We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Performence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Staff Performence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I would like to have your attention towrads one of you staff Mizan. I meat him during my breakfast and I found him very well behaved, well dressed. During the breakfast he came and offer me for cappuccino. I was imporessed with his overall service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDhaka, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to Renewal!

Thank you for sparing the time and writing a review regarding your stay at The Westin Dhaka!
We are glad to know that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. It is wonderful to know that your stay with us was made hospitable and relaxing with the services provided by our associates. Your special mention of our team member will definitely be conveyed to him.

We will certainly look forward to your next visit and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards
Daneil Muhor
General Manager
The Westin Dhaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    313
    89
    23
    19
See reviews for
32
38
65
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have stayed there for two night in Mar 14 ..it was a peaceful stay .......very helpful frend desk and travel desk... rooms was neat and clean......if i going back to Dhaka i will stay in the same property
..

Room Tip: Better to stay in the higher floors because of the mosqitos in Dhaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepujt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDhaka, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to Renewal!

Many thanks for staying at The Westin Dhaka and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed glad to know that your stay with us was peaceful and up to the mark. It is nice to know that you found our rooms comfortable and clean which could add value to your stay. Your kind words of appreciation will be shared with our associates that will motivate them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. At Westin, we strive to provide a ‘Feel Well’ experience and your testimony is proof that we have succeeded in our endeavours.

We value your patronage and look forward to serving you with our hospitality on your next visit.

Best Regards
Daneil Muhor
General Manager
The Westin Dhaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 13 nights. Moved from Radisson Blu due to more live and activities in CBD area. Completely regret from Day1 to Day13. Equally costly.


Faulty Room door.
Assigned to a room with no proper locking. My room can be accessed by anyone as the entire electronic lock is not functioning. Shock to death. Highlight to front desk and managed to change a new room. Before changed no one belief it till I have to drag the person to my room and demo it. Seek to talk with Duty Manager never bother to follow up as I was not be able to reach on that day. Wrote a complaint email to SPG, being lectured as I am a complete idiot doesn't know how to operate an electronic door.

Room Dining Menu
Watch out on your bill as you can be billed wrongly. Always check the items and amount in the room dining menu and the physical bill you sign when food delivered. Happened twice and gave up, as the 1st time, they admit the mistake and I ordered the same item on my last days. Spotted the mistake again and looks like this hotel management can't be bother to make correction and fallen to deaf ears. So called we will improve and customer feedback is utmost. Completely reversed.

Laundry bill
Always request the guest copy once you send any laundry and check the amount charged in the guest copy will be different on the check out bill. Reason due to computer round up. Another lame excuse.

Wrote to SPG and they have packaged their answer like I am a complete idiot and demand a further advise been silence till then (as of now about 3 weeks). This shows a very unprofessional hospitality management team at this premises.

My advise, watch out the 3 items I mentioned. The rest are fine but not that great as there are limited choices of 5 starts hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LOIWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is one of the best in Dhaka, good rooms, nice restaurants, effective service except the value for Money. It is too expensive compared to its standard. In any other country, same standard of hotel will be available in half the price

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Don't select rooms adjacent to Elevator, otherwise you will hear lift m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjaySomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDhaka, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to Renewal!

Thanks for staying with us at The Westin Dhaka and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is good to know that your stay with us was delightful and comfortable and that you were happy with the services and facilities provided to you. We thank you for appreciating our rooms and restaurants at the hotel and are glad that they were to your liking. Your kind words will be shared with our associates that will motivate them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. Our Prices are set as per hospitality industry standards, after extensive research.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Daneil Muhor
General Manager
The Westin Dhaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been staying at the Radisson for months but needed a change. I had a meeting in the area so thought I would stay at the Westin the one night and try it out in case I decided to move there for my next long stay. When I checked in on the 24th of Feb, the front desk clerk did a strong sales pitch to pay $100 extra to get a Club room. I said no and he persisted, lowered the fee to $80 saying my friend and I would love the Club lounge. Like dah - I've been in countless ones, but I thought we could have a few cocktails, so I thought why not.
We get up there at 1915 - it closes at 1930, and this nasty model type host glares at us walking in and then a minute later stands in front of my me saying I could not bring a guest in. Well gee how do you know he is not in my room? I said, I don't think so and he almost pulled the second beer out of my hand and said you'll have to pay for it in a fairly loud voice. The waiter was aghast and said let me get you something while the host disappeared - for only a minute and he was back saying again there is a charge for a guest.
So at 1940 we're leaving - having drunk a total of 2 Corunna's and one Screwdriver between us, and he jumps up from the Concierge desk and accosts me at the elevator to say that there is a 4000 taka fee for the friends visit. I said fine - if my friend wasn't with me I would have told him to bugger off, and he comes back to us at the elevator insisting I sign the form! My friend says is this normal? I said no, not for Bangladeshi's who have a wonderful service ethic.
On checking out at 0500, I saw that I had dropped $500 USD on dinner etc. and that was using my points + cash for a 12 hour stay! Needless to say I am back at the Radisson and have no intention of crossing the Westin's doorstep again in Dhaka.
Funny how the sales guy approached our group a few months ago asking as to stay at his property as we provide 100s of room nights between us. Thankfully we didn't,, because as nice as all the other staff were in the hotel, one ignorant savage in the Club lounge is all you need to ruin one's stay. Bye bye Westin!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is hotel in the center of the city. The upmarket Gulshan 1 and 2 areas make it little steep in price. But generally Dhaka hotels are very expensive. This hotel is near to lot of restaurents and clubs of European countries. Like the Nordic club, the Dutch club.

The staff is caring and warm and especially at the breakfast room staff is very attentive and they remember you likes and dislikes. So you get your favourite things on your table by the time you fill your plate with breakfast. Mizan is one the dudes in the Restaurent who took care of my breakfast needs very well.

If you are looking for a qood quality suits for cheaper price there is a tailor on the ground floor, who would give stitch your suit in 24 hours! That too perfect cuts and edges and also sells fabric!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulNene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDhaka, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Renewed Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

We thank you for staying at The Westin Dhaka and sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

It is pleasing to know that your stay with us was refreshing and relaxing. We thank you for appreciating the efforts of our associates and will share your experience with them. This will motivate them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. At Westin, we try to provide our guests with personalized services and your review confirms that we have succeeded in our endeavors. We would like to inform you that our pricing is set as per the hospitality standards.

We look forward to welcoming you and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Daneil Muhor
General Manager
The Westin Dhaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is my only choice when on my frequent trips to Dhaka, its located conviently near to my cenues and not to far from the airpot. It rates itself 5* but is more an international 4* star arrangement.

The Hotel itself is quite good but the service and some maintenance are beyond 5 star quality

The staff is typical Bangaleshi, ignorant, not very helpful and the term "customer is king" no one heard before.

The rooms are clean and equipped with standard Westin furniture, good bed, nice bathroom (eventough some of the showerheads are broken). As a leak of service again, some amneties are missing. So do most of the rooms do not have a hair dryer and the mini bar is a joke. The wifi reception is quite good as every room got his own wifi router.

The Gym is pretty nice, a lot of facilities, modern and clean. That might be the reason why it gets crowded in the evening, in fairness, there is nothing to do in Dhaka, so that might be another reason.

The breakfast buffet is good but nothing special, usual american breakfast stuff you will find in a resonable quality.

On the 23rd floor there is the club lounge located. Here you got a live band arrangement evry night, cute little Filipino Band with good sound. BUT BE CAREFUL, if you get one of the rooms on the higher floor like 22nd or 21st on the wrong side of the wing you can sing the songs together with them. its so anoyingly loud that you might have problems to sleep.

The noiselevel at this hotel is a problem in general. The road noise gets into eny room and the aircons are quite loud too. in some of the rooms you also got some noise cause by some electrical equipment in some service rooms.

Overall i would say the hotel is quite pricy but you dont have many coices in Dhaka so it might be the most reasonable option.

Room Tip: Be careful of the rooms near the club floor, band at night is very loud and you will clearly hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyRacoon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDhaka, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Renewed Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

We thank you for staying with us at our hotel in Dhaka and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Situated in the new business district, we are in proximity to shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurants, private clubs and multinationals. Our guests can relax, revive and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka. We are glad that the rooms, gym and amenities were at par with your expectations. However, we have noted your concerns regarding the service maintenance, behaviour of the associates, and sound proofing. We assure you that corrective measures will be taken to improve the future experience of our guests.

We hope that we will be able to provide you a better experience on your next visit.

Thank you!

Best Regards,
Daneil Muhor
General Manager
The Westin Dhaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#4 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 78 in Dhaka City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing