We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable accommodation in BSB, Brunei”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
Reviewed October 3, 2011

For a rate BDN10.00 per night, this is the most affordable and cheapest accommodation in Bandar Seri Begawan in Brunei.

Rooms for males and females are separate. All rooms are carpeted and air-conditioned and have bunk beds good for a maximum of 4 persons. If you are lucky, you can even occupy one room all by yourself.

The bathroom is shared and does not have hot water (don't worry, with Brunei's very humid climate, you won't really look for a hot shower). In the men's bathroom, only one shower cubicle was working. Good thing, there were only a few guests when I was there and I didn't need to wait to use the shower.

The hostel has a big swimming pool but unfortunately, the swimming pool bathrooms are being repaired and hostel management decided to close the swimming pool while construction is not yet done.

Lastly, the hostel is located near popular attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Pusat Belia Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is the cheapest accommodation in BSB for those on a tight budget. The rooms at B$10/night are in dorm type with 2 or 3 bunkbeds depending on the room size, airconditioned, carpeted. It is located at the city center. The toilets & bathrooms are shared, without hot water. There is a swimming pool with a minimal charge if you use it. The hostel supervisor is very helpful too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Since hotels in Brunei are scarce and expensive, Pusat Belia is probably the best place to stay for just 10 BND a night. Just take a bus (1 BND) from the airport to the hostel. Most Bruneians can understand English so just ask the bus driver or conductor to drop you off at Pusat Belia and you'll be fine. The reception area is usually unmanned so you might have to stay for a while and someone is bound to find you. It was so hard to find information about the hostel online so I wasn't able to book. It would be best if you contacted the supervisor directly (see the attached photos for his number). There is a computer shop at the hostel but it closes early - 5PM.

In terms of the room, it was alright. Boys and girls were separated. The room had 2 double deck beds. Luckily, I had the room all to myself. The pillows and mattress were fine but the room smelled like cigarettes. The air conditioner was working while the closets had a lock so you can leave your stuff there safely. There was a common bathroom with 2 showers and 3 toilets. Please don't expect any 5-star amenities here. There was no toilet paper nor hot water but the bathroom was well-maintained with most of the trash coming from guests who don't have the courtesy to clean up after themselves.

The location of the hostel was fantastic! You can easily walk to everything in the BSB city center. As a caution though, the hostel locks the gates near the dorms by around 9PM until 7AM. Not to worry, you can still enter through the main gate at the far left of the building. Upon check out, don't forget to leave your key at the box near the reception.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Girls and boys dorms. My room was a four bed dorm. I didn't book just turned up. So clean I was really pleased. The matresses were new and water pressure in showers was great. Bandar is so small everything 5 min walk away. Don't expect staff to help with tours etc, the reception is rarely manned, this is a budget place. I also missed the bus but haggled with a taxi driver who took me into town from Ferry port for ten dollars. It seems normal and sage to hitch here too. I got a couple of lifts.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solorach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My friend and I were travelling for a few weeks around Asia and wanted some place relatively cheap to stay - and Pusat Belia seemed like the only place under $100 a night.

Finding out information about the Pusat Belia seemed a bit of a mission, but following the advice on here, I e-mailed youthhostel.551 (at) hotmail.com and made a booking for a few nights.

We caught the $1 bus from the airport to the city centre, and then walked to the Pusat Belia (which you pass on your way into the city - it's only like a 5 minute walk). I'm pretty sure there is a bus stop right by the hostel, but we didn't think of that until it was too late.

This place is fantastic! My female friend was in a dorm that slept 10, and shared it with a few old ladies. The mens dorms have a lot more rooms - I got one with two bunks to myself for the whole time. Rooms have a really decent air con too. Toilet and shower facilities were clean. There is no hot water, but if you have a shower towards the end of the day the water is quite hot anyway. As with almost every bathroom in Brunei, there is no toilet paper. Don't despair - the Sheraton Utama is 1 minute up the road, and the bathrooms in their lobby have toilet paper :)

There is a pool on site to use at the hostel - admission is $1. It's quite big and very refreshing.

The youth hostel is in the most convenient place, it's so central - everything is within 10 minutes walk. Rooms have lockable wardrobes to store possessions in. Felt very safe leaving stuff there, and would definitely recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james_nz_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

u only pay BND 10 for one night. it's the cheapest rate u can get around town. the place is clean and practical. don't expect a 5 star service, it IS a hostel. boys and girls sleep in separate rooms. for every BND 10, u get a bunk bed. if u are lucky, u can get the whole room all to urself. there are 10 beds in one room.

pusat belia is near to bus & taxi station. it is also near to food centre and yayasan complex so u won't have to worry about getting food and sundries. they provide internet cafe downstairs. it's really cheap - only BN 50 cents per 1/2 hour. best of all, the swimming pool has just been renovated when we got there!

nearby places of attraction: royal regalia, yayasan complex, kg ayer, sultan omar ali mosque.

do drop them an email before getting there; to book a bed as well as to inform them of ur expected arrival time, otherwise u might have to wait for hours before u can get ur room key.

be careful with cab drivers who would tell u that the place is:
i) closed for renovation; or
ii) only for students
cuz it's not true. therefore, email the place before u go there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank herbaceous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vecijerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
2.3 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Traders Inn
Traders Inn
#11 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#17 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
183 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#10 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pusat Belia Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pusat Belia Youth Hostel

Address: Simpang 336-17 | Jalan Kebandsaan, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bandar Seri Begawan
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pusat Belia Youth Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing