We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach restaurant at the Empire”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pantai

Pantai
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Waitstaff
Brunei
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beach restaurant at the Empire”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Poor buffet with little choice. The barbecue was also poorly presented. It was also quite hot in there, as there is no aircon because it is open to the outside.

Helpful?
1 Thank werdneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location Service Needs to be Improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have been here several times and I would say if you can get a seat outside looking over the beach and South China Sea it is a very pleasant place to eat a meal. The food is OK reasonable range, drinks (non alcoholic of course) are pricey. The service is dismal for the standard of hotel this is meant to be. One time I was there staff set up and watched TV in the middle of the dining room when diners were still present. Significant investment required in staff training and the food quality could be improved.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alster2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting on the South China Sea. Lovely Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

The buffet , from the freshly made Mongolian to the dessert , was very good. Service was excellent , with the waiters taking stuff off us and delivering it to the table , and we had a perfect table next to the ocean from which we watched the sun go down.

A bottle of vintage bubbly would have set it off perfectly but sometimes you can't have everything and the Empire Delight mocktail was pleasant enough.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best seafood buffet ever tasted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Seafood buffet at Pantai Restaurant,Empire Hotel is served on every Friday & Saturday night. 6.30-10.30pm at Brunei $ 46+ per person. Lots of variety to choose from,from Oyster,mussel to fresh prawn and fish. Worth every penny. Lots of dessert & salad choices too. Do not miss the Thai Mango Salad,its excellent! Good service too,though its buffet,the waiter offer to help in bringing my plates to my table. Nice & soothing love songs are played all night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hated the food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

According to the hotel website, it claims to have “5 star rooms” and be a “luxurious base”. However in terms of service and food, I rate it much less than zero out of 10. I have dined here about 16 times in the past two years, as I live in Brunei.
I usually have a meal at Pantai, its seafood restaurant, because it is practically the only restaurant in Brunei on the coast.

These are the bad points at Pantai:
1) After sitting at your table, you need to wait at least 5 minutes before someone even appears with a menu. Once you have a menu, you usually have to wait at least 10 minutes before someone even appears to take your order. This is even at times when there are approximately 4 staff for every one customer. The reason for this is that staff are just standing around and chatting to each other, without bothering about serving customers.
2) When you try and get a waiter’s attention, you need to wave your hands really vigorously or shout “Excuse me” really loudly several times before someone actually bothers to serve you.
3) Staff who either stare at you rudely and pervertedly (while not bothering to serve you) OR completely ignore you.
4) The buffet food has flies all over it. I do not like the idea of the fact that these flies may have been likely to be feeding on faeces shortly (ie hours or days) before feeding on the food. When I complained to the restaurant manager (I think his name is Jovic), he was completely disinterested and could not be bothered, which is a really really bad attitude to have.
5) Drinks take at least 10-15 minutes to arrive, even at the times where there are 4 staff for every one customer.
6) Buffet food is really really bad and the so called ‘hot’ dishes are not even hot. According to the hotel’s website, it has ‘stunning cuisine’. The grilled lamb is unedible, and is so hard that it is almost impossible to cut it with a knife. So flies all over your hardened unedible lamb = stunning cuisine? I do not get it.
7) A ‘Butlins’ holiday atmosphere on Sunday afternoons. Butlins is a UK holiday package/destination for the working class (ie the lowest socioeconomic class like factory workers and miners). Not exactly 5 star ambience is it?
8) Extortionately expensive. I do not mind paying a lot of money for excellent food, service, and atmosphere but Pantai is nowhere even near ‘excellent’.

These are the bad points at the Atrium Café:
1) The so called $18 Crab Sandwich did not have any real crab in it. Instead, it had imitation crab stick that is sold in supermarkets for $1 for 24 sticks.
2) My empty glass of water was never replenished.

The hotel tries to appear to be a 5 star, but it really doesn’t work. So do take my advice and DO NOT stay here. I have never stayed here, but I would hate to imagine what it would be like to stay here if the service elsewhere matched the service in the restaurant. I would imagine absolute HELL!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pantai also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing