We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour to do in Brunei”

Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tour to do in Brunei”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Brunei does not have tour booths/shops to go to to do this your. If you would like to do a river boat tour you must go to the water front and ask the water taxi drivers if they will offer a tour to see the proboscis monkeys and fireflies. That's where you start bargaining for a fair price. We paid $B40.00 for 2 adults and 4 kids. The driver Dani was amazing.

He was kind and very helpful in finding crocodiles. The crocodiles were easy to find for us because it was low tide so, many were on the shores. We also saw otters and wild boars on the shores.

We saw a few proboscis monkeys high in the trees. We did our boat tour at night. Dani, the driver recommended that if we wanted to see them on the ground and not in the trees morning would be the best time to come. We were also there for the fireflies.

After it gets dark the bushes and trees along the shore lighten up with fireflies flickering which is also a really nice way to drive back to B.S.B in the dark. As well at dusk you can catch a beautiful sunset.

Bring bug repellent and some water. We went out from 515pm until about 715 pm. Just remember that this is just a simple boat taking you out. There were no life jackets on his boat. So these might be some things to consider when looking for a driver.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brunei”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Frankly there is very little in the way of tourism in Brunei, but undoubtedly there is huge potential considering the miles and miles of endless beaches and a warm sea.

The main city of Bandar Seri Bagadan is small and gives the impression of not actually having a core or centre; that said there is a love mosque and a modern and elegant shopping mall close to the river. Everywhere is very clean and gives the impression of being in a parkland, with round-abouts and avenues.

I went on the full river cruise 50 BRU$ (about £25) to see (hopefully) some crocodiles and proboscis monkeys. I did not see the former, but saw plenty of monkeys. Upon my return I went to the riverside RMS Italian restaurant, good service, good food, however one must seemingly have to wait quite awhile for the food to arrive...no alcoholic drinks in restaurants!

Other towns visited were atmospheric in a 'seedy sort of way' - Seria and Kuala Belait.

Panaga is the area where most expats live in considerable comfort in villas provided by Shell. Wondeful sporting and leisure facilities are available to employees.

From Panaga it is a short car journey to the border with Malaysia and the bustling town of Miri, where there is an abundance of places for 'shopoholics' to visit.

A unique experience to a rather boring country, nevertheless enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gelfft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Definitely do this tour”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

There are several tour companies that will organize this day trip from KK. I was skeptical about how great it was going to be, especially the random fireflies tour that's tacked onto the monkey tour but it was fantastic. It was absolutely beautiful, nice to be on this swamp tour and saw a lot of monkeys. As for the fireflies....amazing! It really was something special and unique. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AlaskaChick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“only can be found in Borneo”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

cute creatures and fun to look at (only can manage to see their bottoms). I only recognise them from pictures and books but never to see it in the wild.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank faris1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Gamble That Paid Off”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A friend from Down Under came to visit, and with me being relatively new here as well, didnt know what to do. So we took a walk around Omar Saifudeen Mosque and ended up at the waterfront of Kampong Ayer. And there was a boat man, looking at us without even pestering us to get on the boat.We asked the prices of the trip and It took us less than 5 secs to decide to just venture out to just initially around Kampong Ayer. And there was just 2 of us on the boat.

Cut the story short, 20 minutes into the boat ride, he asked if we are interested in looking at the Proboscis Monkey and other sites out of Kampong Ayer, and since weather was nice and cooling we decided to go along with it. Extra cost is involved.

He promised us monkeys, even crocodiles. And he delivered, exceeding our expectations. He also brought us to the various landmarks accessible only by water taking the effort to explain the significance of each landmark.

Im gonna let the pictures do the talking. I tried to take pictures of 2 crocodiles we saw, but as we got closer they dashed for the water.

At the end of the trip, I handed him $50 which was more than what we agreed for the whole 1.5 hour trip. The next day when i discussed this with my local colleagues they said i got a bargain, and its normally $40 per pax. I guess it just pays to be nice :P

And i got the boatman number before i left :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SadatHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunei Proboscis Monkey River Safari also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Brunei Proboscis Monkey River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing