We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting a room at youth hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
brunei
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“getting a room at youth hostel”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

the hostel is part of the youth centre, and priority is given to youths attending programmes or activities at the centre.....

useful to check if rooms are available by contacting the supervisor.......see picture... watsapps will do..... he's been in the same job for the past 21 years!

beds are decent and clean... esp in view of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zainin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
8
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I tried booking a room by email but got no response so just turned up, luckily their was space and it cost 10 dollars for one bed in the dorm.

The room was really clean and their was large lockers for bags. It was also a good place to meet other backpackers as its really the only budget accomodation option in BSB.

The bathrooms were also so you never waited to use the shower. The beds were comfy and air con decent but no wifi.

The man at the reception was rarely there which isn't great if you want help planning your visit.

It's a decent budget option and unless you want to pay more than 20 dollars a night you don't have much choice in BSB.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hai Phong, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Firstly, I felt I am so lucky once I did advance booking. I called the manager to book my bed, he told me send him sms and after that he confirmed by sms too.
But on the day I came. The hostel is full, it's Friday and nobody in receptionist. I sent many sms to manager with a hope that he can arrange something but there is no reply.
My roaming mobile can send sms only so I sent his assistance sms but the reply I got is "You are not accepted to stay in our hostel".
I am a girl, travelled alone, was in a very costly country and no where to sleep.
Luckily, there is an old man working near there, he took me to another hostel. Regret that I didn't remember the name, it's good enough with B$18 for 1 night,

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank thuhangtrinhhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Traveled with my girlfriend. We had to sleep in different dorms ( boys and girls separated) it was very cheap and the only really budget accommodation. Good place to meet other backpackers. A couple of cockroaches in my dorm room...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We tried to check in here on a Sunday night but the gate was locked and there was no receptionist. We spent that night at K H Soon's - awful! We came here straight away on the Monday and got one male dorm bed and one female dorm bed for BD10 each. I was the only one staying in room 11 of the male dorm - two sets of bunk beds.There are about 48 beds in the male dorm in total. The air con was excellent, the rooms are carpetted and clean and hot water is available next to the laundry room. The swimming pool is superb - BD1 per person open until 5:30pm. It's close to the city centre and the Royal Regalia Museum and probably the best value in the city. The only down side is that the corridors can get a little noisy hen there are students staying there. Only had one night - the bus to KK was full on Wednesday so we had to travel on Tuesday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The guidebook is correct about this hostel in Brunei’s capital city. You cannot book online in advance (as of 2010) and patience is certainly required when you turn up asking for a bed for the night as the chap on reception (that is actually looking after the random Olympic sized pool attached to the hostel) isn’t in charge of the hostel bookings! After half hour wait you finally get given a massive bunch of keys to check in to the non-descript dorms. My advice would be don’t come here – not because of the hostel, but because there is nothing to do in BSB other than an expensive speedboat round the waters that surround the main mosque. Dull.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As lots of other people have mentioned, this isn't run like a 'normal' hostel as westerners would expect. I think the place is used more as a centre for school groups coming to do activities etc, and then they probably just wander in every now and again and see if someones hanging around needing a place to crash for the night. We got lucky and the guy was there so we got in and sorted within half hour. I would say it's more like sleeping in a school than a hostel (maybe it used to be one??) but either way, the room itself was nice and big with plenty of room and the bed was comfy, slept well.

No, there is no toilet paper on offer- but as with many places in Asia, you take your own, so you should know this unwritten rule before you arrive here (as lets face it, this would rarely make anyones first stop)

If we went back I'd stay here again for sure as the location is also convenient for getting the bus to Miri (around $8-10, leaves across the street)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
2.7 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#15 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#5 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
206 reviews
3.8 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#11 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
140 reviews
7.6 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#17 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
61 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pusat Belia Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pusat Belia Youth Hostel

Property: Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
Address: Simpang 336-17 | Jalan Kebandsaan, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bandar Seri Begawan
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pusat Belia Youth Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing