We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and easy access to shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiulap Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiulap Plaza Hotel
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean and easy access to shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The Hotel room were clean including the toilets. I stayed in twin bed room , the cost of it was Brunei 70 per night which comes with breakfast. The staff were very friendly. The hotel breakfast has toast,beef, harsh brown, pancakes,porridge, noodles , cornflakes, coffee and tea, fruit juice (mango, apple and orange). However they do not have room service so make sure you have something to eat at night , you can always buy it outside. There is a departmental store right opposite the hotel, where almost everything is available. The best thing about this hotel is that it is very close to shop as it is located at business commercial area. It is surrounded with restaurants, electrical shops, bakery, coffee house,laundry, and many more. The nearest shopping centre is called the The Mall. If you take a teksi then one way will cost you Brunei 10 but if you may arrange for transport with the Hotel and they charge you only Brunei 5 one way. But you need to reserve the transport.

Overall people in Brunei are very friendly and it is a safe place to walk around as I was travelling alone. Places to visit basically mosque and Kampung Ayer. In terms of food, they have Muslim and Chinese food commonly and Western too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TC5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel for us to stay and we weren't disappointed. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious. We even have a small dining area separate from the bedroom.

We also enjoyed the breakfast they served and with wide variety of choices .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soblessed0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at KIULAP Plaza Hotel for 3 nights when we visited Brunei last Feb 2012. We were a group of 9 people on a budget pleasure trip.
Reviews :
Staff - friendly, everyone spoke English well, and very flexible, very helpful
Rooms - rooms were big and clean, bathroom was clean, beds really comfortable, had a flat screen tv
Amenities - free coffee and tea, bottled water replaced daily, and cable tv in room
Food - free buffet breakfast had a wide selection of Western and Malaysia cuisine, and it tasted good (our group was actually looking forward to breakfasts), and dining area was big and clean too
Location - as it is in a commercial area, almost anything you need is within walking distance, near a kfc, HSBC, other banks, grocery, coffee shops, dessert shops, etc.
Lobby was very unassuming because it's inside a small mall, but you'll be surprised when you go to the rooms.
Negatives - no swimming pool (didn't matter to us), tv stations limited in spite of cable (but i think it's a brunei thing), and no wifi but they have cable Internet connection.
Some tips: booking package tours is a must in Brunei as that's the only way to enjoy everything hassle-free, also, visit Empire Hotel.
Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are only good for two; you may request for extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeryislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at KIULAP Plaza Hotel for 3 nights when we visited Brunei last Feb 2012. We were a group of 9 people on a budget pleasure trip.
Reviews :
Staff - friendly, everyone spoke English well, and very flexible, very helpful
Rooms - rooms were big and clean, bathroom was clean, beds really comfortable, had a flat screen tv
Amenities - free coffee and tea, bottled water replaced daily, and cable tv in room
Food - free buffet breakfast had a wide selection of Western and Malaysia cuisine, and it tasted good (our group was actually looking forward to breakfasts), and dining area was big and clean too
Location - as it is in a commercial area, almost anything you need is within walking distance, near a kfc, HSBC, other banks, grocery, coffee shops, dessert shops, etc.
Lobby was very unassuming because it's inside a small mall, but you'll be surprised when you go to the rooms.
Negatives - no swimming pool (didn't matter to us), tv stations limited in spite of cable (but i think it's a brunei thing), and no wifi but they have cable Internet connection.
Some tips: booking package tours is a must in Brunei as that's the only way to enjoy everything hassle-free, also, visit Empire Hotel.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeryislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed in Jan 2012, They need more rooms for single passengers that require or want to have at least a DBL bed in the room. I am a bigger guy and have not slept in a single bed since i was a teenager. I asked for at least a DBL bed and was advised "NO".

Room Tip: dont ask for a double bed ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

near the mall.good food.clean rooms.very accomodating staff.spacious room

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

An excellent business hotel located some 10 minutes from the airport and in the vibrant Kuilap shopping and restaurant district. Large and well furnished rooms with excellent room service. The junior suites offer particularly good value to the business traveller intending to work from their room and although this hotel has no restaurant the surrounding area has literally dozen of some of the best eateries in the city within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tourismplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
2.9 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.5 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Times Hotel
Times Hotel
#12 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Centrepoint Hotel
The Centrepoint Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.6 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#16 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiulap Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiulap Plaza Hotel

Property: Kiulap Plaza Hotel
Address: Simpang 88 | Kiulap Commercial Area, Bandar Seri Begawan BE1518, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiulap Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Kiulap Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing