We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice service, nice staff...”
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Dhaka City
Reviewed April 14, 2013

In April 2013 I stayed at the Westin for a couple of days. It was a lovely overall experience. Service quality is great. The food experience in particular was excellent including the buffet on 2nd floor and the Italian restaurant on the 23rd floor. Some of the staff we had met are lovely people and made us feel comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MahmoodHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us a full five star rating.

It is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with, as you said, 'lovely overall experience' with our service and food quality.

We will be very happy to have you with us during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Dhaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel offers good service and comfortable rooms. Though the price tag is a bit on the higher side as per Asian standards. There is an excellent bar at the terrace and the swimming pool is also nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank I_am_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

Thank you for appreciating our services along with our great spacious rooms. We will be very happy to see you returning to our hotel during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My first visit since end 2011. Still the best hotel in Dhaka, but :

- the quality/variety of food has gone down (coffee shop Taste + Italien restaurant)
- the barmen have forgotten the recipe for Mojitos
- the food & beverage prices have become astronomical - Euro 50 for a steak ; Euro 100 for a bottle of average wine

Will probably try the Radisson next time.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank joec918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

On your observation of the price of steak and wine that we offer, please allow us to inform you that we import all of our alcoholic beverages against payment of very high customs duty. We believe this may have reflected slightly on their price tags.

We have passed your other observations during your recent stay with us to our concerned departments.

We will be very happy if you kindly let us allow you to serve you again during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in the Westin and what probably made it better was that it was located in dirty, polluted Dhaka. It really was an oasis. Service was great and the room was clean, excellent A/C and great bathroom! The location was good, but going anywhere in Dhaka is quite a hassle, so unless you are remaining close to the hotel staying there and driving across town each day is not a good idea. There is a wonderful Mermaid Cafe about a block away if you are looking for lunch or dinner. The pool is pretty small as well as the weightroom, but it was being used and had everything you could need.

We also hired a guide (Roni, roni_law.du@hotmail.com; ph 01924788106) to take us around Dhaka and he ended up taking us to his village in Southern Bangladesh. While I do not see another place to put this information, I think it is note worthy to consider hiring someone to help you navigate this city/country. It is not set up for tourism and it can be a rough time trying to get somewhere. I am fairly welled travelled and rarely use the help of a guide, but in Bangladesh, it was worth every penny I spent. We only were going to use him for two days, but once getting to know him and him offereing to take us to his village, we asked him for as much time as he could give us. His English is excellent, he is in college studing law, we met his brother, mother and father and I can say he is a most trustworthy person. I especially liked it when he negotiated prices for us, without us even asking him to do so. He knew what was fair for us and refused several people because they were being unreasonable. In short, he made what could have been a long, tough week, into a very enjoyable, memorable time in Bangladesh.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mataturider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

We are very happy to know about your pleasant experience of staying with us and travelling far inside the country.

During your next visit to Dhaka we will be delighted to assist you with your travel plan for knowing more about Bangladesh, if that suits you.

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I happened to stay at the Westin Dhaka during my trip in the month of August 2012. Although the hotel is really nice, great service, big rooms and decent location, the price was a bit higher than expected. But if you are going for a business trip, its good. The rooms, I must say, are very very big and spacious. Some good options of restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Check out the prices before you book! The prices will be higher than other 5-star hotels in the city...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satyamjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm summer greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

To maintain the finest hospitality services in the country that we provide there is no alternative for us but to import most of our food stuff and other amenities from abroad against payment of very high duty. This may reflect slightly on our pricing. However, our motto is never to compromise with quality.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back with us during your next trip to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had one night here it was not to far from airport and rooms were clean and bright. Had a meal in the resturant on the top floor very exoensive for what we had soup and pizza £43. For two. The staff were very helpful and friendly . the bathroom had a separate bath and shower which was helpful and the room also had slippers and gown

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We acknowledge hubmbly your appreciation of our "clean and bright rooms" - as you observed it. Our associates are always very helpful which also you have noticed.

We thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to book you with us during your next visit to Dhaka.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Expensive competed to other similar hotels in Asia, nice breakfast with some local and Indian dishes. Avoid staying in the highest floors as the music from the top floor bar is playing extremely loud music, actually it is so loud in the bar that it is impossible to have a conversation there.
The club floor is great with very friendly staff and free flow of drinks, that is important as the drinks at the other outlets are overpriced. Over all the best business hotel in Dhaka.

Room Tip: Don't stay in on the second to top floor, as the music is very loud until about midnight
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javaswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Dhaka!

We are very happy to see that you have appreciated our breakfast offerings, our club lounge services and the friendly attitude of our associates.

Your observation on noise level in our top level bar has been passed to the concerned management team. We will be looking into this seriously.

We will be very happy to book you with us during your next visit to Dhaka.

Thank you.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 83 in Dhaka City
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#4 of 83 in Dhaka City
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#2 of 83 in Dhaka City
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#5 of 83 in Dhaka City
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range: $185 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing