We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a good business hotel in a chaotic city. Westin is positioned as the best and is priced so too, exceptionally more so here than in other countries though it does not boast that much once you are inside.

While the location is good, it is right on top of a busy street so make sure you have a room high enough to not have the noise bothering you.

The lobby is strangely designed and depending on your taste, borders on the whimsical though no expense has been spared. It is loud but fails to make an impression like much of Dhaka's restaurants.

The facilities are good but the opulence leaves you feeling more claustrophobic than elated. The swimming pool is a welcome relief but is more of a play pool.

The buffet is good though and it is safe to order knowing you will get decent food. This is one aspect you appreciate more as you spend the days in Dhaka.

Room Tip: Get higher floors and check the noise level before checking in. It's not going to get much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

We acknowledge humbly your appreciation for the location of our hotel and the wonderful buffet it offers. On pricing issue it may be mentioned that market dictates price in a free economy and we are no exception on that matter in Bangladesh.

We have taken notes of your other observations as well. Please be assured that we are relentless in improving quality of our products and services.

Please do book with us for your next visit to Dhaka.

Thank you for staying with us.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    309
    88
    23
    19
See reviews for
32
38
64
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Given the limited options in the city, this Hotel is OK but not one to rush back for.

Everything has a price and the Westin appears to want to match European rates without justifying the cost. Labour is very cheap yet the Hotel appears content to charge London prices.

Equally, beware of purchasing alcohol in the top floor bar - also vert expensive.

In sum, this hotel was not my choice (booked by my company) - shop around if you have that luxury.

Room Tip: Take a bottle of gin and drink bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us.

I understand that you have some concerns about our price structure. It may be mentioned here that it is not only labour, which you mentioned in your review to be cheap here, that is required to maintain a true five star hotel of international standard like ours. All our amenities and most of our food and beverage items, especially alcoholic beverages, are imported against payment of very high taxes and duties. All these reflect on the prices we offer for our products and services.

We will be very happy to have your booking for your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Right form the moment you step in the hotel feels impersonal ... they have a slightly different design where the check - in is a level up - no one guides you, just need to figure it yourself.. no porter service to the room, a standard answer to most questions - please refer to the hotel handbook for information. The nice part though is the breakfast buffet. IT is quite lavish in comparison to other Dhaka hotels. The rooms are neat, clean and comfortable with good internet connection. Being in the center of the Gulshan area is a big plus with a lot of eating options in the surrounding area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0am_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!

I acknowledge respectfully your appreciation of our neat and clean rooms, our extraordinary breakfast buffet and our high speed internet service. It is good to see that you also mentioned about the advantage of the location The Westin Dhaka.

I understand that in some of the other areas our services did not quite meet your expectations. We have taken note your comments on the responsiveness of our associates and help with your luggage. I would like to assure you that we will be taking adequate measure so that you will find service in these areas satisfactory to you the next time you will visit.

Do book with us for your next tour to Dhaka. I promise that you will find it even better.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The personnel in this hotel, they are all very polite and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is especially one of my favorite points. They cook pancakes, waffles, any variety of eggs, etc; all to your liking. They also have western food as well as asian food which is always a plus.
The hotel rooms are spacious, amenities are great also. I have been in this hotel a couple times, but the wifi connection has never troubled me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenny424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your inspiring review of our hotel that mentions the polite and helpful responses of our associates to your needs.

It feels wonderful to see that you have appreciated our spacious rooms, superb breakfast buffet and luxurious amenities.

We will be very happy to see you back to our hotel during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very very nice Westin, up to all the "Westin" standards :)! It is especially remarkable to acknowledge their high hotel's standards because of the country's difficult and unstable economical situation. This property, located in Dhaka, is apparently very well maintained and run. Rooms are very cosy, clean, spacious, beds are so comfortable, perfect to take that needed rest. Staff are very well trained, welcoming approachable and attentive. It is obvious they'd been striving to grow more and more professional since the opening and I witness it each time I came back to this hotel.
Dining is up to high expectations too. As usual, at Westins, they run a lot of Food&beverage related events, festivals, etc. The Westin Dhaka does it all the time too. Quite a few dining venues. My personal favorite is the extensive Buffet dinner with a few live cooking stations, Asian corners, Native cuisine corners, healthy options stand, etc., staff at the restaurants are quite quick and attentive too. They also run English Afternoon tea's from 4 to 6pm. Which is my fave too.
Westin workout is a definite must-visit in most Westins anyway, so here in Dhaka it offers a lot to relax your mind and tone yourself up too.
Great job done so far, I hope this Westin in Dhaka will always meet its guests' expectations. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of a Bengali Autumn from The Westin Dhaka.

I am so glad you enjoyed our high "Westin" standards and services during your stay, and expressed the same with kind words in your review. We really do strive to maintain our high standards and it always feels good when it is authenticated by one of our valued guests.

Thank you for taking time to mention about the dining experience which The Westin Dhaka offers too. You will find a food festival is happening in our hotel all the time with our focus shifting from cuisines of one part of the world to another.

We look forward to serving as your host again very soon.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience! The Westin hotel is everything you need in this unstable city. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; the restaurants are full of variety and flavors, the Spa is Heaven and the staff is warm and friendly!!! The Taste restaurant has a variety of items providing a superb array of traditional Indian and American Breakfast items. However After 3 weeks I was weary and home sick yet each morning the most pleasant, attentive and helpful waiter named Mizan always made me feel welcome and at home! He became the light of my day knowing that with all the chaos outside the hotel walls he still held a bright smile everyday. I thank him for his services because it truly helped me start each day!!!!

A BK Girl!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beautifullymade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your decision for choosing to stay with us which eventually ended up in "an amazing" experience for you. You have rightly pointed out that The Westin Dhaka is everything you need in this city.

I am so glad to know that you enjoyed all the facets of your visit with us. We do take pride in our beautiful and spacious rooms and our food and beverage venues which are always full of fun and flavour. We are happy that all of these caught your attention.

I hope that your stay with us has made The Westin Dhaka your only choice hotel in Dhaka and it will remain the same when travel will bring you to Dhaka next time!

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasta, Norge
Level Contributor
218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm always a bit nervous to return to a place I've had a great experience, but there were no need for nerves. As soon as we entered Westin were we treated excelent, and again were the service by Habib and Sayem the most excelent exsamples of how top service should be. Any question we asked was answered with a good and easy sollution. We had a great stay, thanks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hohygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It pleases us to know that all your nervousness about coming, for a second time, to a hotel where you had beautiful experience before, were all gone when you entered The Westin Dhaka. We are very happy that we met your expectations.

Thank you for complimenting our associates. We are very proud of our team and their commitment to our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments and compliments on to them. That will encourage them to 'do more'.

Thank you again for your patronage. I hope to have the chance to meet you during your next visit with us.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
0.4 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 77 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#5 of 77 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 77 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 77 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing