We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel in average city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
Hereford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average hostel in average city”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The guidebook is correct about this hostel in Brunei’s capital city. You cannot book online in advance (as of 2010) and patience is certainly required when you turn up asking for a bed for the night as the chap on reception (that is actually looking after the random Olympic sized pool attached to the hostel) isn’t in charge of the hostel bookings! After half hour wait you finally get given a massive bunch of keys to check in to the non-descript dorms. My advice would be don’t come here – not because of the hostel, but because there is nothing to do in BSB other than an expensive speedboat round the waters that surround the main mosque. Dull.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
8
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As lots of other people have mentioned, this isn't run like a 'normal' hostel as westerners would expect. I think the place is used more as a centre for school groups coming to do activities etc, and then they probably just wander in every now and again and see if someones hanging around needing a place to crash for the night. We got lucky and the guy was there so we got in and sorted within half hour. I would say it's more like sleeping in a school than a hostel (maybe it used to be one??) but either way, the room itself was nice and big with plenty of room and the bed was comfy, slept well.

No, there is no toilet paper on offer- but as with many places in Asia, you take your own, so you should know this unwritten rule before you arrive here (as lets face it, this would rarely make anyones first stop)

If we went back I'd stay here again for sure as the location is also convenient for getting the bus to Miri (around $8-10, leaves across the street)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Mas, Kelantan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

a few rooms had a malfunctioned air-conds. a few had a malfunctioned standfan as well. we got both malfunctioned, haha. but it is quite cold at night though (windows open).

i'm not sure but i think it is quite hot during the day in brunei, so if u're a muslim, go straight to the prayer room at the end of another block, switch on those air-conds to the max, and have a comfort relax on the thick carpet. you might as well end up bringing ur sleeping bag and have a night over there i guess. ^^

the huge advantage is that it is very near to the city. all within walking distance.

anyway, the purpose of travel is to see places and learn things. bed is just a place to have a good sleep and to secure your luggage during the day, and this pusat belia served us well indeed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazrin_afifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Emailed 2x but no response. I arrive at 1030am & no one's there at the reception. The guy who seems to work there showed me to the room and he said, if theres an open room you may stay but if all is closed you have to come back later at 230pm. Good thing 1 out of 5 rooms was open! Only 1 bed is taken out of 10! Room is clean, carpeted, w/ aircon w/ 5 bunk beds. Shared bathroom/restroom. No kitchen. Internet cafe is closed until further notice. Swimming pool can be used at an addtl cost, I think B$1. No one seems to be running this place. Surveillance camera will be your only companion. :-) Cheapest available in Bandar at B$10/night. Perfect for budget travellers. Clean, comfy and near places of interest.

Room Tip: Good location. 200 meter from Radisson on the right & Jubilee hotel on the corner/left. Seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaneecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

That day we arrived was Friday, there is no one day, our phone couldn't call out, so we wait and wait and wait. We first met a guy from Japan who is leaving, he bring us to a restaurant nearby to have some food. We borrow the phone from the restaurant to call, the assisstant received and said he will be there. But when we went back to there, no one is there. Then we met a guy from Bangladesh. He try to sms the guy, as a result he reply he will come back on 7.30pm. So the guy from Bangladesh told us that we could just leave our luggage there, go out to walk then come back at 7.30pm. So we just took all the valuable things and go and visit the attraction. By around 7.30, the guy come, we fill in the form, and he gave us a small rooms.

The room is clean, the bathroom is ok, but there no place to hang your clothes.

Overall, it is a perfect place to live if you have a limit budget, but, you need to take some risk and time for waiting. As I know, the people mostly come on the morning or evening. Just try your luck.

And, as I heard, there are no bed on 1st Sept till 15 Sept.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhw0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Negatives:

- Reception is closed all day on Sundays.
- I emailed 3 days before arrival to try and organize a room. No response.
- I also called a handful of times (both numbers) during business hours. Nobody ever answered.
- The guy at reception allowed me to check in at 12pm, I paid, but I explained that all of the beds were dirty and needed clean sheets. Of 10 beds, only 3 were being used and all 7 other beds were dirty and the sheets hadn't been changed from the last person. He promised to return at 9 or 10 pm to change the linens, but he never turned up. I was forced to sleep in a dirty bed given that I had already paid him and he could not be reached.
- The bathrooms had also not been cleaned in at least 24 hours. There was no toilet paper for the entire time I was there.


Positives
- There are plenty of outlets in the rooms for recharging cameras, etc.
- Good location.
- Only cheap option in BSB.
- Walking distance to bus stop.
- Air conditioning in the rooms.


In summary, it's one thing to have a vague reception that's often unattended (as hinted in the Lonely Planet and in other reviews). That I was fine with and expected. It's another thing to take full payment for the room, know that all of the beds are dirty when you take payment, and then lie about the fact that you will return later to change the sheets. Of the 50 countries I've backpacked to, this is by far the worst hostel I've been to. It's a shame they have a monopoly on BSB, because that city could really use a proper hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Only 10B$ for a bed and perfect if you travel solo. It's not very clean, but not very dirty either. The 4 person dorm rooms have a freezing airco, but blankets are provided. Men and women have to sleep in separate sections of the hostel, which makes it a bit less fun for couples, but may be a plus for solo women travellers. There is no real communal space, except for some wooden benches on the outdoor hallway.
The reception is not staffed most of the time, so it pays to e-mail or call beforehand.
It even has a swimming pool, for 1B$. Basically the whole place is a sportshall for Bruneian youths, with a small hostel inside. If you have a few bucks more to spend, the Terrace Hotel is also nice. We spent 2 nights in Pusat Belia to save money, and 1 night in Terrace Hotel to have some luxury.

Room Tip: Only dorms. Men and women have separate sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
2.3 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#15 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#11 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#17 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#9 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pusat Belia Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pusat Belia Youth Hostel

Property: Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
Address: Simpang 336-17 | Jalan Kebandsaan, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bandar Seri Begawan
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pusat Belia Youth Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing