We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Anggerek Service Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
D Anggerek Service Apartment
Miri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I was in Bandar Seri Begawan for a business trip on Dec 10. My first stay at this hotel. Because I drove all the way from Miri, Sarawak, my concern was the parking facility. Ample of spaces if there's no functions at the hotel. Food wise, I had a complimentary breakfast but it was not buffet. I rated it fair because it's just sufficient to keep you going in the morning. the room was clean but the airconditioning system was not cool enough. Something the hotel need to work on because you will find it very hot in Brunei. Airport is within a very short driving distance. There are also some new shopping malls nearby just next to the highway. Could not recall the names but one of them is Time Square. A good place for local food too. Well, what can I say? I paid B$68 for the room and with such service, I'd say "Just nice!"

Room Tip: The restaurant is on the first floor. Stay on the second floor if you rather use staircase than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marikina,manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I'm writing this review right in the lobby while waiting to be shuttled to the airport.

Booking
Booked thru Agoda at. Around USD50 per night. Tried to e-mail hotel about airport transfers but no reply. Requested through Agoda instead.

Arrival
Our booking is from September 14 to 15. We arrived Sept 14 at 1am and there was pickup waiting for us outside the arrivals, 5 to 10 minutes later we were at the hotel. They allowed us to check in early and has offered to adjust our check in times a bit. They offered us a flat on the the 5th then transferred us to a twin on the 2nd.

The Room
Hotel uses key cards so access is secure. The first thing you'll notice is the size of the room. It's the big for it's prize. There's plenty of room and there's an access door I guess if you want to bok adjacent rooms for a big family. Aircon takes some time to cool the room. T.V. has limited channels but has Starworld, DIVA, ESPN, BBC, Discovery, HBO as basics. Twin beds are soft, sheets are clean, pillows are soft room has wall to wall carpeting, Ref concealed in cabinet under TV, electric pot, coffee, tea, bottled water, set of tea cups, hair dryer is broken though. The bathroom is huge, hot tub and a couple of hotel toiletries not to mention a wall mounted phone right beside the loo just in case you need to a answer a different kind of call. No In-room wifi which is only available at the Lobby and resto, (ground and first floors but you have an option to connect through broadband which I'm not sure if it has an extra charge.

Service
Advantage for Filipinos as receptionists, cleaners, chef and waiters are Filipinos. Not an effort to converse with and are willing to give out some tips to go around the city. Lorena, at the reception was thoughtful enough to give us an umbrella cause it's going to be really hot under the sun and there's going to be a lot of walking. Breakfast is not buffet but there's free flowing brewed coffee and tea. They may not serve complimentary fruit slices but it's okay to ask.

Location
Near the airport , International Convention Center, Stadium and pol but is 10 minutes from the city center. Brunei doesn't have much taxis and if you see one, flat rate is at BND15, compared to bus fare at BND1 flat rate for all routes, near or far. To the city, catch any bus along. Jalan Kumbang Pasang which is about 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. It's quite far but i'sthe only way out. From the city, it's best to go to Bandar Seri Begawan bus station along Jalan Cator and take bus 36. Tell the driver or the fare collector to drop you off at Orchid Hotel not Anggerek because there's a street, Anggerek Desa which is 100 meters away from the hotel. However, this is no guarantee that you will be dropped off at the hotel as they can change routes and drop you off a block away from the hotel. Just be mindful of the place which is right beside the huge building of Orchid Hotel. Across the hotel is a white building with 2 small eateries and a grocery store at the far end.

Overall, I would highy recommend the D'Anggerek Serviced Apartment for the price and huge rooms. Location is quite cumbersome but if you're in for adventure and exploring, it's your best bet.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have excellent view of the lush green Borneo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakbay_easy_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

First thing first, the address lack details. I had a picture of the hotel card, please refer to it.

An average hotel that value for money. First impression of the room is rather rundown but at least the room fulfill my basic needs. Hotel staff are friendly though.

Due to the location of my room, I get to see the sunrise from the window. Who say there isnt any nice view....?

Pros
1) Near Airport
2) Free Internet in your room
3) Quiet only during the weekdays.
4) A few restaurants located opposite the hotel which serve decent food

Cons
1) This hotel do not have housekeeping on Sunday!! Which bother me a little.
2) Breakfast is not buffet style (not my preference)
3) Weekends especially on Friday and Saturday night are rather noisy, but is still bearable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

I've stayed at this serviced apartment multiple times over the past couple of years. Let me first say, if you are looking for luxury and comfort, this is probably not your best choice. If you are looking for a good price, clean place to stay, no frills place, this is ideal. The showers work, the TV works, the internet works (but is slow), and the bed sheets are changed over 2-3 days. The price is well below Western prices and is excellent for a budget conscience traveler. All staff are friendly and happy to help. Some potential downsides are internet which is quite slow depending on your room, not much choice in food or places to eat nearby, location is residential, A/C not very strong in some rooms, and there is no pool. If you can deal with this, it's great!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewt333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We moved to Brunei in August to take up a new position. On arrival, we were placed into "temporary" accommodation at the D'Anggerek until we could find permanent housing.
What a shock!
The place was filthy, the sheets had holes burned into them from cigarettes, the room stank of smoke, the 2 plate hot plate was caked with grease and grime, the shower fell off its holder, the room was boiling hot because the aircon did not work properly and the wall plugs were hanging loose exposing live wires.
The noise from traffic was incredible and there was a constant in and out of people at all hours.
After 2 nights, we were moved to better accommodation at the Ramada.
Must be one of the worst places in Asia,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
3.1 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.3 mi away
LeGallery Suites Hotel
LeGallery Suites Hotel
#16 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Anggerek Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Anggerek Service Apartment

Property: D Anggerek Service Apartment
Address: Kg. Anggerek Desa, Mukim Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB4313, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D Anggerek Service Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished D'Anggerek has reinvest itself as the premier serviced apartment provider in town. Located within 10 minutes away from Brunei International Airport and very convenient as it is close by to shopping complex, International Convention Center and Sport Complex. Very strategic location surrounded within a radius of 10 minutes to most embassies, government ministries and departments. D'Anggerek Serviced Apartment offers a total of 42 rooms which are spacious and well tastefully decorated and equipped with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your D Anggerek Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing