We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New fresh and affordable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Residence Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Capital Residence Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New fresh and affordable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel looks new and fresh, the room was clean and has a comfortable bed. The free wifi is fast. We enjoyed the tasty local breakfast with nasi lemak and cakes. The hotel is close to the sultan's museum and walk a little further for the great mosk and water village.
Staff was very attentive and courtious. The free airport shuttle was convenient. There were just a few other guests during our stay, it was very quiet.

However I do have one complaint: a female staff member opened our room door without knocking. We were shocked, and though she apoligized it still shouldn't have happened. So I reccomend the management to put inside locks on the door. It feels safer.

Besides this strange incident this is a very nice and good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Samhollznd,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with The Capital Residence Suites.We truly hope that your stay with us added to your enjoyment in visiting Brunei. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed the local breakfast choices that we had offered. The Capital Residence Suites try to introduce our guests to local customs and culture and one of our initiatives is to let our guests start the day the way locals usually do.

We are sorry to hear about our staff's intrusion.We have trained our staff the proper procedure of inspecting rooms but it seems that it was not implemented in this case.the Management would like to apologize once again for not meeting your expectations in this aspect. The Management would also like to thank you for your suggestion and we will try to implement it as soon as possible.

Lastly, on behalf of the General Manager and all the staff here at The Capital Residence Suites, thank you for staying at The Capital Residence Suites and we hope to welcome you to Brunei again in the future.

Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    67
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
79
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at CRS for about one month. The staff is really helpful and accommodating. This is a perfect place to stay for short or long stays in Brunei. It's within walking distance to downtown and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the hotel or other places around town. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Radu84,

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to welcome you again anytime to The Capital Residence Suites.Our staff value your appraisal on their hard work and it will motivate them to strive harder to bring quality service that the Capital Residence Suites strives for.

Once again,on Behalf of the General Manager as well as all the staff here at The Capital Residence Suites, thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Ariving in Brunei from KK via ferry was a bittersweet affair as the buses were nowhere to be found. My mom and I had 10bnd, in the hopes of getting better rates in Bandar. After walking for hours, we were losing our enthusiasm for the city. Hotels are expensive and the guesthouse we checked was literally falling apart. And money changers were all closed. We were told by a local to try the youth center, only to be told that they don't have beds available. The receptionist told us to check out the capital residence suites, and so we did. This place was worth all the hassle as the staff were very polite and accommodating. The manager was also considerate on our situation (not having brunei dollars) but still allowed us to stay by depositing USD.

The place is really neat and pretty. The room smelled good and the wifi is really fast.

This is my first review and I think this hotel deserves to have more than two as their service is first class.

Thumbs up to the staff and the manager! :)

I highly recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank HippieInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

WE would firstly like to thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback of our hotel. we are honored that you have decided to review our hotel for your first review. in regards to your experience, we are really sorry to hear your experience on your first time here in Brunei Darussalam but we are nonetheless happy that you have decided to stay with us for your stay. Our team of staff are always committed to provide quality service to all our guests and all our staff will be more motivated to give the best hospitality service. For your information, our hotel do provide free shuttle service to and from the Brunei International Airport as well as the Muara port. all you need to do is provide us with your arrival details and we will make sure that our staff will be there to bring you to the hotel. On behalf of all the staff and the General Manager at the Capital Residence Suites, we wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Brunei Darussalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here overnight while travelling elsewhere from Brunei. It's a great value hotel, my room was nice and modern with a really comfy bed. The staff was very friendly and gave me a map and showed me good open air places to eat. It's just a short walk to shops and sights, right near the Radisson Hotel. There's free wifi that is fast and reliable and a free airport shuttle, so you make a great saving just by using that. The only downside is that I can hear the person in the room next door but they aren't loud so it's not been a problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank problemmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital R, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review of your stay with us at The Capital Residence Suites. We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. we are happy to hear that our services and location added to the satisfaction of your trip to Brunei. Our staff would certainly be happy to hear that they have done an exceptional job in serving our guests,our team would love knowing that guests appreciate their service.

On Behalf of the team here at The Capital Residence Suites, we thank you once again and hope to welcome you to the The Capital Residence Suites in the near future.

Sincerely,

Majdey Zawawi
Operations Executive
The Capital Residence Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very new hotel. Was previously run-down but was recently taken over by new management. Extensive renovations just completed and so all the rooms are practically new, with very up-to-date amenities and the whole building is super-clean. Just opened for business and so they may not be too well known. In fact, when booking this hotel and seeing only one review I was quite apprehensive and didn't know if it could be trusted. But, am glad I am here and I am writing this on the night before my departure.

Wifi is excellent and super fast, available FOC throughout the hotel. Great cooked breakfast. Location could not be better. Not in the city itself (which would mean congestion and pollution) but just a couple of minutes walk from where all the main businesses are. It is located behind Pusat Belia (Youth Centre) and the road leading to it is directly opposite Chung Hwa High School. I'll give the staff 5 stars too, including the general manager Abd. Rani Siteh. All very courteous, friendly and helpful. Pick-up service from the airport adds to the convenience. Would recommend for any traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajdeyZawawi, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ed C,

Thank you for your kind review, we do appreciate every bit of feedback form our guests. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Capital Residence Suites has undergone extensive renovations and the transformation is still ongoing with a few new additions to our establishment. we are happy to hear that our services and location added to the satisfaction of your trip to Brunei. Our staff will be motivated to hear the positive feedback you have given and will continue to strive for the best in serving our guests.On behalf of the General Manager, Thank you once again and we are happy to welcome you back to The Capital Residence Suites anytime

Sincerely,
Majdey Zawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Capital Hotel has undergone extensive renovations and is now known as Capital Residence Suites ...... offering single, 1BR junior exec and 2BR exec suites .... suitable for business travellers ..... family travel ...... short visits ......

Located next door to Pusat Belia, and nearby Radisson Hotel.... walking distance to town centre.

Stayed during soft opening mid-October 2013.

FB contact https://www.facebook.com/capitalresidence.suites?fref=ts

Room Tip: junior exec and exec serviced apartment comes complete with kitchen, fridge, electric cooker, tv in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zainin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajdeyZawawi, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Residence Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Zainin-Thank you for taking time to review your stay with The Capital Residence Suites.We appreciate your kind words expressing our newly renovated establishment. As you can see from our Page,we have finalized our re branding from Capital Hotel to The Capital Residence Suites and since this establishment is under new management, we are delighted to hear positive feedback from guests that have enjoyed the experience staying at our hotel.We look forward to welcome you again any time .

Sincerely,
Majdey Zawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Seri Begawan
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Residence Suites

Property: The Capital Residence Suites
Address: Simpang 2,LOT 20127 | Kg. Berangan, 8211, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam (Formerly Capital Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Capital Residence Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital Residence Suites is situated on the edge of central Bandar Seri Begawan. This secluded property is convenient venue for private visitors, families and business travelers who are looking for space and convenience. We are located about 8km or 10 to 15 minute drive from Brunei International Airport and are walking distance from many others features around town. Some of these include the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, night market and Tamu (Dry Market), Temburong water taxi jetty, Royal Regalia Building, Yayasan Shopping Complex and Kampong Ayer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Capital Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing