We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel overall”
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel overall”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The personnel in this hotel, they are all very polite and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is especially one of my favorite points. They cook pancakes, waffles, any variety of eggs, etc; all to your liking. They also have western food as well as asian food which is always a plus.
The hotel rooms are spacious, amenities are great also. I have been in this hotel a couple times, but the wifi connection has never troubled me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenny424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your inspiring review of our hotel that mentions the polite and helpful responses of our associates to your needs.

It feels wonderful to see that you have appreciated our spacious rooms, superb breakfast buffet and luxurious amenities.

We will be very happy to see you back to our hotel during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    335
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
91
51
88
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very very nice Westin, up to all the "Westin" standards :)! It is especially remarkable to acknowledge their high hotel's standards because of the country's difficult and unstable economical situation. This property, located in Dhaka, is apparently very well maintained and run. Rooms are very cosy, clean, spacious, beds are so comfortable, perfect to take that needed rest. Staff are very well trained, welcoming approachable and attentive. It is obvious they'd been striving to grow more and more professional since the opening and I witness it each time I came back to this hotel.
Dining is up to high expectations too. As usual, at Westins, they run a lot of Food&beverage related events, festivals, etc. The Westin Dhaka does it all the time too. Quite a few dining venues. My personal favorite is the extensive Buffet dinner with a few live cooking stations, Asian corners, Native cuisine corners, healthy options stand, etc., staff at the restaurants are quite quick and attentive too. They also run English Afternoon tea's from 4 to 6pm. Which is my fave too.
Westin workout is a definite must-visit in most Westins anyway, so here in Dhaka it offers a lot to relax your mind and tone yourself up too.
Great job done so far, I hope this Westin in Dhaka will always meet its guests' expectations. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of a Bengali Autumn from The Westin Dhaka.

I am so glad you enjoyed our high "Westin" standards and services during your stay, and expressed the same with kind words in your review. We really do strive to maintain our high standards and it always feels good when it is authenticated by one of our valued guests.

Thank you for taking time to mention about the dining experience which The Westin Dhaka offers too. You will find a food festival is happening in our hotel all the time with our focus shifting from cuisines of one part of the world to another.

We look forward to serving as your host again very soon.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience! The Westin hotel is everything you need in this unstable city. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; the restaurants are full of variety and flavors, the Spa is Heaven and the staff is warm and friendly!!! The Taste restaurant has a variety of items providing a superb array of traditional Indian and American Breakfast items. However After 3 weeks I was weary and home sick yet each morning the most pleasant, attentive and helpful waiter named Mizan always made me feel welcome and at home! He became the light of my day knowing that with all the chaos outside the hotel walls he still held a bright smile everyday. I thank him for his services because it truly helped me start each day!!!!

A BK Girl!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beautifullymade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your decision for choosing to stay with us which eventually ended up in "an amazing" experience for you. You have rightly pointed out that The Westin Dhaka is everything you need in this city.

I am so glad to know that you enjoyed all the facets of your visit with us. We do take pride in our beautiful and spacious rooms and our food and beverage venues which are always full of fun and flavour. We are happy that all of these caught your attention.

I hope that your stay with us has made The Westin Dhaka your only choice hotel in Dhaka and it will remain the same when travel will bring you to Dhaka next time!

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasta, Norge
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm always a bit nervous to return to a place I've had a great experience, but there were no need for nerves. As soon as we entered Westin were we treated excelent, and again were the service by Habib and Sayem the most excelent exsamples of how top service should be. Any question we asked was answered with a good and easy sollution. We had a great stay, thanks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hohygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It pleases us to know that all your nervousness about coming, for a second time, to a hotel where you had beautiful experience before, were all gone when you entered The Westin Dhaka. We are very happy that we met your expectations.

Thank you for complimenting our associates. We are very proud of our team and their commitment to our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments and compliments on to them. That will encourage them to 'do more'.

Thank you again for your patronage. I hope to have the chance to meet you during your next visit with us.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are going for business or pleasure to Dhaka you should stay here. The hotel is very new and close to the Diplomatic zone. Their coffee shop and bakery in the lobby is amazing. I never thought I was going to find that in Bangladesh. Their Prego restaurant as well as their spa and gym are outstanding. Better than most Westin in theUS. The cherry on top of the Sunday is that some of the best pearls shops are across the street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your comment that our The Westin Dhaka is "Better than most Westin in the US" has made us proud indeed. We appreciate your kind review.

Thank you for appreciating the location of our property. We are very happy to know that you found our coffee shop, bakery, Prego - our fun dining restaurant and and our gym as amazing . We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations!

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation as we cannot wait to have you back.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is pretty much the only really good option in this city. But it lives up to the standard. Very spacious rooms, good wifi, good gym and great breakfast. However it is far more expensive then comparible hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad to know that, as you said, we lived upto the standards.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our spacious rooms, great breakfast spread and efficient workout services.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford,
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed hear a few times, its really the only 5* International standard hotel in the centre of Dhaka. Its well located, if there is such a thing in Dhaka due to the traffic.
Rooms are large, clean and well kept, with good internet connections.
Gym is one of the larger ive used in a hotel, and pool area is reasonable if you can put up with the constant noise of traffic outside.
Staff are always efficent and courteous.

Criticisms - Very expensive, even our company rate is high but not much other competition. Costs for drinks and food are also very high given the cost of living in Dhaka again I guess this is due to the lack of competition.

Recommended if you have to stay in the centre of Dhaka.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us in Trip Advisor.

The location of hotel in Dhaka city is prime indeed. We acknowledge humbly your kind words that praised our large, clean and well maintained rooms; our internet and our gym services.

The price we charge for our products and services may not be comparable with the cost of living in Bangladesh. Our charges only reflect the investment involved in maintaining a true international standard hotel in this part of the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#4 of 81 in Dhaka City
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 81 in Dhaka City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 81 in Dhaka City
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 81 in Dhaka City
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing