto the lowest setting, in the end I ended up switching it off altogether.

For the price this is not a bad little hotel, there are a few minor points that could be easily rectified, from the moment you step out in the hallway there is this strong dam/ AC smell that you find in some hotels. The room safe is right down on the floor, in fact to use it you need to get down on your hands and knees just to read the instructions, thank goodness I was not some basketball player. The bathroom was clean and functional with no concerns; the only thing missing was the full Toto Washlet toilet, since there was this whole Japanese theme in the hotel. However, the internet does work well here and its free (wireless).

The breakfast was certainly nothing to write home about by the time I went down, it was already 8.20am but there was little choice, and from what I could see it was more of an Asian breakfast than continental. I fancied some toast but there were only two mangy looking pieces of bread left, and even the coffee was out. I waited for about five minutes hoping for replenishment, but nothing arrived so I gave up, and then went down to Coffee Bean on the ground floor of the shopping mall along with a Gloria Jean's. There is also a large supermarket & bakery on the ground floor plus a across the way a decent looking Indian restaurant, which I would not have minded trying, if I had enough time.

A plus or minus point is that my room faced into a square courtyard with a covered roof, so there is no natural light filtering into the room. I initially considered this an issue but later decided that if you are someone transiting from down under to Europe or vice versa this is a perfect room to get your head down uninterrupted. Of course this does mean that you require a light on in the room even during the brightest part of the day (see photos). Some people may have an issue with this, others like myself less so. However, I did find that with little exposure to direct sunlight kept the room sufficiently cooler that you can get away with the AC off, as I did. I would suggest that if you are concerned by this ask for a room on one of the outer walls, with natural light.

I liked the fact that LCD the television allowed you to plug and play your own content, via HDMI interface, for anyone that has a quick scroll around on the limited Brunean television channels will appreciate bringing some of your own content from home to watch. Most movies and television are heavily censored, so much so that you loose half the jokes from your typical comedy. To put it another way, a movie like 48 Hours would probably last no more than fifteen minutes.

As I had to go over to the Empire Hotel to collect my left luggage, as there is no left luggage facilities at the airport Bandar Seri Begawan, just a tip. So I had a bite over during afternoon tea before I came back to the hotel and departed to the airport.

In a nutshell, I would most probably recommend this hotel if you should find yourself in Brunei or just stopping over, and the icing on the cake is that there is a free shuttle bus/van between the hotel & airport. But if you do not have much luggage and the sun is not too bright, it would take you about six or seven minutes to walk from the hotel to the airport.

I did not read any of the reviews prior to staying in this hotel, but to be fair some of the reviews I have since seen are a bit harsh and maybe they need to get out more, and see the world. Previously had nine days in the Empire Hotel and Country Club, but for the price, in the Times hotel you are getting exactly what you are paying for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Screensilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaj2012, FRONT OFFICE STAFF at Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your reviews! really aprreciate it! have a great day ahead :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Times Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel which is located at the top level of a mall (Times Square) has basic amenities and needs for business travelers. It also located about 5-10 minutes drive to the airport. It offer a decent room with LCD tv, quite comfy bed and clean bathroom. The breakfast spread is basic as well but need to improve on their spread.

The website shows that it have small fitness center but well i doesn't have any, if you are a gym junkie and need to workout at least two times a week, you can head down and have a run at the sport complex nearby.

Do not expect to have any view and it is reasonable for short stays but for me who need to stay there at least 2 weeks, I don't see it as good stay.

Room Tip: Ask the reception staff to place you room that far from the mall, as it is quote noisy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeenShamshuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel, which is located on the 2nd level of a mall, is sufficient for basic needs of business travellers. Located very near the airport, it has spacious rooms and offers breakfast. It seems to be an old hotel, judging from the carpets. If you get allergies from carpets and heavy drapes (like me), you may not want to book here. Moreover, do not expect any view from the windows (hence the heavy drapes). But all in all, the hotel is ok and reasonable for short stays. Also, bring your own hair dryer.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank onebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel sits above a shopping mall which features a number of restaraunts and a movie theatre.

the hotel rooms are small and not that well insulated so you can hear conversations from your next door neighbour.

it has only two English TV channels, sport and BBC the rest are local so if you are looking to realx and enjoy some TV coverage - forget.

There is no DVD player so your entertainment options are limited.

The breakfast is more local than western, undertsanable but i have stayed in other hiotels in Brunei and at least I can get Corn Flakes, yoghurt but not here. Chicken nuggets and tomato sauce for breakfast!! give me a break this is not McDonalds.

the staff are not friendly and some do not understand the basic English; or pretend not to. Always ask for the supervisor.

The swimming pool is great but there is no where to sit and relax. there are no loungers and the hotel does not provide them. So its a swim and back to your small room.

Some rooms face an antrium and you feel as though you are in a prison. Please do not get one of these rooms.

The satff are lazy, do not speak English and really do not want to cooperate.

If you are deparate staye here otherwise trya another hotel.

Room Tip: stay away from the autrium rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is a fairly new one and within the same buiding as the mall. There is a Giant Supermarket at the mall. There are food outlets at the mall which makes it very convenient to have lunch and dinner. Our room was on the same level as the lobby. My only complaint is that I feel the room is not fresh smelling. I can smell the awful smell each time I enter the room but did not request for another room because I know that the hotel is fully booked. I also saw that there were a few walk-in visitors trying to book the rooms and were turned down. The wifi is good. They clean the room daily. Perhaps another room on another floor will be a better choice.
Breakfast was good except that you'd better come early. On one of the day that I went late for breakfast, they ran out of a few food items.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Superior room was large and that was handy as we had two kids and lots of luggage. It had a slightly musty smell but overall the quality of the room was good. The bathroom was OK. The fan in the bathroom sounded like a heicopter was coming in to land! Very convenieint access to the shopping mall and cinema. Therefore plenty of food options on the doorstep. The usual, very casual level of Bruneian service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyweily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotell is located too far away from the city, the hospitality is below par, air conditioner was leaking and causing flood in the room, electricity tripped that you need to use 2 key cards in the slot,and you will get fined if you smoke inthe room. Please take their warning seriously.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scrooge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
3.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
183 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Garden Hotel
Orchid Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,143 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hotel

Address: 2nd Floor, Times Square Shopping Centre | Simpang 13-29, Jalan Berakas, Kampong Jaya Setia Mukim Berakas 'A', Bandar Seri Begawan BS 2713, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $51 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing