We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Dhaka
Nearby Hotels
Amari Dhaka(Dhaka City)
$201
$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Banani(Dhaka City)
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Center Point(Dhaka City)
$35
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six Seasons Hotel(Dhaka City)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 71(Dhaka City)(Great Value!)
$45
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveler rating
848
361
109
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
848
361
109
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspregoitalian restaurantthe executive loungeexcellent servicetop floorbusiness meetingsushian oasisfive star hotelgreat hospitalitygulshan areathe heart of the citydinner buffetcomfortable roomsroom service isenjoyed my stayfood quality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Westin at Dhaka, in Bangladesh, is a true oasis in the chaos of the city lying at your feet. The staff is very polite and helpful, ready to assist anyone who needs a little help, while the restaurant and bar at the 23rd floor offer a panoramic view of Dhaka. The only drawback is perhaps the very high prices, which may be normal for any other city in the western world but strike a sharp contrast with the reality in Bangladesh.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors as the sound of the constant honking of the cars underneath can be pretty annoying.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank femaleaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to see that you have noticed the 'true' oasis' in the city of Dhaka and the helpfulness of our associates. We always try to provide our guests with services that are of international standard in every respect but mixed with local flavor.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We look forward to your return to our property soon.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

hotel would like to be what it cannot be...
room price overpriced compared a similar category hotel worldwide, and after charge more than 45 usd for dinner buffet, they charge by separate the plain water or soft drinks cost.

Understand that not too much options in dhaka, but use it like excuse for robbery , is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Comments from guests like you always guide us to improve our services.

Looking forward to welcome you at The Westin Dhaka during your next visit in the city.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Hotel have all what you need, but for this price you will expect more. The prices 250 + + USD for a normal room is very high but that is Dhaka and it will be also in the future before not more international Hotel chains are open Hotels there.

They have no Competiters there. There are only a Radisson more near to the airport what is from my side better then the Westin and a Pan Pac at the other end of the city.

It starts at the Airport when you arrive with long time waiting for your luggage and than when you drive to the Hotel you have the first feeling of Dhaka. Dirty, loud and traffic jams and it can take you up to 1 hour to reach the Hotel. But this have for sure nothing to do with the Hotel, only for general info.

The Hotel is a modern building with a lobby what I don't like at all. You go than for check in 1 floor up and it looks for me that the reception staff are not trained and un organized. It can take 1 hour and more for check in. The rooms are spacious but not well maintained and clean. The Housekeeping must be trained better in detail I found hairs in the shower dust everywhere and even 1 old slipper was under the bed.

The Breakfast is nothing special. The Lunch Buffet is average and the hot dishes are mostly luke warm and not very tasty. salad Bar ok, dessert i don't try because it was not looking good. Dinner Buffet same.
They have one Restaurant called Prego what ambience is great. But this is the only one what was great. It is absolutly overpriced and the food is very poor. I had a Beef tenderloin what was ordered medium, comes out well done, the sauce was water, the vegetables were totally overcooked and the fries old and cold. The Prego Bar is a Bar with live entertainment and the Band in the moment is not so good like the one before. Prices again to high even for soft drinks.Beer at the moment a 330 ml can 11 USD.

All in all in any other city from our globe i will avoid a Westin like this but you have no other change because also the Radisson is always full booked and you must be lucky to get a room there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWESTIN, General Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your comments based on you personal experiences with Dhaka and The Westin Dhaka. I understand your sentiments and can only assure you that we try to meet and exceed guest expectations. We shall as a team based on your comments take note and endevour to deliver. Once again thank you .

kind regards

Azeem shah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is one of the two hotels I stay in whilst visiting Dhaka, the other is the Radisson, find the Westin centrally located and just nice overall, does isolate you from the busy street outside pretty well.

The rooms and nicely fitted out and very comfortable, frankly this and the Raddisson ( which I find closer to the airport but a bit older I would think) are the only two I feel happy with in Dhaka, Westin is a nice business hotel and has plenty of stuff walking distance from the hotel including a nice move pick outlet :)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Guest Guest,

Thanks for your kind review.

Inspiring reviews like yours always encourages us to do more.

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When business brings you to Dhaka , The Westin has a monopoly. It is the only truly 5* hotel . It is expensive but worth the oasis of sanity. Rooms are nothing out of the ordinary but are large. The beds are of typical Westin standard and very comfortable. Bathrooms are big and well appointed. The glass shower doors not as clean as I would expect with soap marks evident from previous guests. Internet is not wireless and the LAN cable provided quite short. However overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Toby_Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazrul I, Manager at The Westin Dhaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know your observations. Your comments always help us to improve.

Expecting you back to The Westin Dhaka soon !

Regards.

Nazrul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews