We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am travelling alone around asia and have visited many hotels but this hotel has really stuck out from the others due to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, especially at reception. Two Filipino staff in particular have made my stay so much better, seeming to go out of their way me make me feel at home and not alone, these are lourdes and karen. I thank them very much. Also the rooms are large and the breakfast is great with alot of choice. I reccommend this hotel to everyone coming to Brunei.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 230darrenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
18
30
29
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

There are no hostels it seems in Brunei so I had to upgrade for one night to this hotel which was actually quite nice. They had free use of pool and an amazing fitness centre. The hotel is a bit awkward to reach. They advised you have to email before for airport pickup (but this was never mentioned in the reservation). Bus 20 from downtown will bring you closeby though most people were confused as buses arent used that much in the city. If they let you off in the Kiulap district it should be about a 10 min walk past the police station on the right and shopping centre on the left. The room was very nice and comfortable after a few nights in hostels. There are cheap restaurants in the street behind the hotel or you can walk back to the shopping mall. The second big mosque in Brunei is a short walk back to the main road. Officially photos arent allowed but no-one said anything to me (the downtown mosque is a lot more strict). I took the No.20 bus back into town the next day. It seems the buses in Brunei have the same driver so you have to wait for him to loop and come back on a return trip. Staff were friendly and gave me a really good city map which I needed since nobody was at the tourist info desk at the airport. The town is really a sleepy backwater so give yourself a bit more time if you dont have your own transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Since i arrived at midnight. It's the best hotel to stay in. The location is nearby airport. Nothing special. It's just a standard hotel. The food for breakfast is tasty. I could use the wifi in lobby for free

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I enjoy my days there while stayed in this hotel. RM was 212. Room bed was excellent and I have a home-like feeling when I come to the room. Bathroom was big enough and I like the phone setting in bathroom, this design was unique as I don't need to come out the room and make the phone call, a thoughful-minded design, hum I like it. Breakfast was good.
Staff are friendly and helpful,for Shirely and Stanely, you guys are excellent.
Things to improve: 1. Try to remove the stains on room carpet. 2. Get your IT people to fix the WIFI system, try to make it work on every floor, just just in the lobby, even stay in lobby, still not stable, oh my god~~

Room Tip: Room bed was so comfortable, I fall asleep in just few seconds. Again, a home-like feeling in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wateryu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Room is excellent, the bathroom is big as well. The breakfast was good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Special credits and compliments offer to: Shirley and Stanley, they are excellent~~~~~~

There are three issues need to be improved:

Please amend the free WIFI system, not only available in the lobby. All rooms should access to the Free WIFI as well.

There are only 3 floors, whenever there was any function/event in the cafe, it did affect the sleep to all the rooms up-stair. Please make sure the function/event, it will finish before the mid-night. Otherwise, guests will not able to sleep well due to the music/noise in the cafe.

No parking available for the hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was excellent and was suprised with the size. Breakfast is good as well. and my kids are enjoying the pool at the lobby ground floor. Staff are very friendly during registration and it is done quick and very smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erna_H308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Used the hotel for a couple of days between flights. It is 15 minutes drive from the airport and situated in an odd location just of the main transit road. However the rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and more than met our needs. There is a small pool (ideal for kids), a giid health spa & gym while the restaurant is basic but the food is excellent. Transport is required for any local activities and the airport.
Perfect for a brief stay over or if you are in transit & the staff were faultless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapper501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
1.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: Lot 45238, Simpang 88, Kampong Kiulap, Bandar Seri Begawan BE1518, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing