We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Must confess to doing nothing more than sleeping here and going to a business event in the main event room. The bedroom was fine and the staff very friendly. The conference facilities were good too. The hotel has pleasant smart atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka.

It is good to know that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and appreciating our conference facilities and the overall pleasant atmosphere of the hotel.

We will be waiting for your next booking with us.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    331
    96
    25
    19
See reviews for
84
49
84
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

With the Radisson as the only internationally recognized hotel to contend with, the Westin Dhaka offers business travelers the convenience and so-so luxury in a developing city.

A short 30-minute car ride from the airport, the Westin is located approximately half way between the airport and downtown. The F&B facilities are probably the best of what the Westin Dhaka has to offer - Prego on the 25th floor serves good western meal; there is a 24-hour cafe on the ground floor that serves good burger and coffee; the breakfast spread at the 1st floor restaurant is also good.

Hotel is old and tired. But staff are generally accomodating and polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for reviewing The Westin Dhaka and its associates. It feels good to see that you have appreciated the good natured associates of the hotel who are always ready to go an extra mile to serve you better.

We have begun refurbishing and renewing a lot of our products and services. Please book with us for your next trip here and we are certain you will experience a renewed The Westin Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

went for a dinner,well the food quality was not bad.. but i did not find the restaurant look like a five star hotel.and there were mosquitoes all over the place,,even it was near the foods which is very disgusting.
and the staff -they were good i guess
but overall disappointed and the quality is not at all like a five star should have

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelG923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience in one of our restaurants.

We are disappointed to learn that our service offerings did not quite meet your expectations. This, however, provides us with an opportunity to re-examine and realign ourselves; and we, once again, thank you for your criticism. We certainly will look into the matter very closely and act upon it.

Please do visit our property soon for a better experience. We promise you that.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'd never been to Bangladesh adn was overwhelmed by the crowded streets, noise and air quality. Howver, the Westin provided a great place to stay and escape from the activity. It is well located and has excellent service. The rooms were very nice and all the staff were very friendly. They had a great breakfast bno matter what your tastes and the restuarants were quite good. The excercise facility was well stocked with access to the pool. Although I found the pool to be too warm. I did not use the spa facilities during my stay. If I was going back to Dhaka I would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: I was on the south side and o the 12th fllor so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and describing it as a great place to stay. Your kind words of appreciation will inspire us do even better in future.

We have passed your comment on the water temperature of our pool to our Engineering Department. This, certainly will be looked at and exmined closely there.

Please do book with us for your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Extremely overpriced and bad value for money staff are typically up tight and do no recognize all customers of all races as equal I had to reprimand a staff member because they treated my friend from africa very badly also for breakfast you can't go casually wearing shorts and slippers because they insist on you being formally dressed when it is normal to be relaxed during breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angeliuswings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us.

It is disappointing for us to learn that The Westin Dhaka did not meet your expectations in terms of price and services. We would request you to take note of the fact that we import most of our amenities and food and beverage ingredients from abroad often against payment of a very high import duty to maintain the true five star Westin standards. This may have some minor reflection on our price structure which probably caught your attention in some places.

On the matter of wearing shorts and slippers in our restaurants which you mentioned, we would like to mention that we have a very clear policy on dress code for our venues about which our valued guests are informed well in advance. Being a member of the Starwood family The Westin Dhaka is very respectful to local culture and tradition. The dress code thus formulated for The Westin Dhaka honors the local culture and tradition.

We are sorry to hear from you that one of your friends was treated rather ‘badly’ as you felt in The Westin Dhaka. This must be an isolated incident which certainly does not reflect our policy of treating all our guests in equal manners.

To conclude, may we request that you give us another chance to serve you better! Please do book with us for your next trip to Dhaka. We promise that it will be better experience for you.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

good location, very clean tidy friendly hotel with all western amenities in the Indian continent, nice barbers shop, but be ready to pay western prices. couldn't really fault it for this part of the world . crazy traffic though. would i stay there again ? maybee if i got a better deal !! overpriced for what it is

Room Tip: dont get a room near the lift as there is too much noise, also it seemed by having a gold SPG card i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Monsoon greetings of Bangladesh from The Westin Dhaka!

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us. We are very happy to know that we were able to serve you as a, in your words, "very clean tidy friendly hotel with all western amenities".

We will be too glad to have your reservation with us for your next visit to Dhaka. We will be waiting for that.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days on a business trip. The staff are courteous. Breakfast is fruitful and tasty. Room is comfortable. The only set back is the road in front of the hotel is always crowded and dangerous..but guess just as everywhere in this hectic city. An authentic 5-star hotel, in a nutshell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of fresh monsoon rain from Dhaka!

We appreciate your taking time to share your experience of staying with us. It feels really good to be authenticated by our valued guests as a true five star hotel.

We will be too glad to have your booking for your next trip to Dhaka.

Thank you.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#3 of 81 in Dhaka City
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 81 in Dhaka City
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 81 in Dhaka City
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 81 in Dhaka City
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing