We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed there for a fortnight-Hotel is Good but extremely overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stayed there for a fortnight-Hotel is Good but extremely overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a fortnight during a business trip to Bangladesh. The Hotel is good (not extraordinary) , but is extremely overpriced. I had breakfast everyday , the spread is not all that great (could have been much better). had dinner and lunch few times ; Lunch and Dinner are ok , but not worth the price they charge.

Room service is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel.

We have taken note of your feeling that our breakfast spread could be better. We will be working on that.

On the price issue, we would like to say that our prices are a mere reflection of the investment we make on quality, health and hygiene.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    313
    89
    23
    19
See reviews for
32
38
65
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business with colleagues. Rooms were very nice with an excellent sized bathroom. The range and choice of food for the inclusive breakfast was also excellent, however, the prices for the restaurants and bars was way too high. I was also disappointed that Internet access was extra. Why is this not made inclusive in the room rate? When stay at hotels that charge extra for wi-if, I see it as an easy way for them to make extra money, not just their costs. So, this was also a negative for me. Aside from that, the service was good and the staff very attentive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.

We humbly acknowledge all the good things you have mentioned about our products and services. We also have taken serious notes of the couple of areas where we exactly could not meet your expectations. We certainly will be working on those.

We will be very happy to take your booking with us for your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have just spent 6 nights in The Westin, Dhaka. Dont be put off by the soldiers carrying rifles outside the front entrance or by the beggars who gather outside to pounce on any Westerner emerging from the hotel. However unless money is no object be very put off by the bar and food prices which rival anything London or Moscow will throw at you. Absolutely extortionate. Give it a miss.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Soldiers with arms can only be seen at the front entrance at the time of the visit of the President or Prime Minister of Bangladesh or some other country heads in our hotel. We believe there should not be any reason for anyone to be put off by their protocol display.

We are not sure about the beggars who gather outside to pounce on any Westerners coming out of the hotel. If that is what had happened to you, it probably was an exceptional stand alone case.

Nevertheless, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is more or less everything you would expect from a Westin, but extremely overpriced.
Polite and attentive service stands out. However, F&B prices are extortionate. Our in-room dining experience was consistently average, with extremely small portions. Soggy salad items deserve a special mention, as they had obviously been pre-prepared the day before, and had shown commendable patience before making it on to the room service tray.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRedEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives us pleasure that you have authenticated the consistency of the Westin brand in us.

On the Food and Beverage side, we have taken not of your comment on quality. Price, however, we must say, is dictated by the investment we make regularly to ensure health, hygiene and authenticity of the ingredients.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Must confess to doing nothing more than sleeping here and going to a business event in the main event room. The bedroom was fine and the staff very friendly. The conference facilities were good too. The hotel has pleasant smart atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka.

It is good to know that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and appreciating our conference facilities and the overall pleasant atmosphere of the hotel.

We will be waiting for your next booking with us.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

With the Radisson as the only internationally recognized hotel to contend with, the Westin Dhaka offers business travelers the convenience and so-so luxury in a developing city.

A short 30-minute car ride from the airport, the Westin is located approximately half way between the airport and downtown. The F&B facilities are probably the best of what the Westin Dhaka has to offer - Prego on the 25th floor serves good western meal; there is a 24-hour cafe on the ground floor that serves good burger and coffee; the breakfast spread at the 1st floor restaurant is also good.

Hotel is old and tired. But staff are generally accomodating and polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for reviewing The Westin Dhaka and its associates. It feels good to see that you have appreciated the good natured associates of the hotel who are always ready to go an extra mile to serve you better.

We have begun refurbishing and renewing a lot of our products and services. Please book with us for your next trip here and we are certain you will experience a renewed The Westin Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

went for a dinner,well the food quality was not bad.. but i did not find the restaurant look like a five star hotel.and there were mosquitoes all over the place,,even it was near the foods which is very disgusting.
and the staff -they were good i guess
but overall disappointed and the quality is not at all like a five star should have

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelG923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience in one of our restaurants.

We are disappointed to learn that our service offerings did not quite meet your expectations. This, however, provides us with an opportunity to re-examine and realign ourselves; and we, once again, thank you for your criticism. We certainly will look into the matter very closely and act upon it.

Please do visit our property soon for a better experience. We promise you that.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#4 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 78 in Dhaka City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 78 in Dhaka City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing