We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as expected”
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not as expected”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

went for a dinner,well the food quality was not bad.. but i did not find the restaurant look like a five star hotel.and there were mosquitoes all over the place,,even it was near the foods which is very disgusting.
and the staff -they were good i guess
but overall disappointed and the quality is not at all like a five star should have

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelG923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience in one of our restaurants.

We are disappointed to learn that our service offerings did not quite meet your expectations. This, however, provides us with an opportunity to re-examine and realign ourselves; and we, once again, thank you for your criticism. We certainly will look into the matter very closely and act upon it.

Please do visit our property soon for a better experience. We promise you that.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    331
    96
    24
    19
See reviews for
83
49
81
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'd never been to Bangladesh adn was overwhelmed by the crowded streets, noise and air quality. Howver, the Westin provided a great place to stay and escape from the activity. It is well located and has excellent service. The rooms were very nice and all the staff were very friendly. They had a great breakfast bno matter what your tastes and the restuarants were quite good. The excercise facility was well stocked with access to the pool. Although I found the pool to be too warm. I did not use the spa facilities during my stay. If I was going back to Dhaka I would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: I was on the south side and o the 12th fllor so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and describing it as a great place to stay. Your kind words of appreciation will inspire us do even better in future.

We have passed your comment on the water temperature of our pool to our Engineering Department. This, certainly will be looked at and exmined closely there.

Please do book with us for your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Extremely overpriced and bad value for money staff are typically up tight and do no recognize all customers of all races as equal I had to reprimand a staff member because they treated my friend from africa very badly also for breakfast you can't go casually wearing shorts and slippers because they insist on you being formally dressed when it is normal to be relaxed during breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angeliuswings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us.

It is disappointing for us to learn that The Westin Dhaka did not meet your expectations in terms of price and services. We would request you to take note of the fact that we import most of our amenities and food and beverage ingredients from abroad often against payment of a very high import duty to maintain the true five star Westin standards. This may have some minor reflection on our price structure which probably caught your attention in some places.

On the matter of wearing shorts and slippers in our restaurants which you mentioned, we would like to mention that we have a very clear policy on dress code for our venues about which our valued guests are informed well in advance. Being a member of the Starwood family The Westin Dhaka is very respectful to local culture and tradition. The dress code thus formulated for The Westin Dhaka honors the local culture and tradition.

We are sorry to hear from you that one of your friends was treated rather ‘badly’ as you felt in The Westin Dhaka. This must be an isolated incident which certainly does not reflect our policy of treating all our guests in equal manners.

To conclude, may we request that you give us another chance to serve you better! Please do book with us for your next trip to Dhaka. We promise that it will be better experience for you.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

good location, very clean tidy friendly hotel with all western amenities in the Indian continent, nice barbers shop, but be ready to pay western prices. couldn't really fault it for this part of the world . crazy traffic though. would i stay there again ? maybee if i got a better deal !! overpriced for what it is

Room Tip: dont get a room near the lift as there is too much noise, also it seemed by having a gold SPG card i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Monsoon greetings of Bangladesh from The Westin Dhaka!

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us. We are very happy to know that we were able to serve you as a, in your words, "very clean tidy friendly hotel with all western amenities".

We will be too glad to have your reservation with us for your next visit to Dhaka. We will be waiting for that.

Regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days on a business trip. The staff are courteous. Breakfast is fruitful and tasty. Room is comfortable. The only set back is the road in front of the hotel is always crowded and dangerous..but guess just as everywhere in this hectic city. An authentic 5-star hotel, in a nutshell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of fresh monsoon rain from Dhaka!

We appreciate your taking time to share your experience of staying with us. It feels really good to be authenticated by our valued guests as a true five star hotel.

We will be too glad to have your booking for your next trip to Dhaka.

Thank you.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was in Dhaka in late May 2013 for a week and our advice was that the Westin was the place to stay. It's a fine (as in OK) hotel. The rooms are posh, well appointed, clean, lots of marble in the bathroom (if you like that kind of thing) and it's well located in the middle of the city. The manager was friendly and ever present at breakfast and the check out staff were helpful. Given this, I wouldn't normally complain about a hotel as I'm about to... However, it costs me £170 a night to stay here, and for that price I think it's fair to expect pretty high standards. I've certainly had many, much better experiences, for significantly less money, in quality business hotels just across the border in India.

So here's what I found at the Westin, Dhaka, that I didn't think was particularly fair given the price:
- a lobby which (for the whole week I stayed) stank of diesel fumes
- a power supply which, within two hours of checking in, had gone off 6 times (it got better through the week)
- slow and only intermittently available wifi Internet costing about £10 a day
- a bar which served two types of beer. The cheapest, a local undrinkable lager, for about £6 for a small can
- pretty average, but massively overpriced, in the main restaurant costing about £40 for the buffet
- surly waiting staff for dinner and breakfast
- stale pastries at breakfast (lots of comments about how good the breakfast was - yes, plenty of choice but nothing spectacularly nice)

Msybe there are no cheaper, better alternatives (I don't know) and the lack of competition gives the Westin a licence to charge what it likes. However, either this hotel is a massive rip off or the cost of running a hotel is much higher here than in other South Asian cities I've visited. If you do stay, eat outside (we found lots of much nicer restaurants nearby for literally 25% of the buffet price), don't drink and save yourself the £10 for the Internet (try and find a net-cafe elsewhere).

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tpw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings! I hope this reply finds you well.

Following your recent stay at the The Westin Dhaka, I wanted to take a minute and extend an electronic thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience of staying with us.

We are very happy to see that you have appreciated our “posh, well appointed and clean” rooms. Your reference to our ever present Managers in our venues and friendly checkout associates will certainly inspire us to do more.

We, however, are disappointed to know that your experience was not of that similar positive nature in some other areas of our hotel. Nevertheless thank you for bringing those areas to our attention. We certainly will be working hard to bring positive changes into those areas where our deliveries fell short of your expectations.

Kind regards.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My favorite hotel in Dhaka, as stated in my title I miss my Star trek Slot machines and smoking cigars that make the Venetian so much fun, but found another entertaining way to spend my time while smoking a cigar without losing $800. Outside the Westin Hotel is a wealth of fun. On the street to the right of the Hotel there is a unlimited amount of homeless children who I played Frisbee, tossed an American football around and remembered to bring a Baseball bat and tennis balls, ( they weren't ready for real baseballs ), and had them saying "Cricket BHALO NAI, Baseball BHALO " GO Cardinals ". Obviously entertainment and location of hotel is great, I found the staff always very accommodating and always there to help me with all my wishes, I still go to Dhaka regularly to see my Bangladeshi wife, but being unemployed with savings running low, I have to stay in lousy hotels in Banani . Lucky for me, I still found homeless children to play with there, Imagine that!

If I could afford it I would stay at this hotel every time in Dhaka. " Big Mistake" taking my Rajbari wife to stay there, Now she always wants the Westin Dhaka Everytime, " Wait till she sees the Venetian in Las Vegas, she will say , " Look at me Ma, Top of the world " Until she is108 stories up at The Stratosphere and cries for her MOM....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed your nice writeup on your Bangladesh experience, especially that of staying with us. It was good to see that you have appreciated the great location of our hotel and the magnificent service of our associates who are always ready to go some extra miles to assist you with any of your requirements.

Thank you for staying with us. We will be too happy to book your room in our hotel for your next trip to Dhaka.

Nazrul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#3 of 81 in Dhaka City
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 81 in Dhaka City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 81 in Dhaka City
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 81 in Dhaka City
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing